We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly, No tea making facilities!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Surprisingly, No tea making facilities!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

As frequent British tea drinkers, there were no tea making facilities which spoilt our stay. Room service for tea was possible but expensive at the current exchange rate at 4 euros each!
No free wireless in the foyer which for an establishment this size was surprising. But everything else was okay and the location was fab!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    1,263
    380
    123
    74
See reviews for
467
1,185
155
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Renaissance in Amsterdam and didn't have to take the subway or a taxi one time! The hotel is located directly across the street from the train station and you can easily walk with luggage back and forth. The hotel is also walking district from the Red Light District, the Anne Frank House and great shopping, restaurants, etc. The concierge desk helped us book a canal tour and we were able to purchase the ticket at the hotel and put on our hotel bill. The concierge desk also suggested two great restaurants.
The rooms are fine sized, what you expect of a hotel. The bathrooms were updated and TV was good sized. We really didn't spend too much time in the room! :)
We had access to the concierge lounge which was FABULOUS! The breakfast was awesome and the "happy hour" with free apps and cocktails served as our dinner 2 nights!
I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I checked in, and they told me my travel partner had already checked in yesterday. He hadn't, and I wasn't expecting him to.

The room they gave me had an ice machine about feet from the door in the hallway. Every 5 minutes there was a loud crash of ice

I called down to ask for a room change, they said someone would call back. They didn't. (I didn't give the details, I just asked for a change)

I called again after 10 minutes and they said that they've found me a room with two double beds, instead of the King. They had presumed that I wanted the change because we were two men in a king bed.

They told me the new room would be on the 7th floor and they'd send someone up to move me. A bellhop knocks on my door in a few minutes and gives me the keys--to a room on the lobby floor. This is a room literally off the lobby lounge area! It sounds like there's a party going on outside.

I'VE stayed at this hotel on previous trips to IBC. I WILL NEVER, EVER, STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tppllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here using our Marriott points so I cannot comment on the value - but having used the points, we were comfortable with our decision.

I have some mixed feelings about this hotel. On the one hand, there's nothing wrong with it all - nothing to complain about - but on the other hand, not a lot stands out, either. Our room was relatively small though perfectly adequate and faced in to an internal square (they call them "quiet rooms" - and they are, if people don't have their windows open while partying, which happened only one night but hey, it's Amsterdam and we were on holiday and it was pretty tough to complain about it and we didn't - doesn't affect our opinion - just thought I should mention it).

When I'm on holiday I like to sit in the hotel and read with coffee or a drink and to watch the sights - well, I couldn't - so that, and the fact that internet was so expensive and sometimes iffy (I think it was 20 euros a day), are the only 2 downsides.

The location is truly excellent - the hotel is walking distance to the train station (we took side-trips to Delft, the Hague); the Red Light District (odd! but very interesting!); the canals and everything actually, that there is to do. We walked and walked and walked. I never did manage to orient myself and was forever getting lost and wandering in circles (literally, one time I thought I'd walked a good distance and found a solo lunch spot and I looked out the back door and voila, there was the hotel) - but my husband got the hang of the city and spent hours traipsing around and exploring.

The front desk staff were more-or-less welcoming but the concierge staff I found, were excellent.

We found the restaurant to be expensive and did not eat there. I believe the breakfast alone was 26 euros. We found little bakeries and a grocery store (Albert Heijn) close-by and bought bread and cheese.

So I give this hotel 4 stars but mainly for its location. It's just a place to sleep. A comfortable place to sleep, but could be anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tofinogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel from August 11 to the 14. The service was great and the people were friendly. The hotel location is close to everything, I will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
600 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Originally selected this hotel based on its location in Amsterdam for what I need to do. My first impression when we arrived was how small and crowed the lobby was with luggage piled everywhere, for a minute I thought I was back in the train station. During my entire stay the lobby was always crowed and not easy to get around because of luggage piled everywhere. Just off the lobby was a cruise boat courtesy table with people standing a rounding looking for divine intervention, always adding to the congestion. Evidently this hotel caters to people going on cruises out of Amsterdam during the summer. The room was small and over looked the street, which turned out to be noisy all night. This was the third Marriott property in Europe that I stayed at on this trip that had Internet connectivity problems, so I couldn't use my laptop in the hotel during my stay. In general a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Great hotel albeit the rooms are a bit small by USA standards. The location was terrific near Central Station, Red Light District and access to the canals.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#86 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#70 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing