We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February of 2013 for a few nights. This hotel was centrally located to lots of restaurants, bars, ect. It was a short 10 minute walk to the red light district. The rooms have been recently renovated. My only complaint is that the rooms smelled like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamabreeze45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Executive Housekeeper at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. As you mention the location is indeed very convenient when exploring the city of Amsterdam.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the smell in the room. We are a non-smoking hotel so smoking is definitely not aloud and penalties will be given. I apologize for any inconvenience cost concerning the smell. If you could give me some additional information concerning your stay this would be really helpful. Please contact me directly via Marian.Jones@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for your feedback as this helps us to monitor and improve our services continually.

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,818
    1,068
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,367
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is located in the center and for me I walked everywhere. I stayed with my brother and a colleague of ours and looked for hotel with a room big enough for all 3 of us. The room was big, clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was well equipped. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was great. Everything was perfect. Defiantly I'll come back. Was a great stay, wish I could stay more….

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant, this sumptuous breakfast is definitely a good start of the day!

It is a pleasure to read that you will definitely come back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights.
The hotel is 3 minutes walk from Dam square. Also situated 2 minutes walk from the central station.
The staff was very efficient and polite.
The room was every good, spotless clean and well equipped.
The coffee machine helped to get a good morning going every morning.
This is the best pick for the business man coming only for a few days to Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rmezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-day business trip. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance of the hotel as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is great to read that you write that the staff was very efficient and polite as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed the weekend of 21 March for his birthday. I informed the hotel before we arrived and they laid on a special treat for us. We were also taking a day trip to Brussels they kindly gave us travel details of getting to the coach station.

The hotel is very close to Central Station and close enough to Dam Square. Our room was very spacious and was well equipped. The bed was massive. The only down side was the selection of tv channels was terrible - very small complaint.

The staff were exceptional, very polite and could not do enough for us. It was a fantastic stay and we would definitely return to beautiful Amsterdam and stay at this great hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dionne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your partner's birthday in!

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I agree with you in saying that this is very convenient as it is located within reach of many types of public transport and also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam offers as for instance Dam Square, the Jordaan, Red Light District and the Anne Frank house.

It is a great pleasure to readt that you will return to Amsterdam and especially return to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff here is excellent, very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, large and very comfortable. The exercise room is clean and well equipped. The location near the train station is very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Owner at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear valued ,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention is the Central Railway station within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcome you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

So impressed by this hotel. The room was very nice and spacious. The staff was very helpful and attentive, not to mention genuine. They had converters available for us (we came from the US and needed to charge our phones). They also gave us free internet and allowed us to check in a few hours early! Another perk- we rented bikes and the hotel provided a garage for us to safely lock up our bikes overnight. So nice! We also loved the common area to sit and relax in front of the fireplace.

One complaint... we ordered the Margarita Pizza via room service and it was terrible. We're talking barely edible and my husband and I are not picky. We called the front desk and they apologized and took the charge off our bill.

Overall, I was so impressed and would totally recommend this place. Room was great, amenities were great, and staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as this allows us to improve and monitor our services continually.

It is wonderful to read that you were impressed by the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is great to read that you mention that the staff was very helpful, attentive and genuine as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is great to read that you made use of our lobby connect, this is the perfect place to relax after a busy day in the city or a busy day at work, being accompanied by the cosy atmosphere of the fire place this creates the perfect setting.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the room service order. I apologize for the inconvenience and I would like to inform you that we took immediate action and are currently busy with renewing our room service menu.

It is great to read that you recommend the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that the staff could not have been more helpful. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via Jaap.Roomeijer @ihg.com if you wish to share additional comments.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Short trot from rail station with direct link to airport, in center of action, good for business or tourism, and friendly staff. The rooms on the top floor are quite cozy and romantic with attic dormers and views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention is the hotel located in the city centre of Amsterdam and within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Schiphol Airport every 10 minutes.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#88 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#56 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing