We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #80 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a good experience.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had 1 night post cruise around Europe. Had booked and prepaid for a twin room but did not get a twin room. We also received a bill in the morning for the accommodation which had already been paid for (another hassle) which took up the time we had allocated for a very short breakfast. Only some of our group were told were could use the Executive lounge for breakfast which opened earlier than the restaurant. Light meals in the bar were good but when I ordered a J & B Whisky I got a Jim Beam????? (another hassle). Very harsh, very small bar of soap in the shower which was in the bath. Room was tired and basic but it did have a very nice red glass lamp shade. The view from the restaurant/bar was of the traffic and that kept us amused .

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoostBerends, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate the feedback you give us to help improve our service. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from the restaurant and the food. I am also happy to read about your positive experience with the food quality in the bar. I would like to ask you to contact me at the hotel so that we can discuss the other issues you described so that we can prevent this in the future from happening again. I do hope we have a chance to welcome you back again in the future so that we can restore your faith in our product and service.

With kind regards,

Joost Berends, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    1,193
    350
    106
    62
See reviews for
777
841
119
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had a recent precruise stay at the Amsterdam Marriott. We arrived before normal check in time but were welcomed and checked in right away. The room was in excellent condition and the bathroom small but nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was easy to prepurchase museum entry and save some time in line. The hotel is right next to Vondelpark and within quick walking distance to the Rijksmuseum and VanGogh museum. Canal boat trips are literally right across the street. Many good restaurants close by.
The hotel restaurant breakfast buffet had an extensive selection altho pricey.
We would definitely stay here again on our next Amsterdam trip

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After a two week long trip around Europe, we decided to spend the last two nights in Amsterdam. The hotel is a good slow 20 minute walk from the Centraal Station but we appreciated the stroll and the neighborhood is quiet. As soon as we arrived, our bags were unloaded from the car. Check in process was pretty fast and staff was friendly. ROOM: Good sized family room with two double beds. Warm interior colors. Good amenities. Lived up to standards you would expect from the high end international hotel chains. STAFF: Overall, very friendly reception staff, concierge and bellboy.

Everything was good until our early morning departure. There were a lot of people checking out but there was just one staff at the reception struggling to process everyone. We requested a taxi for 6:45 AM and that was well taken care of. The driver was on time. However, we had a lot of bags (around ten) so we asked for assistance but was told hotel is busy and nobody came to help. Waited ten minutes but couldn't keep the taxi driver waiting so decided to carry them ourselves. We got to the entrance and there was absolutely nobody to help load the bags into the car. After we got into the taxi, we saw an elderly couple also come out with their bags, looking for assistance with their luggage but of course nobody was there to help.

They did everything during the two days to make the hotel stay a pleasant one and then the last moment, they fell short and left a very bad taste in the mouth. Not going to choose Marriott for our trip to Amsterdam this November.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRUS_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoostBerends, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Amsterdam Marriott hotel. I will be sure to pass on your great comments to our staff. I am also very happy to find out that you enjoyed our location.
I do regret to read that your experience upon check out was not as great as the rest of your stay with us. I hope you will give us another chance to regain your trust in November and I am confident we will be able to do so.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With kind regards,

Joost Berends, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Friendly staff welcomed our 8 day stay at the Marriott Amsterdam. The hotel is right next to Vondel Park and close tourist sights include the Rijksmuseum and the Heineken Experience. Throughout our stay we ended up visiting the Amsterdam Steakhouse 4 times. The service is wonderful, and the USDA cuts are cooked to perfection. The best part about our stay was the executive Marriott lounge. It is well stocked with beers and fine reds. There was lots of food for breakfast, and appetizers, as well as deserts. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTNorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Centrally located for visiting the museums. Walking distance to many Amsterdam restaurants. Some rooms have view of canals. However, you have little feeling of being in Amsterdam. So, a solid choice for the business traveller, but not as much fun for the traveller looking to be part of the local action.

I am a gold Marriott member and have stayed here a number of times for work. Hints for staying here - Make sure to have breakfast included in your rate, otherwise too expensive as a stand alone meal. If you arrive early and your room is not ready, you have to lug your bag down steps past all the equipment to have access to the shower and changing room. You want to avoid this if possible by insisting on early check in. Gym is small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Marriott properties are consistent and perfect to explore a place you have never been to. There are 2 Marriott hotels in Amsterdam and we chose this one. So glad we did. It is in the quieter museum district, steps from Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Vondal park and high end shops, nice cafes and restaurants. A quick 5 block walk to the busier, less expensive shopping areas, cinema and restaurants. close to tram, buses which can take you to central station.Room is quite large, especially for Europe, clean and had a nice view. Breakfast and snack food in the executive lounge is excellent and includes wine, beer, coffee and cappuccino.Great complimentary bathrobes awaited us every evening after a long day of exploring. Purchased tickets from the concierge desk and avoided lines at the museums.
Staff was helpful and accommodating. Try Restaurant Freud out of the city center, but reached by tram for a spectacular dinner experience.Marriott really helped to make our trip a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vintagebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Went to Amsterdam after an extended European business trip for a few days off. Was surprised by the many offerings through out the city.
Highly suggest a river canal boat trip. Was an awesome experience offering a one of a kind view.
Rented bikes from the hotel for a day and rode the canals and parks. Another great way to see the city. Food selection is various with many a choices. Enjoy your visit !!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,251 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,875 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing