We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in center of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in center of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza after a river cruise on the Rhine. I stayed here because Uniworld uses it as an extension hotel after their cruise. It was very nice with clean, comfortable rooms, free wifi, and excellent breakfast included. The hotel was centrally located to everything and so was very convenient. We would happily stay here again when in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and were pleased with the facilites of the hotel.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient, right in the middle of all the highlights that Amsterdam has to offer and only within 5 minutes walking distance to the train station.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Crowne Plaza is an excellent hotel. It is within easy walking distance of the central station (we came from Zurich) , and it is right in the centre of the old town , within easy walking distance of the Canal tours and all the shopping and sightseeing . It has exceptionally friendly and efficient booking staff when you check in , and the rooms are very clean , comfortable , and well kitted out. The Bathroom is small but other than that we cannot fault it. The breakfast is really great (the cost is a bit eye watering) and the staff are just exceptional in being attentive to the guests requests. Hotel front parking is extremely limited (3 cars) but you would expect that in central Amsterdam. Checkout was extremely efficient and courteous. The stay was a great experience and we will definitely be back. The cost is very reasonable for the location and the service , and we as a Family definitely recommend Crowne as a great place to stay for the Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that the staff you encountered was friendly, efficient, courteous and attentive.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year's Eve 2013/14. It was a really excellent hotel, very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location really couldn't be better, it's close enough to the train station and right in the city centre so everything is within walking distance.
We would definitely recommend staying here and would not hesitate booking again in future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaAndAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during New Year's Eve.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport also stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre Hotel. We were enthusiastically greeted at reception and checked in with the minimum of fuss. The receptionist was probably the most welcoming and helpful that I have ever experienced. I am ashamed to say that I cannot remember the receptionist's name other than it began with an E and was quite short. You know who you are! Time was taken to welcome us to the city and to point us in the direction of the best places to dine and sites to visit. Plenty of tips also regarding getting about, so thank you.

Our room was quite small and basic but certainly clean and comfortable. There was just the one bedside table which I thought odd considering there would have just about been enough room for another. The UHT milk on the tea/coffee tray had gone off but a quick word with reception and this was sorted promptly.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, New Dorrius, for the first of our three night stay. The food was excellent and the service top class.

The location is very central and a short walk from Central station. Trams 2 or 5 take you down to the excellent Vondelpark but you can walk to all major attractions, weather permitting.

All in all, an excellent hotel with fantastic, attentive staff in a beautiful city

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you stay was very enjoyable. I agree with you that the location is very convenient, right in the middle of all the highlights of Amsterdam and near the train station.

It is a pleasure to read that all the staff you encountered was welcoming, attentive and helpful. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed diner in our New-Dorrius restaurant and bar.

We hope to welcome you back on your next stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I thought I would write this review as we've had some poor hotel experiences in central Amsterdam in the past, and were keen to avoid something similar this trip.
Now there's 'quaint' and there's 'quaint'. In Amsterdam we've found 'quaint' is often an excuse for small, cramped rooms, sparsely equipped, with poor service and high prices.
So this time we thought we'd look for a well known and respected brand and try that.
We've used Crowne Plaza before and always found them to be very good. This one was no exception, with excellent well appointed air conditioned rooms, combined with superb service.
We stayed only one night, and didn't dine in the hotel, but the breakfast was great.
Add to that it's very convenient central location and a price not much more than poorer standard hotels, then we think it's a winning formula.
We would certainly use it again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, while your experience with the hotels in the city centre of Amsterdam was not that good. It is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient; just in the middle of all the highlights of the Amsterdam.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has a great, central location. We arrived in Amsterdam from the airport via train. You can easily walk with luggage from the train station to the Crowne Plaza. The staff were friendly and spoke English perfectly. Our room was upgraded free of charge, and the shower in the room was amazing. We were within walking distance of the Red Light District and other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enrica3anatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was great. I agree with you in saying that the location is excellent. It is only 5 minutes walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station and in the middle of all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is great that your room has been upgraded and that the staff you encoutered was friendly.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in a lovely clean, large room overlooking Voorburgwal. Great location - close to the Central Station, tram stop, restaurants, Dam square, red light district etc. Anne Frank house is within a 15 minute walk. Short walk (5 minutes) to Damrak street from where one can catch tours with Lindbergh Excursions. Very friendly helpful hotel staff. We had free wifi and access to the Club lounge with complimentary coffee, tea, soft drinks, snacks etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnanasagren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was very good. I agree with you in saying that the location is great. It is only 5 minutes walking distance to the railway and close to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that the staff you have encoutered was very friendly and helpful. And that you enjoyed the access to the Club Lounge, which offer free drinks, snacks and newspapers.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing