We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #80 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

As with all people we have met in Holland, the staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is dated and just okay, shower pressure minimal but location outstanding. Internet connection is strange...free for anyone who shows up in the lobby, but if you are a paying guest, you have to pay to have it in your room. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor with view of nothing but other side of hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,923)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Marriott Hotel is located in the middle of the city, only 35 minutes away from the airport . The fine restaurants are near by, the Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh Museum are only a few blocks away. The concierge service is excellent , they help you to find your way around the city with a great big smile !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park in front of the hotel and also in a high floor. The view is beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XMontalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest with us in the Amsterdam Marriott. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our concierge team. We look forward to welcome you back again soon for another brilliant stay.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is located right in the heart of Amsterdam, which makes it a good choice for tourists . The rooms are a good size, but a bit outdated. Faced difficulty with the internet connection. Later It turned out that they were working on solving the problem and got the internet charge waved. Overall, the hotel is quite expensive and need a ramp up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This Hotel has a perfect location and is close to practically everything in the city. Its walking distance from luxury shopping, to cafes, to coffee houses to the canal... The breakfast is decent and really works as a business hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Leidenstraat are better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The reason to stay at this hotel is for the location. It is close to the major museums, the Van Guogh and Reich museums.

As previously stated by other travelers, it is certainly not a five star hotel. Perhaps by European standards it might be, but according to American standards it is not. The lobby is small with outdated furniture. The entire hotel has a worn out feeling. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage.

We booked our room through a travel website. When we checked in and asked what time breakfast was served, the front desk told us breakfast was not included with our room and we would have to pay 27 Euro per persons for breakfast. We contacted the travel company who assured us it was included. We spoke to the hotel manager who refused to allow us the breakfast we were entitled to.

The staff are friendly, however when I asked to concierge to point out a store I was looking for on the map, he pulled out an advertisement for a store close to the hotel, stamped it with the Marriott address and told us to go there to get a discount. I do not appreciate a hotel pushing guests to shop at certain stores in order to get a kick back. We also asked for a chocolate store we had read about. He circled it on the map, they called for a taxi, we went all the way there only to find out it was closed. The concierge seems to be as outdated as the furniture.

If you want to experience Amsterdam and have the flavor and ambiance of Holland, the Marriott is not the place to stay. Our friends stayed at the Ambassade Hotel and had a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street on a high floor. The basic room does not come with bath rob...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is steps away from everything to do, we walked around for 4 hours and were only 6-8 blocks from the hotel. Staff extremely friendly and help. Room very typical of Marriott. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel very nice, no tips needed
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSHotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed at Marriot several times. No surprises: clean rooms, good service, everybody is fluent in English. Short walking distance to the Dam. There are plenty of shops nearby, including AH - where you can get food including the waffles and cheese for less than at Duty Free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Some rooms have great views of the city.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,302 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,937 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £160 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing