We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #144 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sort of OK”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

OK hotel, nice staff. However, extra charge for wifi (22 euros!!) is simply not acceptable, this is the 21st century guys. Restaurant was very tny too, we were assured upon check-in no reservation was required, only to be told when we showed up that there was a one-hour wait to get a table. Ended up crossing the street for the Novotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC76Brussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MC76Brussels_Belgium,
Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Feedback like this gives us the possibility to adjust our services and products where needed.
I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your wishes to dine in the restaurant. This comment will definately be looked into by the Front Desk manager.
Perhaps during your next stay you will have the opportunity to experience our restaurant.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    587
    285
    91
    52
See reviews for
242
322
48
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice hotel. A bit south but the no.4 tram is a nice trip. Buses are cheaper for a family with a one day pass at 14 euro.

We arrived late in the day and had a meal in their restaurant. Food good but outrageously expensive and we would recommend you eat out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Stephen T,
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about the stay with your family.
Our hotel is indeed conveniently located near public transportation which takes you to the city centre in a few minutes.
The restaurant is competitively priced compared to our surroundings. If you would like to dine outside the hotel, then our porter or reception can give you suggestions.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Mainly a business hotel I guess given the proximity to RAI, and that was why I stayed here (chosen by my employer). But I extended into the weekend so my family could join me. Whilst the hotel is lacking in family or kids entertainment, the staff make up for it with their friendly, flexible and courteous service. Especially Charles on reception. Don't worry about the location being south of Amsterdam centre - the number 4 tram is 3 minutes walk away and only takes 15-20 minutes to get into the centre. And the food was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David3WFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear David3WFC,
Thank you for leaving a review about your stay with your family.
Your compliments about our reception staff will definately be passed on to them. It is great to read that they contributed to an enjoyable stay for you and later your family as well.
The public transportation is indeed close to the hotel, which makes the hotel perfect for guests who like to stay in a quit environment, but close to the city centre.
Again many thanks for your review.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Though we had reservations a couple of months or more in advance, the Movenpick Hotel changed us to the Holiday Inn against our wishes. However, it turned out to be quite nice. The staff could not have been more accommodating and tried extremely hard to make our stay very comfortable. The room was nice, clean & comfortable. The only drawback was that we were out of the city center so it was necessary to take the tram in everyday to meet up with our friends at the Movenpick. However, if you are looking for a quiet, comfortable place to stay with a nice breakfast and friendly staff, you won't be disappointed. The wifi is not cheap and that may be a turnoff for some but you cannot go wrong with this hotel. Even the tram ride allowed us to see more of the city which turned out to be a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMStanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear MnMStanfield,
Your review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam is highly appreciated.
It is great to read that, eventhough we were not your first choice, you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and in our hotel. We take pride in our hotelteam and the service we provide. Perhaps we have become a first choice during a next stay.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I'm a die hard Marriott fan. I will be honest -- I've always seen Holiday Inn as a cheap service/amenity hotel. In the USA I would never of stayed at a Holiday Inn. Until Amsterdam... I stayed at this hotel on business for a conference I was speaking at in the RAI convention center. The association I was speaking for booked my hotel at the Holiday Inn with all of the other speakers and meeting organizers. I was upset knowing this as I flew into Amsterdam. I made it to the hotel very easily via the train (very easy!). It was just about a less than 5 minute walk from the quick 15 - 20 minute train ride from Schipol.

When I arrived at the hotel I was VERY pleased with the interior of the lobby. It was very modern, clean, and not cheap looking at all. It smelled wonderful and the staff was superb! I walked around the hotel and visited the bar area as well as had dinner at their restaurant. The food was delicious as was the service. My room was wayyy better than I expected for a Holiday Inn. Flat screen TV, cable, clean bedding and room, smell was great, clean bathroom, all was great!

I wouldn't stay here if I was coming for fun because it is isn't all that central to much anything that a tourist would want to do. I did have 2 free days and took the train to a few places outside of where the hotel was located. For business and my visit to the Rai... this place was awesome!!

I loved it! It made me even consider staying at Holiday Inn properties in the states... I haven't yet but it made me think about it!

Room Tip: Take the train to and from the airport... it is easy and very cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justadude1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear justadude1986,
It is great to read that the Holiday Inn Amsterdam was able to change your opinion about the Holiday Inn image. Even if a future stay is not business related, we can always give you tips about transportation to the city centre. So thank you for these kind words and we hope to be your host again in the future.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

In this expensive hotel, they dont really think you are paying enough... WiFi (although working pretty good), is an expensive merchendise, at €15/day.... no discount on 4 days+ staying... Ridiculous... Nelly where are you sleeping while at #BBWF..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakaMele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear JakaMele,
Your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Amsterdam is highly appreciated.
We try to inform our guests as best as possible about any additional costs which may occur during their stay. The use of internet or Wi-Fi is one of those extra's.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Regular hotel, nothing fancy.... to get to the city center you have to take a train, and exchange stations... not the most convenient thing to do... Unless you are in a conference at that hotel, try to find a hotel closer to city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EladOgden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear EladOgden,
Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located for conferences and business trips. Our reception can give you directions to the city centre by using bus, train or underground. Or you can hire one of the bikes the hotel offers.
We hope we can be your host during a future stay.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#100 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing