We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #81 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Marriott for a hen weekend and were brilliantly placed for the bars and nightlife, as well as seeing the sights. Tram/bus stop was very close, as was the canal bus tour. The room was comfortable and spacious. The staff were nice, although didn't seem to appreciate us asking for a jug of iced tap water in our room. But overall very very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imjustpeachy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    1,147
    338
    103
    59
See reviews for
738
802
119
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed here before and one of the reasons we keep coming back is the location. It is in the middle of a square where there is always a lot of action and you can walk to many places. It is a very nice Marriott with standard rooms. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and very good quality. The club level at the hotel is excellent and the best I've ever experienced. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dosomething0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at the Amsterdam Renaissance, but walked inside the Marriott just to rest my feet and used the lobby Wi-Fi. I could not get the connection to work, so I went over to the concierge, and the young gentleman behind the desk went out of his way to assist, and voila - surfing and resting in the lobby at the Amsterdam Marriott. Must say - the lobby décor in this Marriott is a tad gloomy...But the reception team was so great, more than made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good, there is a great stickhouse inside where I have eaten excellent entrecôte. The fitness area is high level; the Runners have the possibility to go to Vondelpark (2minutes running from the hotel) where there is a 3,3km race.
Pay attention to the extras: I had breakfast included in the room rate, I asked the receptionist for the room services charge (2€) and i booked the service but on the bill I found the breakfast rate twice. The hotel rule is: if you have bought a room with breakfast and you ask for the breakfast with room service you are charged for additional 23 € plus 2€ for the service (continental breakfast)!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott Amsterdam for 2 nights pre Amsterdam to Budapest River Cruise. This hotel was chosen by & booked with APT (Australian Pacific Touring) as our stopover in Amsterdam between river cruises.

The location was great, far enough away from the noise but just a short walk from all the sights we wanted to see.

Check-in was smooth and because we arrived early we had our luggage stored and went for a walk. Our room was ready by 11.30am, which was great. The concierge was very helpful, giving required directions & offering to book an appointment with the on-site hairdresser when I enquired about one. I later visited this lovely lady, made an appointment for the same day & was extremely happy with the service provide & cost. Thank you Trudy!

Our room was fine, decor a little dark & tired but otherwise functional & clean with everything we required and located in a quiet area. We were delighted to discover a guest laundry just down the corridor from our room and made good use of it & the in room iron and ironing board. We had been travelling in Europe for 6 weeks at this stage, mostly on river boats & ocean cruise ships so it was a real luxury to be able to use a washing machine & dryer!

Our included breakfast in the buffet was very good with a large range of choices. The omelettes were first class. We had two snacks (one lunch & one dinner) in the bar & really enjoyed the food & drinks. Otherwise we ate out locally.

As stated in other reviews the lack of included free WiFi in rooms was a little annoying. It was available in the lounge/reception area but that was not always convenient. It was the only hotel we stayed in which didn't have included WiFi.

Overall a great stay in a chaotic city. We enjoyed our time here dodging those crazy cyclists!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived at the Marriott at 8.30am after a long flight and were thrilled to hear that our room was ready and we were able to have a rest before we started our exploring! What a relief!
The Marriott was very well located and staff were friendly. The room was smallish but had everything you needed. Breakfast was included and was also very nice.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel has an ideal location for the holiday traveller wanting to see the city of Amsterdam. You can walk to any of the "sights" within about 20 minutes. However, the atmosphere and general mood of those in the hotel appears to be lacking something - there is no interaction between staff and visitor, the bar and restaurant have an almost clinical air.
It is expensive to stay, eat and drink here but I would use the hotel again only for its location

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear should not hear road traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Front Office Manager at Amsterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel I do regret to see that you did not enjoy the mood in our hotel. We strive to make every guests’ experience exceptional.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed our location close to all the sights, and I am pleased to read that you would chose our hotel again for your future trips to Amsterdam.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, and we hope to regain your trust when you will visit us again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Joost Berends
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#89 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing