We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for short break - close to museums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #79 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel staff were all very polite and helpful throughout our stay. Cleanliness was excellent. Location perfect for us as it is away from the Dam Square area and close to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. The only problem that takes a bit of getting used to is the bikes and scooters and trams passing close to the front of the hotel. We had a family room and also a double room and had no complaints at all. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better to reduce traffic noise
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,926)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,929 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Traveled with a group to stay 4 nts at this wonderful hotel.

All was excellent .. The location, the ambience , the customer service were all top notch.. They graciously agreed to accommodate us by 1100 hrs and we were a large group of 30 travelers.

rooms were large enough for European standards, breakfast plentiful and the lobby was warm and cozy.. A solid Marriott hotel.

I'll take this one anytime , you cant go wrong with them.. and I've traveled a fair bit!

excellent connectivity to Trams and the canal cruise make this a very desirable option.

Room Tip: take rooms on the higher floors if available.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Once again stayed in this resort because the experience was priceless last visit and I can only give this resort staff praise. From check in to departure the experience is PERFECT. I wish all the Marriot's I visit had the same standards. The lobby bar has great ambiance and delicious tapas. Located 2 minutes away from Leidseplein, 5 minutes away from The Bols museum, 1 minute away from Holland Casino and much more. It is near tram halte where you can catch 5, 1 and 2 which takes you to central station or the opposite direction, not forgetting Amsterdam Center.

Room Tip: Get Floor 5 room viewing Leidseplein near the elevator. Great view, bigger room, executive lounge ac...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mardia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Can't say enough about the Marriott Amsterdam Hotel. Perfect location, terrific service, nice views. Paid for the Executive Lounge and enjoyed great food, service and drinks. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommend staying there while in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of our General Manager, Mr. Rex A.G.Nijhof, we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience in our hotel. Your enthusiasm about our location, our staff and the service they provided, makes us feel very proud and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott again soon.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A great stay. Greeted warmly by staff upon arrival. Room large by European standards, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Executive lounge was nice, with a good breakfast and great evening snacks. Location is excellent. Amsterdam is a very walkable city - if you a serious walker you can get to get to all the main sites from this location. If not a walker, trams are close by. Location is very close to the museum district, Vondel Park and Leidseplein for nightlife.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank berryme03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I loved staying in the Marriott. We had access to the executive suite which was definitely a large part of why it was so great (free breakfast, Hors d'oeuvres, wine/beer/alcohol, soft drinks/ coffee all day). It was such a great location and easy to stop 'home' midday for some wi-fi and a coffee to plan what was next etc. The rooms are larger than average for Europe. Its a very short walk to the Museumplein (Rijks and Van Gogh), and an even shorter walk to the tram that takes you everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 339SarahP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Trip started on a sour note. Had requested early check in which was not guaranteed. On check-in were asked to wait and promptly forgotten by reception staff. Got their attention after an hour and half when we asked them again..it was not an early check in after all. The concierge got our taxi booking mixed up twice and we would have been late for our flight but for our checking to see what was happening. The lounge was OK, not as good as Sheraton lounges elsewhere. Rooms were standard. Wifi is charged exorbitantly.

Room Tip: choose room with lounge access for breakfast and snacks. Be around in the evenings at the set times...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay. We try our best to accommodate our guests requests for an early arrival and are sorry to hear that you did not feel this was evident during your check in. We hope by providing complimentary internet in the lobby that we can help make the most of your respected time while we are preparing your room. We also value your comments about the taxi situation. Should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam, we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Amsterdam Marriott.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,303 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#39 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,938 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £161 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing