We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired rooms and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #144 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tired rooms and hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is in the financial district and though convienient for office workers visiting their Dutch colleagues, it is tired and needs refreshing.

The rooms are not particularly big with old carpets and upholstery. The bathrooms speficially are in need work.

There are entertainment channels but on a tiny TV and the internet is not very fast. If you are an IHG member the internet is free but if not it is 22 Euros for 24 hrs although joining the membership scheme is free and you can do it on site.

There is a gym and a restaurant and a swimming pool and spa that you can use 5 mins drive away but I prefer to have all facilities on site. Given the plethora of other hotels available in Amsterdam I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Beau2010,
Thank you for providing us feedback on your stay.
Every year we invest in our property and make improvements. The majority of our hotelrooms were refurbished in 2009. We do have a restaurant on site, Vermont, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also our fitness centre has been renovated in 2013. The spa and pool you have used are not owned by our property.
Your feedback will be discussed with the departments concerned.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    587
    285
    91
    52
See reviews for
242
322
48
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful staff and quality rooms in this comfortable hotel in South Amsterdam next to RAI Station. Meals were good and substantial but not very international or continental. I would stay there again but the biggest drawback is that the hotel internet does not allow access to the full array of internet sites.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 6th Floor in a regular room and it is very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennox J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Lennox J,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed your hotel room and the service provided by our hotel team.
We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with the internet connections. We are continuously evaluating and monitoring our internet and are making improvements where possible.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great locations, just aside RAI, 10 minutes work, if you are attending conference, choose it, good services, provide rental bike 20 Euro per day, breakfast is excellent they help me for a last minute booking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinehsuwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear paulinehsuwc,
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and appreciated the location and breakfast.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice staff! We had the executive rooms, on the 15th floor! The upgraded our rooms on our arrival.
How nice!
Good breakfast! Lots of turists in the restaurant in the morning, but ok!
Good location, silent, very close to RAI station from where u can take transport to entire city.
20 min to centraal station!
Love Amsterdam! Whish i could come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana010891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ana010891,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed the location and the service provided by our hotel team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during a conference at the nearby RAI... good value, comfortable rooms, TV was dated but not a problem as I wasn't in the room much!
Hotel bar was very welcoming and had some good local beers... not just Heineken!

Room Tip: Tram line 4 has it's terminal just around the corner from the hotel... ~15 mins. into the heart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mark F,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay during your conference at the RAI.

My team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


With kind regards,

Pascal Aartman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has been great and I love that the air conditioning works which is unusual in Europe. The service has been excellent. The continental breakfast is always tasty. The location is near a tram station that takes you to the main square. That is very helpful and makes good use of time. Thanks you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Janey P,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about the service of our hotelteam, the airconditioning and our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review on TripAdvisor or on our own review page of our hotel.

With kind regards,

Pascal Aartman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for four days and we had a very good time. The hotel was comfortable, the staff always very kind. But the rooms are a little bit old, also the tv-system. The breakfast was okay, but nothing special... But anyway, We will come here again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rutzkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear rutzkai,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotel. We have passed your feedback on to our staff and it was much appreciated.

We have taken your remarks with regards to the televisions and the breakfast into account and are take this into consideration.

We look forward welcoming you again at our hotel next year, and receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Pascal Aartman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#100 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing