We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Renaissence has a great location so you can walk almost everywhere in the centre. Reception desk are usually crowed and check-in takes a long time. Stayed in a well appointed junior suite, clean and comfortable but thin walls (yes, you can hear everything from room next door...) and too dark for my taste. Amsterdam is a grey city with not a lot of sunlight and so are the rooms: windows are small and lights are dim which make it a bit depressing. Room service menu is not inspiring but buffet breakfast in main restaurant in excellent. Overall an average experience and I would probably try a different hotel next time in town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,338 - 2,344 of 3,376 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

We arrived for 1 night before a cruise. We paid a lot of money through Holland America Cruises for a deluxe room. Our room wasn't ready, so we had lunch on the property. I specifically asked for a quiet room because we were jet lagged from flying overseas. We were given a beautiful room, but it was next to the ice machine which was very audible in the room. Then, we were moved to a very small room which had less than a foot between the dresser and the bed.It was smaller than a cruiseship cabin! There was no room to move the suitcases to the side of the room to store them. Thank goodness the bellboy took pity on us and called the front desk to intervene. On the third try, we were put in a quiet deluxe room---that the cruiseline paid for.

I felt the front desk (Samantha who spoke with an American accent) was taking advantage of jetlagged customers. We asked for a quiet room initially, so there shouldn't have been an issue. We paid for a deluxe, normal sized room so they shouldn't have tried to pawn off an unusually small room on us.

Other than that, the hotel was in a great location and it was lovely. I just felt that we were being taken advantage of. Just be aware that they may try to stick you with an unsatisfactory room initially!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

this hotel was booked through laterooms so we had no idea about it before we went - big american hotel obviously nice big rooms lovely bathroom. no coffee or tea making facilities in the room but if you take the lift down to the foyer there is free coffee (real stuff!!) available 24/7. we were room only but got room service in the afternoon one day very good reasonable and efficient

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_celie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have stayed in Amsterdam on numerous occasions and in some great hotels (The Sofitel Grand, The Pulitzer), but this is the best so far. The location is terrific: 5 minutes from the station and 5 minutes from the lovely neighbourhoods of the Jordaan. It felt a long way away from the livelier aspects of the city, which when you're travelling with a child is a good thing.

The staff were helpful and the room spacious, ok it didn't have the canal view of, say, The Pulitzer, but then it did't have the noise either. The breakfast was truly excellent, everything really fresh and delicious; it is very pricey, so you need to get a rate that includes it. We also had the option of a 3pm check out time - very civilised. N.B. the best deal I found was on the hotel's website, which had the same room rate as the supposedly fab last minute sites and included the breakfast that they didn't.

If you can, go for the Club Lounge option. It's a restful place and hot and cold drinks, newspapers etc are free all day. Amsterdam is not cheap, so it was good on occasion to go there for a coffee/juice rather than have to find a cafe. In the evening they serve wine, beer and an array of snacks, well it's almost a dinner buffet - a lovely way to start the evening.

There are no cheap good hotels in Amsterdam (well, not as far as I know), if you are going to pay a hefty room rate then do it here - it's almost value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsressex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I spent 4 great nights in this hotel. Located at the heart of Amsterdam, Central Station is only a couple of minutes walking distance, plenty of museums around. I had to go for several meetings everyday during my stay, so I took trains from Amsterdam Centraal, very convenient.

My room appeared redecorated short time ago and it was really clean. It felt a little bit small but didnt need any bigger, so it was fine. Every single staff member did their best to make my stay memorable, Leo and Ahmed from Concierge, Michael and Sahin from Front Desk, and the breakfast staff were excellent. Every morning enjoyed open buffet breakfast in a hip Italian Restaurant Scossa, even became more colorful with courteous staff in there.

My room was located on 2nd floor with view of backyard, so it was kind of dark, but didnt bother to ask to change. Internet was chargeable basis, 20 Euros for a day, could be used in the room also at the lobby. Also there is a business center that you can print your boarding pass etc free of charge. The gentleman sitting at the desk at the lobby was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Thank you and hope to see you in October again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plankty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Great hotel - great location - short walk to the train station - central to most things you would like. The rooms were very clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only complaint was the neighbours across the hall were very loud - but security took care of that after other guests complained. Overall an excellent stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

An absolutely perfect location in the heart of Amsterdam. The clean and modern decor, the helpfulness of the staff and the fantastic club lounge amenities make this one of the finest Renaissance Hotels I've stayed in.
Just a 5 minute walk from the Central Station, and within walking distance to everything else you would want to see and do in Amsterdam. Really, not much else to say. If you want a great place in AMS, you can't go wrong with this property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meetjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#204 of 374 in Amsterdam
41 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £140 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing