We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh newly refurbished hotel in the centre of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh newly refurbished hotel in the centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

The hotel was in the middle of the refurbishment when I arrived. This wasn't an issue as the work was being done during the day whilst i was out at work.
The hotel is located in the centre, almost opposite the main railway station. There are plenty of retaurants and bars in the area.
I had a refurbished room, it wasn't the biggest room I've stayed in but it was quite comfortable. It was well decorated and cosy.
The only downside to the hotel was the lack of free internet in the rooms. The cost of internet access was extremely high. Higher than anywhere I've stayed.
The hotel restaurant was ok and is advertised as one of the oldest in Amsterdam, this didn't really fit with the look of the refurbished hotel lobby and rooms though?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancs_Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,067
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mill town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Yeah... Be careful were you use your ATM cards. Make sure it's in a reputable establishment. Great location, in walking distance of absolutely everything. Location was key! Had a security box to hide your important items like passport, jewelry and such. The bed was really comfy and clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Falls, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

The hotel was located two minutes from Dam square and 5 from the Red light district. The staff was friendly and they upgraded us to a club room for our honeymoon and since the pool and gym were closed during the renovations. Our air conditioning didn't get our room cold enough but the open bar on the roof top patio totally made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbuchwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of July. I was a bit worried about the work being done in the hotel, when I was in my room I could hear the distant hum of a drill for 10 minutes during the morning. Apart from that there were no problems. Room was spotless as you would expect in a Crowne Plaza Hotel. Staff were very helpful. As a solo traveler I felt very safe in the hotel. The hotel location is great, 5 minute walk to the central train station, 15 minute walk to Dam Square. I would highly recommend this hotel, when I go back to Amsterdam I will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILove3Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

This hotel has/still being renovated until september 2009. The new rooms are amazing, lovely purples and dark wood. The beds are massive and so amazingly comfortable! You could probably fit about 5 people in the bed its that big!

It was our one year anniversay so i asked beforehand to have white wine, chocolates and a bowl of fruit in the room when we arrived. It was a lovely touch and it wasnt too expensive.

amazing location, just 5 mins walk from the station. and a few mins walk to where the canal boat trips start.

We went on the candlelight canal cruise, this was amazing and we would definatly do this again when we go back!

There are lots of shops/restuarants nearby so its a very good place to stay but its quiet at night which is good. About 10 mins walk to the green light district, with coffee shops and bars. 15 mins walk to the red light district!

We loved Amsterdam and would definatly go back and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLondon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for two nights. Checked-in on Friday and leaving on a Sunday.

The location is pretty good, almost across the street from the main station and at a walkable distance to the city main attractions.
I did not see any construction works going on. The only things closed for renovation were one of the restaurant and the fitness area.
My room was on the 5th floor with a view on the back of the hotel. It was quiet, a good size and newly refurbished. The bathroom was big and looked nice. LCD TV and mini-bar (extra charges) available as well as a kettle and complimentary coffee and tea.

Wireless internet is at a pricey €20 for 24hrs! If you can, bring your own network cable and you will enjoy free wired Internet access.

Staff was pretty friendly and polite.

I will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enelym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

The hotel is indeed renovating, as some people have already mentioned, but it's looking stunning!!!
I always use this hotel for my clients and they love it. All of them talk about the amazing beds. Haven't used it myself yet, but soon will HAVE to try. It's now completely modern and up-to-date with cool inroom technology (even USB port for the TV).
The receptionist told me that the rooms are nearly finished now and that in September their new restaurant, suitably named New Dorrius will be opened (the old one was called Dorrius). Can't wait to eat there as their previous restaurant was great too. Always ate there with clients, because they serve the Dutch cuisine. I'm proud of my herritage.
I use the hotel for my family as well, as it's in the city centre so my family can easily go shopping and I can easily visit them.
Keep up the good work guys! Looking forward to seeing the hotel being finished.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pienadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#70 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing