We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just got back home from staying at this hotel for 2 nights. Perfect location, just a short walk from central station. Checked in at reception and were told that if we joined the IHG membership we would be entitled to free internet and a guaranteed late check out of 2pm, so we signed up. Although, the internet didn't work at all the room, only in reception areas, the late check out was great! Free to sign up for membership, so well worth doing if you ask me. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and the staff were really helpful and lovely

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larnie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 2 night visit to the city of Amsterdam.

Furthermore it is great to read that you signed up for the IHG Rewards Club, our loyalty program, during your stay. As you mention this will give you many benefits as for instance a late check out until 2 pm, complimentary wireless internet and a free newspaper on weekdays.

Thank you for recommending our property and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    1,075
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
360
1,380
196
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skedsmokorset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend, the good experience started with the front desk who sorted out the check-in stuff in no-time.

The room we got was on the top floor, so the roof on the outward facing side was slanting down, but still you could see out of them, but we only saw straight into another building.

The rooms are on the smaller side, but almost all rooms we have stayed in in big cities have small rooms, so it was expected.

One night we ordered room-service which was good and delivered promptly, so if you want to unwind after a day of sightseeing this is a good option.

The neighborhood is a mixed experience, but so is almost all of Amsterdam.

Overall we would recommend people to stay here, its right in the action.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DobarOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your weekend getaway.

Furthermore it is great to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our Front Desk and Room Service and definitely recommend others to stay at our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is an ideal starting point when exploring the city of Amsterdam.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here 3 times now one of the best hotels we've stayed in. It's spotlessly clean ,modern and staff very friendly. Close to the train station,bars shops etc . Good location overall . Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camdens21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this was your third visit to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and mention that this is one of the best hotels you have stayed in. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the central railway station is located within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
215 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here previously a number of years ago and was pleased to return. Really like this hotel and would definitely stay here again when next in Amsterdam. Strongly recommended.

In terms of location, the hotel is close to Centraal Station. So it is really easy to get the train from/to Schipol Airport. It is also within walking distance of the city centre which is compact, and also trams, taxis and bikes available nearby.

The hotel is really nice. The staff are very attentive and the customer service is excellent. The rooms are perfect - all the amenities that you would expect ... clean and spacious, comfortable bed, great shower, etc. We were able to check-in early, check-out late and access free wi-fi which was perfect, but might have been because we were IHG cardholders (although it is free to join up).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

It is a great pleasure to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you compliment the staff as being attentive and providing excellent customer service. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services the do.

Thank you for recommending our property and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a weekend towards the end of August, 2014. The staff are helpful and the services are at par with what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Centrally located, which is a big plus point. The only grouse I have is you have to pay almost 20 euros for wifi for 24 hours. For the kind of room rates that they have, they should provide free wifi as it is a must these days. Even budget hotels provide free wifi. That is the only negative that I can think of but otherwise a good hotel. Also the rooms were fine but a little cozy I would say.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chhanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your weekend trip to Amsterdam. It is wonderful to read your comments concerning the staff as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the wifi charge. Members of our IHG Rewards Club, our loyalty program, receive complimentary internet in all IHG properties. Enrolment for this program is free of charge and can be arranged directly at our property. This might be recommended for one of your future stays at one of the IHG properties. If you have any questions or concerning this please do not hesitate to contact me directly via maurice.janssen@ihg.com

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed a couple nights with our family of 3. Great location near central train station, about 20 minutes by taxi from airport. Very helpful and friendly staff. Decent sized rooms for an older building in the heart of town. Walking distance to the major sights and also boat tours and central station. Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Cent to spend your city trip in with your family. As you mention the location is ideal as the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes however also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore it is great to read that you will definitely return to our property, our team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for five nights during our honeymoon in Europe. When we arrived, we were informed by the front desk that we had been upgraded for free to a honeymoon suite. They also left us a bottle of champagne and a fruit/dessert tray in our room. From the moment we arrived, we received nothing but friendly service. The staff is always smiling and willing to go out of their way to help you with whatever you might need. The hotel itself is about a 5 minute walk from Central Station and is pretty close to other attractions in the city, including lots of restaurants and cafes. The room was huge (although I'm not sure what the average rooms look like as we had a suite), clean, and comfortable. We also had breakfast at the hotel everyday, which was very good. They had a pretty good variety of items for the buffet, and the staff was every bit as great as the rest of the hotel staff. They even let us take some fruit with us from the buffet to have as a snack later in the day. The only issue we had while here was the wi-fi connection, which was incredibly unreliable and slow. They didnt charge us because of our homeymoon, which was nice, but again, the connection was bad. Otherwise everything was perfect and we were very happy we chose this hotel. Next time we go to Amsterdam, we will absolutely stay here!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeatherLeanne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your honeymoon! Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated the upgrade and amenities placed in your room because of this special occasion.

Furthermore it is great to read that you comment that the staff was willing to go out of their ways and always friendly and smiling. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre when returning to Amsterdam. Our team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,386 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing