We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxation and sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #145 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Meath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxation and sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel in the middle of April. Was made very welcome, the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is approx 500 metres from the train station which is two stops from the airport and the tram is approx 100 metres from the hotel which leaves you right in the centre of the city. The selection at breakfast was excellent and was very enjoyable. The times of breakfast were also an added bonus as you didnt have to up at the crack of dawn to enjoy it !

Although we didnt have a drink in the bar, Im sure it would have been served as well as the breakfast was, with a smile and an hello .

Would definitely try and pay this hotel a visit again for its hospitality and ease of getting around,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbafanMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear abbafanMeath,
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the location and the services we provide. We are looking forward to your next visit and perhaps you can review the bar then.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    580
    281
    89
    52
See reviews for
240
319
47
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've stayed there for a company internal meeting.
Quick access to the neighboring office buildings district. Right next to a train station. Easy to get to the city from it.
This is the standard business hotel.
The room was good and definitely usable. The bath too, although nothing fancy. I liked the view from the window. It overlooked a garden area with a lot of trees. What I likes a lot was that in all elevators there was an iPad built into the walls so you can play angry birds while traveling. Missed my floor several times ;)
The staff was friendly, although a bit slow. There were constant queues on the reception. They've also managed to somehow mis-issue my access card so I couldn't open my room when I checked in. Took a roundtrip to the reception, waiting on the queue again and then waiting for a repairman to fix it.
The breakfast was good and very convenient. The choice of cheese was great ! And the eggs and bacon were quite ok.
Tried the gym too. Very usable, although on the small side. So it can fill up if you go in popular morning hours. Modern thread mills (3 of them), 2 bike simulators and a weight-lifting gladiator. 24 hours access with your room card. They had towels and water in the gym. Useful.
The hotel offers rental bikes, but they're a bit on the expensive side (16 EUR) and one can only rent them for a full day.
I would definitely recommend the hotel for your next business trip.

Room Tip: go for the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkodinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear gkodinov,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the Angry Birds in the elevator.
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the queues at reception. At the moment we are looking into options to reduce the queues.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Last day incident in the hotel reveals the limits of my patience and makes me to reduce mark for Holiday Inn Amsterdam to “average”. At the day our group had to leave the hotel our rooms keys had been locked at 10 a.m., despite it is announced that check-out time is “till midday”. I find such “exercise of hospitality” inappropriate, discourtesy, especially in respect that check-in is available only after 2 p.m. without exception.
All in all, the hotel has some advantages and disadvantages. It is a good option for business travelers who participate in Amsterdam RAI events, as it is really close to this congress center. Moreover, I have never seen such large mini-bar and safe deposit box in the room before. The latter should be very convenient for business travelers, too. Beds are really wide and soft. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It is also good. Nice souvenir shop next to fitness center of the hotel with good prices and discounts, working from 7 a.m. till 10.00/10.30 a.m. Both restaurant and bar are good, too.
Disadvantages. The most serious – price for room. It is definitely overpriced as probably for the most hotels in Amsterdam. For sure, I can book two rooms in a good centrally located hotel (for example, in Helsinki) with the same options (but with free Wi-Fi and even free access to swimming pool) for the price of one standard room in Holliday Inn Amsterdam (without swimming pool and with price for Wi-Fi 15-22 euro per day). Rooms are tired, but ok size. I can`t say that our room was extremely clean – every evening we found coat of dust on the top of the kettle (kettle is black so it was good visible). Absence of drinking glasses or goblets in the presence of mini-bar with wine etc. seems strange. Once, when we returned to the hotel drenched to the skin because of stormy rain, we asked to change towels as room wasn`t cleaned up at half past two, and answer from receptionist was “till 4 p.m. all will be done”. She even didn`t ask the room number. Therefore, we had to choose between use dirty towels from the floor or remain wet during next 1.5 h. However, I should say that despite this example staff were extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast is basic for 4-star hotel, nothing special, but ok. Other serious limitation for those who want to explore town is location of the hotel and public transport to the center of Amsterdam. Don`t believe it is nice and short trip, for me it took every time near 1 h to get to the city or back! Tram 4 because of the unknown reason runs thrice rarer than it was posted in the schedule. Therefore, it had to run every 8-10 minutes, but actually it appeared every 25-30 minutes. In addition, route to the center (Dam square) took ca. 25 minutes, probably because of global reconstruction works in Amsterdam. The latter is the reason why trains sometime don`t come to Amsterdam RAI from airport, so it makes much more difficult to get to/from airport when it comes to this hotel and I strongly recommend to check information about trains to Amsterdam RAI train station before try to use it.
Conclusion. As business traveler for Amsterdam RAI – ok, as regular tourist – never again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SyNaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear SyNaNic,
Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your stay.
It is unfortunate to read that your overall stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your compliments regarding the size of the rooms and the aminities. However I do not recognize our policy in your comment regarding the room key cards. The key cards are valid until we create a new key card for the room or upon check out. Key cards are not time restricted.
Your comment regarding the towels will definately be shared with the Front Office manager as well as the Housekeeping manager. Upon request we do bring you fresh towels.
Unfortunately we can not do anything about the public transportation or the prices related to other European cities. Our rates are competitive compared to other full service 4 star properties in the Amsterdam region.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent hotel!! Very convenient location and very nice rooms. Internet connection free of charge with the Priority Club card. Excellent!
An excellent combination for a business trip to Amsterdam. I recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoC382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Roberto C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you recommend our hotel to other business guests and that you enjoyed your stay. Due to the proximity of the punlic transportation you can mix your business trip with excursions or visits to the city centre.
We are looking forward to your next review.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

You can reach downtown easily with the tran, good breakfast, room is OK (the TV screen could be wider, the only one comment to make), kind service. At the end, I can say that the cost x benefit relation is favorable for the guests that can afford that range of room rate.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerio_Menezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Rogerio_Menezes,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. By use of public transportation, the city centre is only 15 minutes away.
We are looking forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The price was quite high due to the fair in RAI when I stayed. But besides that I got all I need from a hotel I'd stayed. Rooms were very clean. Bed and pillows are great and provide a very well sleep. Room is spacious enough with a complimentary kettle and tea&coffee but no water. Minibar is quite expensive and free water should have been supplied. Breakfast is decent. Overall, if you find a reasonable price Holiday Inn can be chosen for your Amsterdam trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear saay,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your room and your stay at our hotel.
Your comments regarding the minibar and water in the room will be shared.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A great stay yet again at this hotel we stay here every 2 years for one week for the Interclean Exhibition at the Rai as we exhibit it is very hard work but the staff are all very helpfull and friendly
Especially dear Zia and his team Pray Peter and Leo in the bar these guys make our stay so much more fun and relaxing and are so unique I just hope the changes do not take away the charm of this relaxing bar we thought the restaurant breakfast was a bit canteen like and not very becoming against the class of the rest of the Hotel and only being able to eat in the bar and not the privacy of the restaurant and the guys not always having time to serve you quickly at the bar and be waiters at the same time but as usual always smiling and helpfull good work to you all at the Holiday Inn and do hope the changes are for the better see you in 2016 (if the bar team are still with you) Georgi and John Crisp Crisp Clean Services Ltd

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear georgina c,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We hope that your exihibition was succesful and your compliments regarding our bar team will be shared with them. Thank you for the feedback regarding our restaurant and breakfast area. At the moment we are making some changes to our bar and restaurant so your feedback is welcome and will be shared.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing