We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location and parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Been in Amsterdam on Queens day, stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is in good location, close by to everything and easy to reach. One of the reasons to book this hotel was lockable by concierge parking as we traveled on bikes.
Rooms is clean and good enough. Sauna beat strange, but is should be strange in Amsterdam :)
Brakfast is so-so, good but without lot of choices.
Anyway, can recommend this hotel to everyone, especially traveling on bikes!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-day trip including Queensday!

It is indeed correct that we dispose over a private parking in which we can store bicycles and cars without anyone else accessing these.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars.

I am sorry to read that you comment the breakfast as being so-so. It is not quiet clear to me which breakfast you enjoyed as we offer continental breakfast as well as full American buffet.

I also noticed that you grated us with three out of five balls on Tripadvisor, I would like to verify what we can do to match fully to your expectations. Please be so kind to contact me directly via Maurice.janssen@ihg.com.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We booked our Club Room prior to the new King investiture announcement. The city was busy, but the location is very handy, just 5 min walk across the road from the Main Train Station. All staff are very respectful and helpful. Samantha at the Reception is exceptional, full of information and nothing is a problem. We will recommend this hotel to friends and stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warwick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will recommend our hotel.
It is also a pleasure that you mention that all the staff was respectful and helpful. It is always good to hear when staff is delivering the service they do.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel is a great value for both business and leisure travelers. The location couldn't be better; a 5 minute walk from the Centraal Station where you can catch a train to just about anywhere. Despite being in the middle of the city the rooms are very quiet. The windows have thick double paned glass so even the street facing rooms are quiet. The only thing I didn't like was the you can't open the windows. The rooms were roomy and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel but instead explored the many nearby restaurants. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltreisender77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
As you mention our hotel is of great value for both leisure and business travellers. For leisure guests the location is very convenient. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars. For business guests it is a central location and the hotel also offers 8 meeting rooms and is creating 4 additional meeting rooms.

It is correct that you mention that not all our windows can be opened; this is for security reasons as our hotel is located in the city centre.

It is wonderful to read that you liked our rooms and had a good sleep because of our comfortable beds.
The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed at that hotel for 3 nights. It got an excellent location where you are close to all Amsterdam attractions. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Food was tasty and delicious. I'd love to return this one day. I'd love to be back to Amsterdam as it is my first choice city ......

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Abourida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you mention that you would love to return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you found the food tasty and delicious and that you compliment the staff as being friendly and helpful, it is always good to hear when staff is delivering the service they do.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Hefty room costs - I've been to my fair share of hotels and thought I'd go and upgrade because I wanted something close but sadly this just didn't cut it. The showers are small, there is no internet - you have to pay and to think that in most small small hotels wireless if free but for a big chain like this? The TV screen has several options - majority is pay so be careful what you select. Then the fridge, it's automated so again be careful if you fidget in there.

It's business oriented. The staff however is lovely and the location is great but cost vs location - i think there are other options out there that might suit you better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiatran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am sorry to read your stay was not to your full satisfaction. If possible I would like to ask you for some more details for the reason of your comment, therefore I contacted you directly per email. I ask you for this as your feedback is of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Should be a 5 star rating, not 4 or 4.5
We stayed here as a group of lads for a stag. It cost us 1000euros for 2 nights for 5 of us. Staff were very accommodating and the service was second to none. Beautiful hotel in a great location. If you don't paying the money, stay here it's worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweet-ScentsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as base for your stag weekend. It is also wonderful to read that you compliment the service as being second to none and that you found the staff very accommodating. It is always good to hear when staff is delivering the service they do.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back one day!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just spent a few nights in this hotel. Everything about hotel is great. We got a free upgrade because it was my birthday. Will be back one day that's for sure. The minute we walked into reception to check in till we checked out we were greeted by every member of staff we passed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorieIrvineScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as the place to celebrate your birthday in. We will always do our out best to make your stay as special as possible.

It is a great pleasure to read that you mention that you will return to our hotel one day. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing