We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #76 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

As it was expected, though this hotel is not new at all, this is 100% Marriott.
Good food, friendly staff, not so nice price, but OK. Wifi is not free in the rooms, but price is acceptable.

The main plus is the location - in the entrance to the old city, near channel bank, where you can take a boat for city site-seeings.
Rooms are well renovated and atmosphere of old hotel (second half of 20th century) supports the good feelings from there. Not so far away from the airport.

I am satisfied that Marriott stay on its level as expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stalevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,957 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

I've been a regular user of Trip Advisor for years and it occurred to me that it is time to give back. So this is my first review and appropriate that it goes to the Marriott Amsterdam. I am a Platinum Elite guest with Marriott and am familiar with many of their properties around the world, and this is one of my absolute favorites. Efficient check-in, friendly (if not always efficient) concierge service, nice rooms, great location, good restaurants and other facilities on-site, nice treatment of Platinum guests, one of the best Executive lounges I've seen. In a word, this hotel goes from strength to strength and management deserves recognition. My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PlaceJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here during our families trip through Europe. This was, by far, the nicest Marriott of the four we stayed in during the two weeks on the road. The room was very nice and spacious as well as having everything we needed in it. The Executive Lounge was pretty good too with plenty of room and a varied menu of treats. I also have to give a shout out to the excellent staff. They took care of our every need and were friendly to all of us. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a view of the Leidseplein. It was nice to look at but noisy at night. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Nice check in. My overnight flight arrived at 6am, and I was lucky to have a room ready.

The hotel is in a good location, there isn't much in the immediate area, but short 5 minute walk to some of the best parts of Amsterdam.

My room was quiet even on the second floor facing a primary street.

Good executive lounge breakfast.

There are two restaurants in the hotel: A high-end steak house and a lounge/bar. I had dinner (chicken curry and red wine) in the latter and was very satisfied with the meal and the service.

Nice gym with what you need to get in a respectable workout.

Bed: soft sheets and blankets. Mattress was "ok". It could be replaced.
Bathroom was new.

I would stay here again - although it was expensive for late January in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

As with all people we have met in Holland, the staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is dated and just okay, shower pressure minimal but location outstanding. Internet connection is strange...free for anyone who shows up in the lobby, but if you are a paying guest, you have to pay to have it in your room. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor with view of nothing but other side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Marriott Hotel is located in the middle of the city, only 35 minutes away from the airport . The fine restaurants are near by, the Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh Museum are only a few blocks away. The concierge service is excellent , they help you to find your way around the city with a great big smile !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park in front of the hotel and also in a high floor. The view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XMontalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsnt, Executive Assistant at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest with us in the Amsterdam Marriott. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our concierge team. We look forward to welcome you back again soon for another brilliant stay.

Kind regards,
Meredith Opten
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is located right in the heart of Amsterdam, which makes it a good choice for tourists . The rooms are a good size, but a bit outdated. Faced difficulty with the internet connection. Later It turned out that they were working on solving the problem and got the internet charge waved. Overall, the hotel is quite expensive and need a ramp up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,337 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,976 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,337 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £163 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing