We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #144 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aberdeen
1 review
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Perfect hotel to stay at for a short holiday in Amsterdam. My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the Easter Weekend. The hotel is in the perfect location to hop on the tram and go straight into the city center for the day. Two min walk to the tram, then a 15 min ride into town. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast each morning was great. Would highly recommend this hotel if your looking to save a little money by staying outside the city center.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    581
    282
    89
    52
See reviews for
241
319
48
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a great option for saving a bit on money on Amsterdam accommodation as it is well priced compared to hotels right in the heart of things, while being easily accessible by the modern tram system (RAI Station). Amsterdam is never cheap but here is very good value for families. We had a room with two double beds which was very clean and in a modern building with nice furnishings and good service at both the restaurant and the front desk. This is also a pick-up point for one of the tour companies which offers a free hotel pick up service that takes you into the city to join either there "Hop on Hop off" busses or another one of their many tours around the city and dutch country side, which was really handy and very easy being we were travelling with a 4 & 5 yr old. The restaurant had a very nice buffet breakfast which was included in the price and included eggs (in multiple ways) and other hot items including bacon, baked beans, hash browns, grilled tomatoes, pancakes etc, plus a lovely assortment of pastries, fruit, breads, spreads, cereals and Juices. The room also had some TV channels in English for adults and kids. No complaints about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OZ_Family_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

We, family of 4 booked this hotel after looking at various expensive alternatives within the centrum. This hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes by tram to all major attractions and is 2 minutes walk from Rai train and tram station. You can get a direct train to Rai from Schipol. The hotel staff were happy to take care of luggage, since we arrived in the morning. Room was spacious with two double beds. We did not have breakfast as we felt it was expensive. It is possible to get a decent breakfast at cafe's for 6 to 8 euros. I used the fitness centre and it was well equipped. We bought the three day unlimited travel card and hence travelling was not a problem. Only other gripe would be the Internet charges and the lack of wifi. Overall I think this would be a good reasonable option for families in Amsterdam considering how difficult it is to get a reasonable family room in the main areas.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The holiday Inn Amsterdam has a great location just a few minutes walk from the RAI train/metro station. The rooms are neat, clean and recently renovated. On the whole, your basic Holiday Inn experience. On the down side, breakfast is atrociously expensive (25 Euro per person) and even worse there is no wireless internet in the rooms. Would have paid a reasonable amount for access. There was a hard line connection for a laptop, but if you have an iPad no hope.

Room Tip: corner rooms/jr suite also offers a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal_elverding, Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. Only by receiving these comments we are able to improve our product and services. Regarding your comment about the breakfast price, we have chosen to offer our guest a full continental breakfast with a choice of many different hot and cold dishes. The price is €22, we also have a Bar menu as well as a room service menu which offers smaller dishes in a variable price range.
I am very sorry to hear you were not able to use the convenience of our internet service. We are very aware wifi internet is becoming more and more a priority for our guests and we are planning the necessary actions to ensure our guests can use this in the not to distant future.

Once again many thanks for informing us and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hotel was very good and rooms were clean and nice size.Hotel is very near to the train station but it takes some time to reach the main city.If you plan to come to Hotel during the day ahve some rest and again go back it will not be best choice i would say but for normal tourists who leaves hotel in morning and comes back in evening its a excellent place to stay.Brekfast served in hotel restaurant was also very good being vegetarian there were enough options to eat.Overall very good stay and would like to stay again if comes back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashish_dhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal_elverding, Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your efforts in posting your review on Tripadvisor. Very good to hear your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one. The Holiday Inn Amsterdam is situated in the south part of Amsterdam, next to the hotel you'll find the Metro which will bring you right into the city centre. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed the hotel and its location and we appreciate your comments about our breakfast offering. It is very important for us to know this is also suitable for our vegetarian guests. Thank you very much, we are looking forward in welcoming you next time your travel brings you to Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

For a number of years, I have stayed regularly at the Holiday Inn in Amsterdam and I feel moved to share with you my happy experience. For me, it is like a home from home. I am always assured of a welcoming smile from everyone on reception. In the bar, the staff will always engage you in witty conversation and cannot do too much to make your stay a happy one. The rooms are always extremely comfortable and clean. All the staff seem to be extremely well motivated to provide excellent service

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal_elverding, Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear you are enjoying your home away from home, and it is always a great pleasure having you as one of our valued regular guests. We are looking forward welcoming you again soon as we can show you our appreciation for your loyalty.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My organisation staged a Christmas buffet brunch at the hotel which was attended by 70 persons. The cuisine was absolutely first class and reasonably priced. Reports back from the participants have been very positive. This was the second time we have staged the event at this hotel and we are so pleased with the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, nothing was too much for them.

In October my organisation will be holding a two day conference at the hotel with delegates and visitors attending from various European countries. The weekend programme will not only include meetings but also will include a Gala Dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing