We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Sterile But Quality Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location - Sterile But Quality Hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a great choice. It is located very near to Centraal Station and Dam square. Always clean, comfortable beds and modern decor. Amsterdam is horrendously expensive these days and this hotel is no exception - but this place is better than the other big name hotels on or around dam square which are all pretty tired, are equally pricey and definitely resting on their laurels these days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizzle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam CIty Centre. I agree with you in saying that the hotel is a great choice when it comes to the location as it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,817
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,367
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family stayed here for a week during my dad's conference for work. The room was clean and comfortable though a little tight (two had a king sized bed and two slept on a sofabed).

We had access to the club lounge, which unfortunately had limited snacks. The snacks that were available were quite tasty though. While we were there, the coffee machine also broke a few times.

They have a good hot breakfast and friendly staff. The location is also within a few minutes walk of the train station and very central to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during a conference. Furthermore it is great to read that you booked one of our Club Rooms that come with Club Lounge access. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel staff were super friendly. Gave us free wifi on arrival for our stay. Excellent location in the middle of Amsterdam city. Room was very nice, good sound proofing and insulation. Two of us were staying but they only provided one pair of slippers and both robe? I would stay again here and recommend this hotel to stay in.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishmash010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre mainly because of the location and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when employees are delivering the services they do.

Thank you for recommending our property and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam for 3 nights. We were quite pleased with it. We originally were going to stay for 4, but opted to leave early to avoid a train strike on our next leg to Belgium. Not only did the hotel staff understand and accommodate our need to change, they also were very responsive in helping us resolve the change in reservation with Expedia.

The staff were all quite friendly and welcoming in other aspects, too. We arrived quite early from a long flight. Though it was too early to check in, they gave us access to the fitness rooms where we could shower and clean up, and use the internet (free) in the business center. The only drawback is that the wifi is not free; I think most hotels are moving to providing this free of charge even without the loyalty programs.

As I think other reviewers have noted, the hotel is very conveniently located to the Amsterdam Central train station. It’s easy to walk from the station to the hotel with the bags, saving a lot of time and effort. And it’s still an easy walk to other sights like Dam Square, the Anne Frank House, etc. In fact we walked everywhere to and from the hotel. It is so central there is no need for trams or anything unless you have mobility challenges. We would certainly consider it whenever we come to Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Do specify you want a room with a view, because they have rooms in various spaces that may have no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-night city trip.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotels is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within reach of many types of public transport and also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the charge for the wireless internet. When you become a member of our loyalty programme, IHG Rewards Club, internet is free of charge. Enrolment for this programme is free of charge and you will receive more benefits when you become a member. This might be suggested for any future stays.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nivelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location for Amsterdam tourism. It is less than five minutes walk to the train station, while still being in a safe and clean area. All of the main sights are walkable. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. We were given an upgrade for being rewards members. Our room was beautiful, clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable, the a.c. worked well and the bathroom was modern.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are one of our loyal IHG Rewards Club Members and appreciated the upgrade received as one of the benefits of this programme.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Amsterdam for one night. The staff were lovely, the room was clean and the location was perfect. It was 5mins walk from the main station, and about 10mins walk from the main square. I would recommend to anyone as a good, clean and easy option for Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cinderella1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your 2-day city trip. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!


Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very convenient lociation, good sized room, good air con, clean and tidy. Excellent rooms for business meetings and high qulaity catering at these events. Break fast more than adequate.
Despite being on a busy street there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you visited our property for meeting purposes and liked our meeting rooms and catering offerings.

I agree with you that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is close to the central railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day for either business or leisure purposes.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#88 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#56 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing