We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, yet far away from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #147 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Holon, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, yet far away from city center”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Regular hotel, nothing fancy.... to get to the city center you have to take a train, and exchange stations... not the most convenient thing to do... Unless you are in a conference at that hotel, try to find a hotel closer to city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EladOgden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear EladOgden,
Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located for conferences and business trips. Our reception can give you directions to the city centre by using bus, train or underground. Or you can hire one of the bikes the hotel offers.
We hope we can be your host during a future stay.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    609
    294
    97
    59
See reviews for
265
333
49
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel while attending a conference at the RAI convention center. The hotel is not fancy, but service is good and people at reception are very nice. While the hotel is very close to the station and walking distance to the convention center, there is public transportation to the center 100 meters from the hotel. Rooms are clean and have tea and coffee. Breakfast is good, but they could serve more fresh fruit. Internet is working good, but it is not free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Claudia23,
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay, we are very thankful for your review.
It is a pleasure to read about your positive experiences within our property! Your compliments regarding the staff are very comforting and are already shared with them.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

stay there for business issue. quite expensive. location is near to RAI conference centre but not very near, still need to walk 10-15mins, tho is already the closest available hotel. transport is convenient. tram and train v. nearby. but not much attraction around. if you stay at Amsterdam for sightseeing, better stay at around central station.

room is spacious. not very new, clear enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michelle, C.y. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Michelle, C.y. F,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
The location of our hotel is indeed very convenient for business travelers. Due to the RAI train station it is also a few stops away from the City Centre. Should you need any information about the area, our front office staff can always provide this information and give directions.
Again I would like to thank you for leaving a review.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My friend and I checked in at 10am which was was 4hours early. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is away from the bustle of the city but so close to the tram stop and train station (2 stops from the airport) Breakfast was amazing and unhurried. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can choose a pillow to suit which is helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jan S,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friend again at Holiday Inn Amsterdam.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Location: Amsterdam South, easily accesable by regular train (not airport train!) from Schiphol airport (Fee 2,50 €). From the RAI train station it's a 3 minutes walk. By tram its a 20 minutes ride to the city center.

Check-in: fast, friendly staff at reception. Was not recognized as Gold card member.

Room: normal room, no extras, normal cleanliness

Restaurant: When passing by the breakfast buffet I saw a mouse running along the plates. Although I did immediately inform a waiter nothing did happen. When leaving the restaurant, I stopped by the buffet again and checked the plate under which the mouse had hidden. It was still there, with another one! Then I informed another employee, who then reacted and caught the mice. The hotel manager on duty told me, that already other guests had complained, so my observation was nothing extraordinary. As compensation the WiFi should be free, a service that is free for Gold card holders.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingfox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear flyingfox007,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.
Since the start of the construction work and drilling operations around the RAI station the surrounding company's and our hotel are dealing with this problem. Off course this is not an excuse however I do want to inform you about what is causing this most inconvenient situation. Our pest control visits our hotel on a regular basis and I have contacted them to come over after receiving your comments. We truly hope, as the construction will move along, the mice will look for other areas. Please know that we take this very serious and truly regret the situation as we completely understand this is unacceptable for our valued guests.
Once again please accept my personal apologies and I hope you nevertheless enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I attended a business congress and held a series of customer presentations at this Holiday Inn a short walk from the RAI congress centre. I have to say everything worked perfectly thanks to the hotel staff and particularly Maurice. Of course, I sprang some last minute surprises on them which they took in their stride and managed well. My customers, boss (very important) and myself were all extremely satisfied and I will not hesitate to mert here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry55UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Terry55UK,
Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotelteam and Maurice in particular. I will make sure to forward your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review on TripAdvisor or on our own review page of our hotel.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I couldn't believe when I returned to my hotel room from work and noticed the housekeeper has taken the soap residue out of the garbage bin and has put it back in the shower thinking it's not all used yet!!!!
Then the bathroom had a terrible smell that almost made me through up!!! Probably because of a dirty cloth that the housekeeper used to clean up the bathroom. They changed my room when they assessed the room themselves!!! No apology whatsoever!
I asked for some sort of compensation for the night based on their "Satisfaction Guaranteed" policy, while they rudely accepted I had a hard time upon checkout to convince them when I noticed my bill was all screwed up! Even the manager on duty didn't trust me an made several phone calls to validate my claim. Took me about an hour to check out!!!
Last, I asked them to email me the invoice, and they haven't done yet after 3 days (may be because they didn't want me to receive a survey!!!)

Room Tip: Go to a 1 star hotel and you will feel more comfortable that this over 300 Euros per night!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Jimmy142,
Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Feedback like this gives us the possibility to adjust our services and products where needed.
I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Could you perhaps send me the details of your stay per e-mail to sales.amsnt@whgeu.com? This way I can make sure you receive a follow up and if the invoice reached you properly.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#128 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,772 reviews
Volkshotel
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing