We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed four days in Amsterdam at the Crowne Plaza and had a terrific stay. The hotel is in a great location five minutes from the central station. Travel to and from the airport was quick and easy. The rooms were large and well appointed. We arrived early and the staff was very helpful in checking our bags and letting us check in early after an all night flight from Atlanta. We enjoyed dining in the hotel dining room one night which specializes in Dutch cooking. All in all the hotel was a great location for exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiftyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent 4-day city trip to Amsterdam. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes.

It is great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    1,075
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
360
1,380
196
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We usually stay at this hotel at Christmas and think it's great. This time I stayed by myself for eldest son's stag.
So a review from a different perspective:
First great to get a really friendly welcome when you are on your own all the staff were really friendly - makes you feel at home. At breakfast was encouraged to eat more.
The location is just the best , but better still when on 3 main tram routes, you know every cabbie can find it and late at night you can walk to it. It' s so easy to find.
Service is top too, checked in early, bought tram pass, left bag after check out on last day.
Great to come back to after a hard nights stagging , on my own lads staying else where.
In my humble opinion great hotel - no question we will be back.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhandlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is great to read that you felt welcome and that all the staff were really friendly and helpful. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

It is great to read that you will return to our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here. It is located at Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, a 10 minute walk from the Centraal train station, which is a short ride by train from Schipol airport Very convenient, and much cheaper than a taxi.
All the front desk, and concierge staff were very pleasant, and helpful. The room was very comfortable, decent size beds, and good size bathroom.
Buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRO2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent stay. Furthermore it is great to read that the concierg an front desk were very pleasant and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. This sumptuous breakfast is definitely a good start of the day.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for my 21st birthday weekend with my boyfriend, and couldn't have chosen a better hotel!

The location is perfect, very central- only a 5 minute or so walk from Centraal Station. From this hotel you can walk to almost anywhere of interest, but if walking is not your thing there are a few tram stops on the same street that will take you where you need to be!

Can't comment on breakfast as there was such an array of bakerys and shops in this area that we always ate out and tried something new every day. We slept brilliantly, and as this is not in the Red Light District area, I can't say we noticed any noise at all from tourists! (often the odd noise from the tram line but no big deal at all).
Always plenty of staff around in the foyer which was a welcoming sight. Never needed to ask for help but I'm sure they would have been happy to. We were however given a great map when we arrived, and everything we wanted to see whilst in Amsterdam was circled by the lady that checked us in.

All in all a great stay and it would be my first choice if returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wand3rlusttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend you 21st birthday in!

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which the city has to offer.

Furthermore it is great to read that you appreciated the services delivered and that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is your first choice when returning to the city.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stay here regularly for business and have found the staff to be quite attentive and professional. I highly recommend this location, as it is near to a fine selection of restaurants. The train station is 2-3 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Thank you for recommending the location of the hotel, I agree with you in saying that this is very convenient as it is close to the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent 4 days in Amsterdam and stayed at the Crowne Plaza, City Centre, which is a block from Central Station (railway station). It's within walking distance of most city sites. It's right on one of the main shopping streets. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but we were able to find many other small local restaurants nearby. The city trams stop right outside the front door of the hotel. The rooms were quiet and clean. The hotel is a bit pricey, but considering the location, it was worth it. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel, away from the busy street that fronts the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotttrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your 4-day city trip in. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. As you mentioned the Central Railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance and also many other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent a week there to attend a business conference in Amsterdam. As many have already said... the location is perfect.. you can walk easily to pretty much anything and you're 5mn away from the station which is practical in case you need a day trip to another city... the hotel staff was really top notch... everyone was very friendly and helpful..

I got a nice room on the last floor with a small but nice balcony overlooking the small street in the back... The room was spotless and very well designed and typical of the size to expect in Europe. I was a little worried about the noise at night as the hotel is really downtown but I had absolutely no problem...

The only thing I'd say was a little subpar (hence the 4 stars) compared to the rest was the bar/restaurant... Where the entire hotel felt very cosy, the bar restaurant lacked character: the quality of the food was ok but not great and the selection of wines and drinks was average... the staff was professional but did not create the kind of atmosphere you normally find at the bars in hotels targeting business travelers... hard to describe...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your business trip to the city of Amsterdam. I definitely agree in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. I hope that it is possible to get in direct contact with you to receive some additional feedback concerning your comment. If this is possible please be so kind to contact me directly via jaap.roomeijer@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience as this helps us to monitor and improve our services continually.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,386 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing