We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here twice on our trip to Holland. Proximity to Amsterdam Centraal is perfect, not too far so you don't have to lug your bags all over the city. We got in early and with our Gold status, we got treated very very well! They upgraded our room and allowed us in early. This hotel set the bar very high for the rest of our trip-other Crowne Plaza's did not live up to our experience here. All staff was very friendly, hotel is very clean and our room was great. On the return trip, we were not happy with the room and they moved us without an issue. Views of the streets are definitely nicer than the inner "courtyard" (its the ventilation system!) but you will hear more noises from the street if you are on that side. We enjoyed the casual lounge, nice couches and service from the bar made it a great place to relax. Rooms are well appointed with Nespresso machines, several plugs to accommodate our devices, very clean and nice.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for inner courtyard but you won't have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre twice during your trip to Holland. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you are a loyal member of IHG and appreciated the room upgrade because of your Gold Elite Status. As you mention these Club Rooms have extra facilities based in the room as for example a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenties. It is great to read that you appreciated all this.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Great location for a start - you can take the train from the airport and then just walk across the street from the central station and you're there. And in the opposite direction, a five minute walk will take you to some of the main shopping areas, while even the big museums are within easy walking distance if you're reasonably fit (it took me 25 minutes to the Van Gogh museum). And if you're not up for that, the trams stop right outside. The hotel itself is a modern remodeling of what looks like a row of older houses, though you wouldn't tell that once you're inside. The staff are very competent and friendly, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. And the food is excellent as well, whether you're talking breakfast or dinner (dinner in particular being both excellent food and a very good price compared with other eating places in the city - was there for five nights and had dinner in the hotel on four of them). There's also a pleasant and spacious lounge area, and wi-fi throughout the property. So absolutely nothing to complain about here. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel, other public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

The hotel is indeed built around 2 of the old traditional Amsterdam Canal Houses. Allthough nowadays no longer a Canal, the Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal is centrally located in the vicinity of most of the main sites Amsterdam has to offer. The traditional rooms with wooden beams are located in the Canal houses.

It is wonderful to read that you will return to our hotel and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great location in the heart of Amsterdam. Walking distance to Central Station, Dam square and many of Amsterdam's historic museums and locations. Hotel rooms are comfortable and Hotel staff is pleasant and attentive. Concierges are friendly, helpful and informed of local sights. The restaurant and bar food and drinks are very good. Food preparation and service rivals the best in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HORACIO Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and also enjoyed food and drinks in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My second stay here for a long weekend and again loved every moment from check-in to check-out.

A warm, genuine and efficient check-in was a great start to our stay. The Club room was spacious, immaculately clean and above all so comfortable. Although overlooking the road to the front there were no problems whatsoever with getting a great nights sleep.

Every member of staff we met (reception, concierge, bar and house-keeping) greeted us with a smile and a hello, trust me small things like this really do go a long way!

Thanks to everyone for making our stay such a great one. Fantastic staff, great location, comfortable rooms sum this Crowne Plaza up. 100% recommended and is always top of my short-list when visiting Amsterdam for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for a Club room......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank System38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you loved every moment from check-in to check-out.

Furthermore it is great that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms and appreciated the facilities in this room. It is great to read that you comment our staff as being helpful and even fantastic. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed for a weekend with family members, very good location minutes from train station. Check in was very professional and helpful, the rooms were really comfortable great beds and proper black out curtains. What really makes this hotel is the staff they were so friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. The only negative comment is about the breakfast, we came down at 11.00 (breakfast closes at 11.30) and felt really rushed. Breakfast is expensive Eur 25.00 p.p and we didn't get a chance to enjoy it in fact the staff started clearing away at 11.30 on the button and began hoovering around us. Don't think it was the staffs fault management should close the breakfast earlier and allow the staff time to clear away before they start lunch service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amo2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent travel experiences on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found the check in to be professional and the rooms comfortable.

I am however sorry to read you felt rushed during breakfast. This is valuable feedback to us and will look into options in preventing this for the future.

We look forward to your return visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel located in the city,easy to go everywhere from Hotel.clean Rooms,good food,friendly staff and luxury.stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed.if you ever visit Amsterdam your choice sould be this Hotel.
Thank you guys

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the recent review on Tripadvisor following your stay in Amsterdam.

It is great to note that you enjoyed your stay from cleanliness to food.

The hotel is indeed centrally located in Amsterdam near most of the touristic sights Amsterdam has to offer.

We look forward to your return visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I met our friends in Amsterdam and we decided to book here as it is so central. We were not disappointed. It is very close to the station and near to all the things we wanted to do. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities one needs. However the staff made it for us, they were all very friendly, helpful and courteous. I have used crowne plaza a lot lately. My last stay was at Heathrow airport and before that Hiroshima. This one is far superior to the others with their staff. Although I did like the others. Thank you to the staff of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam city for making our weekend with our friends a fabulous experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your travels to Amsterdam.

It is really great to read you comment on the staff and that they made it for you. This is a true accomplishment and I make sure to pass on your thanks.

It is also wonderful to see you use the Crowne Plaza brand all over the world and are true ambassadors of the brand.

We look forward welcoming you back to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing