We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #144 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My friend and I checked in at 10am which was was 4hours early. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is away from the bustle of the city but so close to the tram stop and train station (2 stops from the airport) Breakfast was amazing and unhurried. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can choose a pillow to suit which is helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jan S,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friend again at Holiday Inn Amsterdam.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    587
    285
    91
    52
See reviews for
242
323
48
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Location: Amsterdam South, easily accesable by regular train (not airport train!) from Schiphol airport (Fee 2,50 €). From the RAI train station it's a 3 minutes walk. By tram its a 20 minutes ride to the city center.

Check-in: fast, friendly staff at reception. Was not recognized as Gold card member.

Room: normal room, no extras, normal cleanliness

Restaurant: When passing by the breakfast buffet I saw a mouse running along the plates. Although I did immediately inform a waiter nothing did happen. When leaving the restaurant, I stopped by the buffet again and checked the plate under which the mouse had hidden. It was still there, with another one! Then I informed another employee, who then reacted and caught the mice. The hotel manager on duty told me, that already other guests had complained, so my observation was nothing extraordinary. As compensation the WiFi should be free, a service that is free for Gold card holders.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingfox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear flyingfox007,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.
Since the start of the construction work and drilling operations around the RAI station the surrounding company's and our hotel are dealing with this problem. Off course this is not an excuse however I do want to inform you about what is causing this most inconvenient situation. Our pest control visits our hotel on a regular basis and I have contacted them to come over after receiving your comments. We truly hope, as the construction will move along, the mice will look for other areas. Please know that we take this very serious and truly regret the situation as we completely understand this is unacceptable for our valued guests.
Once again please accept my personal apologies and I hope you nevertheless enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I attended a business congress and held a series of customer presentations at this Holiday Inn a short walk from the RAI congress centre. I have to say everything worked perfectly thanks to the hotel staff and particularly Maurice. Of course, I sprang some last minute surprises on them which they took in their stride and managed well. My customers, boss (very important) and myself were all extremely satisfied and I will not hesitate to mert here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry55UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Terry55UK,
Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotelteam and Maurice in particular. I will make sure to forward your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review on TripAdvisor or on our own review page of our hotel.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I couldn't believe when I returned to my hotel room from work and noticed the housekeeper has taken the soap residue out of the garbage bin and has put it back in the shower thinking it's not all used yet!!!!
Then the bathroom had a terrible smell that almost made me through up!!! Probably because of a dirty cloth that the housekeeper used to clean up the bathroom. They changed my room when they assessed the room themselves!!! No apology whatsoever!
I asked for some sort of compensation for the night based on their "Satisfaction Guaranteed" policy, while they rudely accepted I had a hard time upon checkout to convince them when I noticed my bill was all screwed up! Even the manager on duty didn't trust me an made several phone calls to validate my claim. Took me about an hour to check out!!!
Last, I asked them to email me the invoice, and they haven't done yet after 3 days (may be because they didn't want me to receive a survey!!!)

Room Tip: Go to a 1 star hotel and you will feel more comfortable that this over 300 Euros per night!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jimmy142,
Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Feedback like this gives us the possibility to adjust our services and products where needed.
I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Could you perhaps send me the details of your stay per e-mail to sales.amsnt@whgeu.com? This way I can make sure you receive a follow up and if the invoice reached you properly.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maastricht
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

this holiday inn offers the usual comforts of this chain, very predictably. the rooms are somewhat basic, I've certainly been in better Holiday Inns, although I was in some sort of VIP room. staff was efficient and friendly. breakfast was good. I was there for 2 days as a conference delegate in the nearby (7 min walking) RAI conference center. for this purpose the hotel is ideally situated, but for everything else the location is not great. it's quite far away from the interesting sights in Amsterdam. recommended for business travel only.

Room Tip: highest floor has nice views of amsterdam, if you're facing the right way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploringScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear frankv_belgium,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay during the conference.
We would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times whilst attending trade shows at the RAI, most recently last month

It's easy and cheap to get from Schipol by train and only a 3 minute walk from the station to the hotel (use the side entrance to avoid walking all the way round outside the hotel)

Reception is efficient and friendly, the rooms are always clean and comfortable although lacking in free bottled water.

Bar staff are excellent, and have been there for years. Bar food is pretty good too.

I no longer bother with breakfast as the service is poor and slow with a general lack of staff. Self service coffee doesn't work as the machines are too few and very slow. A few years ago it was a lot better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandSReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear TandSReading,
Thank you for having taking the time to write your comments and post them on Tripadvisor, your feedback is extremely important to us.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our breakfast service. We recently have implemented a number of changes in our continuous aim to improve both service and quality of our breakfast. Your comments will be discussed with our Managers as a part of this process.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We're just getting off of Viking River cruises in Amsterdam and couldn't get to our hotel museum quarter for the night we arrived. I went on Priceline looking for a hotel in the museum quarter and was recommended for the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. The price seemed reasonable and the hotel looked nice and it was supposedly in the museum quarter. After €37 cab ride from the central station area we arrived in a business park at this hotel. There was nothing in the neighborhood except businesses. It was a 45 minute tram ride it back into central Amsterdam and or taxi the next day to our hotel and the museum quarter was €17. The hotel itself is nice but the location sucks for tourists. I will not trust Priceline again when making a booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimboflyguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jimboflyguy69,
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay, we are very thankful for your review.
We are sorry to read that the location didn't meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for that. The Holiday Inn Amsterdam is indeed located in the business area close to Amsterdam RAI and the RAI train station.
We do hope that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#98 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing