We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and excellent sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location and excellent sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have just had five days in Amsterdam staying at the Crowne. This hotel is perfectly located to enjoy Amsterdam and all her sights. Just far enough from the 'partying' part of town to be quiet but not too far that you can't walk there if you wish. The reception and concierge staff are excellent and super efficient; the rooms are well appointed and a good size; lovely and clean; the bed...wonderful and I slept like a log; and there is hot water and good water pressure! I didn't eat at the hotel but we did partake of the happy hour which is a great way to relax before heading out to dinner. The hotel is also located 5 minutes from the train station which makes it brilliant for getting to and from the airport. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Executive Housekeeper at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you recently spend five days in Amsterdam staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our clean, well appointed and good sized rooms. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient as the hotel is located within reach of many highlights which the city has to offer as the Anne Frank house, Dam Palace, the Jordaan area and the Red Light district.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I come to the Netherlands for business a few times a year, for the last five years now. I’ve had mediocre to terrible hotel experiences. This one, I was able to bring my spouse, and to tack on some leisure travel and enjoy the Netherlands before going back to work on Monday. This review is longer than most, as the reviews of the other properties would have been, “don’t stay here”.

We had a direct flight in from the states and landed at Schiphol just after 9am. We bought our train tickets at the airport (cash only if you do not have a credit card with a chip and a PIN, even at the service counter now) and caught the train into the city center. Chipless card? Bring Euros or get them from an ATM at the airport. This is usually a better value than exchanging USD$ at an exchange window.

It’s a quick, easy, and a painless train ride to city center. The walk to the hotel, if you pre-plan and know the street to go down is a five to seven minute walk, at maximum, from the station. There is also the tram, but if it is dry out, the walk makes more sense since the tram stops well past the hotel, and then you have to walk back up towards the hotel. The fact we were close to the station was key for us, because we took it back to Schiphol Monday.

We checked in and dropped our bags since the room wasn't yet ready (it was still well before noon). The girl at the front desk was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. We found this to be the case with everyone on the “front end”. So, we walked west and took a one and a half hour canal tour. We walked back to the hotel after a light lunch and the room was ready.

We were on the top floor (6) in a corner room, facing the main road in front of the hotel (Nieuwe Zijds Voorburgwal). We were a little concerned because this was Friday with a weekend coming up, and this was Amsterdam. I’ve been at hotels here where all I heard was partying and noise. The streets can get loud and rowdy. I can’t speak for all the rooms in the hotel, but the only things we heard were planes on arrival to Schiphol on occasion, and maybe a ding-ding from the tram bell. The windows are sealed shut (in our room, lower-floor rooms they might open), so don’t expect to open them up high. For us, we had a gorgeous view and silence.

The next day we decided we wanted to see some more of the city, so we asked the concierge how to ride the trams. He gave us detailed instructions; scan your card onto the train, and on the way out again, as well as advice on reading the map (get a map from the front desk when you check in, or from the concierge). He offered many ticket options, so we went with the 2-day pass. We felt like locals.

We were able to join the Crowne's restaurant for happy hour a few nights, from 5-6pm, where it is 2-for-1 for some drinks. We ate dinner here two nights and despite spotty service we overall enjoyed the experience. It never seemed like they had enough servers to cover all the areas, but the food did not let us down… but. The breakfast was an expensive disappointment (as was the steak for dinner)– at breakfast I asked for some fresh scrambled eggs as the ones in the steamer tray looked old, and I got a gritty pile of yellow mush. While eggs are slightly different here, these were just poorly done. I’d skip the pricy breakfast buffet and dine elsewhere.

Wi-fi in the rooms and lobby were OK. Not great, always able to connect, but not fast enough to stream video. Skype worked OK.

So, this visit was quiet room, convenient to the central station, great front end service. The last missing star was due to the spotty restaurant service and the breakfast. However, I would not think twice to stay here again, or to recommend it to a friend or family member. This was by far the best hotel experience I've had in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: While we stayed on the top floor facing the main street and heard no noise, and had a great view, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_N_018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your room and especially the view on the 6th floor.
Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our Front Desk and Concierge team. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes.

Furthermore it is good to read that you enjoyed spending time during one of our Happy Hours and that you also enjoyed dinner here. However I am sorry to read that we missed the last star due to the breakfast and service in the restaurant. We will definitely look into this to improve our services.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually. It is a great pleasure that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam and that you recommend our hotel to your firends and family. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend break, a very good crowne plaza simple as ! A big plus is its location, just set across the road from the train station but if you don't turn right out of the hotel you would not know it was there. It's also a stroll to the red light area and it's pubs etc, so it's in the right place but in a quiet spot too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fred p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your weekend break in. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city of Amsterdam. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance as well as many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel has a great location. Easy access to public transport. 10 min walk from Central Station. Service is on high quality. I've really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Very comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Recommend!

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and recommend the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the Central Railway station as well as many other types of public transport are located within walking distance of the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we dragged our jet lagged bodies in the door, we were treated to excellent service. The club room was fabulous, the restaurant a nice surprise (they served us a great meal, after we decided to dine too late / after all kitchens were closed), and location convenient. Our room was also very comfortable, quiet, and well-laid out. Great stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay from the moment you entered the hotel until the moment of checking out because of the excellent services delivered.

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Two nights in delightful Amsterdam - this is a great hotel, great location just a block from the Damrak. Drove a rental to the front door and valet parking. Check-in staff very nice, club lounge fine, room very good. Everything I wanted really, and happy to return if I get the chance. No faults.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaruwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of its location and because of the services delivered.

It is a great pleasure that you will return when you have the chance. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Always enjoy my stay here! Great happy hour ! Clean rooms with very helpful staff . Coffee in room, which in Europe is a bonus. Perfect location to walk around and enjoy the city, then walk to train station and get back to airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.
It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing