We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has a great, central location. We arrived in Amsterdam from the airport via train. You can easily walk with luggage from the train station to the Crowne Plaza. The staff were friendly and spoke English perfectly. Our room was upgraded free of charge, and the shower in the room was amazing. We were within walking distance of the Red Light District and other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enrica3anatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was great. I agree with you in saying that the location is excellent. It is only 5 minutes walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station and in the middle of all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is great that your room has been upgraded and that the staff you encoutered was friendly.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in a lovely clean, large room overlooking Voorburgwal. Great location - close to the Central Station, tram stop, restaurants, Dam square, red light district etc. Anne Frank house is within a 15 minute walk. Short walk (5 minutes) to Damrak street from where one can catch tours with Lindbergh Excursions. Very friendly helpful hotel staff. We had free wifi and access to the Club lounge with complimentary coffee, tea, soft drinks, snacks etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnanasagren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was very good. I agree with you in saying that the location is great. It is only 5 minutes walking distance to the railway and close to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that the staff you have encoutered was very friendly and helpful. And that you enjoyed the access to the Club Lounge, which offer free drinks, snacks and newspapers.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed five nights at this hotel .Location was perfect, very close to the cental station
and at a walking distance of most attactions. We took the tram only once for a visit at
the Rijksmuseum.
The room was of a good size except for the bathroom.The rug was worned out.
The concierge was very helpful and employees at the front desk were great.
The breakfast area was crowded and the waiters were working hard to serve us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is good to read that you appreciated the size of the room and the service of our staff.

I agree with you in saying that the location is convenient and close by to the railway and all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we flew in from the states and got to the hotel at about 8:30AM after a 16 hour overnight trip. The girl at the desk couldn't have been nicer. She allowed us to check in to our room right away. We were dead tired and this was a life saver.Very nice rooms and the price seems good to me for the location and appointments of the hotel.
Nice and quite, no complaints.

Room Tip: we got the free wifi because my wife is a member of the htel club. We stayed at their hotel in Manch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was excellent. It is lovely that you were able to check in early after a long flight.

I agree with you that the location is convenient, close to Amsterdam Centraal Station and all the highlights of Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back once!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My Mum and I stayed here on a sight seeing city break for 3 nights in a twin room. Our room was large, clean, cool, comfortable and very quiet. We both slept really well. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the train station and within easy reach of the main sights, cafes and shops by foot. If you don't want to walk, the trams stop just outside too. The free WiFi was really handy and the staff in the hotel were excellent. Happy to help us find our way around the city, book restaurants and anything else we needed. They even returned the mobile phone we left in our hotel room after we checked out - not something I would expect to get back here in London!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyfe_of_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I am very glad that you experienced your stay as excellent. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is wonderful to read that our staff was delevering service above your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great stay! I have stayed here before the renovations . I have to say I liked the oldy wordly Amsterdam feel and missed the pool, but all areas light, well decorated and spotlessly clean.
Bed comfy just right. Room very quiet and peaceful. Linens clean and crisp, pillows, nice. Room spotless. Everything worked. But why do they put in shower fixtures that test your IQ the first time you use it!!! I did not use Wi-Fi. I liked the fact almost always there was a proper doorman greeting you and then there to help if you need anything on your way out.
All staff friendly and professional. Because all the staff I encountered were so well trained and probably genuine nice people., I did not feel a care in the world. That's how it is supposed to be.
You know what I am talking about. The little sniggers or sideway glances the down turned eyes of staff when after many flying hours you approach the check in desk smelling like a 767 jumbo jet who had a few beers and stopped to smoke 10 cigs before checking in. There was none of that at all. Thank you to all at the Crown Plaza for another smooth albeit short stay. Concierge very helpful. Thank you.
It is close to Central station The quiet side. Tram very near. Walking distance of great shopping restaurants, beautiful Dutch architecture, canals and of course the Dutch people. If you need a great nights sleep and wanted to be treated kindly and with respect GO, soon to this hotel. No I don't work for any part of their corp nor my family and I don't know anyone in the crown plaza group. Just a good nights sleep. In a great location.
All this said, I am a remorseful smoker but CP in making a huge mistake making us go out the front exit and smoke at the front door. Looks bad for the hotel Real bad. For that reason I wont rebook for further stays. There is so much choice, so it is too bad the hotel doesn't see this.

Room Tip: Fourth floor away from street no view. faces other rooms but keep the curtains closed and it is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayfair74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you had a great stay in our hotel. It is also wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered was very helpful, friendly and professional.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvsor. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stopped overnight in Amsterdam where we have visited many times in the past. Stayed in one of the junior suites; arrived early AM by air and room was ready. Concierge extremely helpful; able to buy tram tickets in the hotel. Immediately set our Rijksmuseum visit. As has been said the hotel is located on tram lines 2/5 and is no more than a five-minute walk from Centraal Station. Sincer we were departing by train the next day this last was important to us.

Room plenty large enough with a separate seating area; excellent repair for furniture; good mattress; fast internet service; good air conditioning. Only drawback: room is located at front of the building and tram rumble may be a bother to some.

Good breakfast buffet selection.

Overall, staff very friendly and helpful and highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Trams run on the street directly in front of hotel until 1 AM or so and rumble can be heard. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you experienced your stay as excellent. It is a pleasure that our concierge was able to arrange tram tickets for your visit to the Rijksmuseum. I agree with you that the location is very convenient to see all the highlights of Amsterdam and to walk to the Central Station.

It is also great that you enjoyed the space and conditions of the room.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing