We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just back after a break, the hotel is in perfect location. Just a few minutes from central station and a few minutes from the Dam square. The staff are just so lovely, they are always smiling and having a chat with you. They are just so nice in everyway possible and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are a good size with everything that you need. They also include water, chocs and biscuits free of charge. The beds are also very comfy. I cant fault the hotel at all. Will stay here when I return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful that you comment your stay as being brilliant. It is also exiting to read that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the complimentary coffee, thee, water, chocolates and biscuits that were available in the room free of charge.

It is a pleasure to read that you mention that you will return to our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Im a person who never ever writes reviews i am a doctor in London and hardly get time to do anything, but, it was absolutely a necessity for me to write this review.
I emailed the hotel a few days ago after having booked a deluxe room, requesting a quiet room as it was our 7th wedding anniversary, they kindly replied saying they will try their best!! to our amazement when we arrived they allowed us an early check in at 10am but also upgraded our room to a club class executive room!!!not only that they included 2 days breakfast free which is normally 25 euro a person and also included a beautiful anniversary card with champagne and pastry treats!!!!! amazingggg!!!!they also gave us access to the club lounge which was brilliant!!!unlimited drinks and snacks that were replenished every day all the time!!!we were literally treated like king and queen and were spoilt by the staff!! i cant recommed this enough!!! also was right in the centre of dam square very very easy to move around plus just 15m via direct train from the aiport!!!!amazingggg experience!!!thanks so much staff at crowns plaza!!!!!xxxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment with the travel community.

It is exiting to read that you classify your stay as ‘amazing’. It is wonderful to read that you choose our hotel to celebrate your 7th wedding anniversary in and that we were able to make this stay a memorable one for you.

Indeed when you book one of our Club rooms, free wireless internet, breakfast and entrance to the Club Lounge is included. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all these extra facilities.

I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. The hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance to the Central railway station and also many of Amsterdam’s highlights are located in the surroundings of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
145 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here for 2 days on a stopover in Amsterdam on way home. Wanted to be near the train station as we were arriving by train and leaving by train. It is about 2 blocks from the train station but easy enough to reach. Hotel was clean- rooms did not show signs of wear. Breakfast is not included. Front desk very helpful. Good location by the train station and therefore by any transportation you would need or want. If you go to any of the museums but them at the hotel desk. Saved us from waiting in a long line to buy tickets once we got there. Had a nice lounge area with a fireplace which was nice for wintery, rainy days!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to hear that you choose your hotel for your stopover on your way home.
Indeed as you mention the hotel is located near to the central railway station, this is located within 5 minutes walking distance.

It is exiting to read that our concierge was able to assist you with providing tickets to various museums. This will save you a lot of time as you do not have to wait in line at the museums.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Hotel well located and recently redesigned i think. Looks really nice and the room are large. The breakfast is not really worth it. The staff was a bit rude at the reception except the lady who did my check out who took the time to look for my Priority Club numbers whereas the other doing my checking couldn't care less and I got even turned off when asking for a big bed because my assistant made a mistake when booking.

Slept really well, nice comfy bed. Really nice atmosphere

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Went for a long weekend break in Amsterdam and stayed at the Crowne Plaza. The stay was great - friendly, helpful staff, clean comfortable rooms and in a quiet yet convenient location. The room was a real haven of peace and comfort at the end of a long , tiring day's sight-seeing. Would happily recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank KATY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also a pleasure to read that you classify our rooms as a real haven of peace. The rooms are quiet, celan and comfortable located on indeed a convenient location. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance of the public transport, the central railway station and many of Amsterdam’s main highlights.

It is exiting that recommend our hotel and that you would definitely stay with us again.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, Orkney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel is 4* and is centrally located,easily walked in less than 10mins from Central Stn, (if lots of luggage,need taxi? make sure to only take TCA taxis), Hotel gives you warm friendly welcome.
Best to go "Club class,as this gives you priority check-in, access to the club lounge (free bottled beer and wine plus snacks every day,2 computers with free internet/printer, 2 large tv sets.) Well worth the extra for this facility.
We arrived here 24th Dec 2012 and stayed until 4th Jan 2013,and never wanted to leave.
On checking in, we were given 1st floor room,which was excellent room,a bottle of bubbly/snacks and a card waiting for us on the table,but nothing but the building opposite as a view,but on checking in,requested top floor room with a balcony which was given to us the following day (all luggage was handled for us except for checking out,perfect)
As stated the hotel is excellent spot for Central Station,should you want to visit other places,friends/family etc.
You can easily walk to Dam Square in 10 mins,other direction to Nemo and the Maritime Museum (25mins approx)
All in all, this is a fantastic hotel, friendly ambience,very helpful staff,and we enjoyed the comfy furnishings they have to offer,
Lovely cooked brekkie every morning,order omellette of your choice,tea/coffee etc.
Recommend this hotel thoroughly whether on business or pleasure,everyone just rubs along nicely,would love to stay here again !! Thanx to the guys at the Crowne Plaza

Room Tip: If you want a view at all,go for one of the 6th floor rooms,we were in 615 which basically overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willmack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you choose to stay in one of our Club Rooms. Indeed as you mention these rooms come with Club Lounge access. The Club Lounge includes browsing through free international newspapers, breakfast from 7am-11am, complimentary snacks from 11am-11pm and complimentary high speed internet.

I agree with you in saying that the hotel has an excellent location. The central railway station, dam square, Nemo, the Maritime museum and red light district are all located within walking distance.

It is wonderful to hear that you would recommend our hotel to business as well as leisure guests. We will welcome all guests with great pleasure.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing