We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel & Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #77 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good business hotel & Great location”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Normally I prefer independent hotels but I was staying here due to a conference being held at the same venue. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. There was a problem with the entrance to the executive lounge however they still provided the same services and amenities at another location. Internet was seamless throughout which was critical for any business trip.

Location was also lovely as it was very close to a busy square. Lovely to walk around on a sunny day. On my arrival, It was already 10pm however the concierge still found a lovely family run Italian restaurant which was walking distance from the hotel.

I would say the only area which was not up to par was the breakfast where the overall choice was limited. For a five star hotel I expected a five star selection.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the square nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMehta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    1,159
    344
    104
    60
See reviews for
757
813
119
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Hotel is not worth the price you pay.
Some good stuff about the Hotel first.
- Excellent Location and nearby to most of the attraction
- The bed is soft and Very comfortable.
- Room is clean and tidy.
- The service staff are good and very helpful.
- Bus 197 goes direct from airport to hotel so you don't need a Taxi.
-Tram also stops near to hotel and central station is just 10 min by tram.

Now the real stuff that matters the most.
1. No free WiFi in the room for the price you pay. Feels like Marriott is still in the 18th or 19th century. Internet is a basic need for all of us when buses, eateries and museum can provide free internet whats the problem with this guys ? Its a shame for Marriott not to provide free internet.

2.No complimentary water bottle on arrival absolutely ridiculous. I am not asking for everyday just 500ml of water on the day of arrival would be great.

3. No bathrobe or bathroom slippers which is expected for Marriott standards.

4. They are very commercialized. Fridge is full of drinks for sale no place to keep your drink but in the facilities provided they say fridge provided, not sure for whom for us or them to sell products. The whole coffee shelf and tray filled with snacks again for sale. Worst is even in the bathroom they provide anti-slip mats but comes with a sticker saying please purchase it if you need them.
5. They cal it as family room with 21 TV Channels. Most in dutch 5 in English but 4 are news channel. No Kids channel in English.

I am Glad I did not purchase Marriott membership before actually staying in Marriott. We wanted to purchase Marriott timeshare at Singapore for 45 yrs but wanted to experience Marriott before purchasing it. Thank God this experience helped me to save that money. I would rather pay and stay in better hotel instead committing myself with this corporate business minded Marriott.
Making Money is the first priority of Marriott then comes customer service or satisfaction.
My Few cents advice to Marriott if you are keen to improve the customer satisfaction.

1. Please provide free WiFi it helps us to keep our-self busy and also search and plan our trip.
2. Since you call the room as family rooms. Kindly consider to provide some family channels and kids channel which keeps them busy if not they keep irritating the parents. Which makes the whole experience terrible. You must consider some children activities so parents can take a break. Just like how Club Med does or even Holiday Inn does.
3.Since Amsterdam is a cold place its good to provide some bathroom slippers at-least.
4. You need to look at the data and see how many English speaking and non-dutch speaking Guest you have in your hotel in the past 1 year and provide appropriate entertainment TV Channels in English. Like some sports channels , Educational and cartoons.

At the End I should command your front desk and room service for the Excellent service they gave. The rooms are big and clean. I love the soft comfy bed.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNPAWAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. We appreciate hearing from you since the feedback we receive is valuable to us, in order to maintain and or improve in all areas where possible and necessary.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We will share your feedback within the hotel team to see how we can improve. Meanwhile we were glad to learn that our Front Desk and Minibar Hosts provided an excellent service and you enjoyed the room cleanliness and Marriott bedding.

if you would like to share any additional feedback please feel free to contact me direct.
Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California, USA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel is very American in operation and has an outlet on desk that do not require adaptors and offers the three and two plug European plugs as well. Staff are great and eager to assist.
Great location. Very close to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. High end shopping nearby and multiple eating places within 2-3 blocks. Can walk 30 minutes to central station or take train #1, #2 or #5 in 10 minutes for just a few Euros. Could walk to all tourist locations in city from hotel -saved on taxi.
Was contemplating staying at more local type hotels but very happy we stay here. Felt security of American chain but in European city. Would recommend to any US traveler.

Room Tip: Room off main room would be recommended due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpleGuy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice hotel but I am going to ding them for a couple of things I didn't like. I am a marriott premium elite. Breakfast is included at this membership level. We were told that we could eat breakfast in the restaurant when we checked in. First morning was fine, the second, third and forth not so much. On the 2nd morning got up early, no patrons in the restaurant and we were told we had to go up to the concierge lounge to eat. The manager came to us later and apologized and said we could eat in the restaurant. The 3rd morning we went to the restaurant and they denied us again. We told them the manager said we could, then the staff we to find him. We got frustrated and went to the concierge lounge. No one seems to know what the other is doing.

Had to walk a long way to get to the room from the elevator. If you are booking a room make sure you request to be close to the elevator. Or you will have a nice exercise walk every time you leave your room...... which isn't bad.

The room was nice and clean. Doormen were always very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to elevator and make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTheWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guus V, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that the room cleanliness met your expectations and you were assisted in a nice and helpful way by our Doormen. We regret that you were misinformed about breakfast and that you received inconsistent information from our Hosts. You can be assured that we will follow up internally to prevent this from reoccurring. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. if you have any additional feedback you would like to share with us, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Guus Verhulst
guus.verhulst@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Have stayed here many times over the years, always like it and the hotel has now been refurbished with a much smarter and more modern look in the public areas.

The room was clean and very smart and comfortable, very comfortable bed, armchair, clean modern bathroom, etc. Not all rooms have a "front facing" canal view, some have side views but these are usually still pleasant. Wifi in rooms is not free but you can get the "Economy" Wifi package for €6.95 a day which is very reasonable.

The bar is open throughout the day from morning coffee, lunch, drinks, bar snacks any time and this is a very pleasant place to sit and pass time and watch the world go by on Stadhouderskade. The staff here were charming and efficient.

Location is good, close to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. If you are coming from the airport, consider using bus no. 187, which stops at Leidseplein, very close to the hotel, rather than taking the less direct train and tram route.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellisdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
306 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

When you pay 320 euros for a room you expect a decent size. It was extremely small. Otherwise the location was great. The staff amaxing. The breakfast good although the chef messed up our omelettes all 3 days. Kudos to zafar for going out of his way

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here last week for 2 nights during a conference held in the hotel. First thing is the service and location are really top notch. Both the reception and concierge really helped out a few times solving some problems. And although I only had breakfast and lunch (buffet on both) in the hotel the quality was great.

My only comment would be that the hotel feels a bit classic in terms of interior, and staff clothing etc. In typical Marriott fashion you have to use your keycard inside the elevators and there is an ice machine on every floor. I stayed in two other hotels for 1 night afterwards and those just felt a bit more fresh and modern. Nothing wrong with the speed of the internet in the hotel though, it was lightning fast at all times. The gym was also good in terms of quality and equipment, but the weights section can probably get a bit crowded.
Didn't see the spa/pool so can't score that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,167 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,816 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing