We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #85 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in August. We decided to request an upgrade because after taking into account the cost of wifi (should be free) and breakfast, it wasn't that much more expensive to stay in a club room. The room were given was large by European standards. It was in the other wing (900 numbered rooms) which required walking a bit of a distance within the hotel, but that was not a problem for us. Our airconditioning didn't work very well however. When we brought this to the attention of the help desk, they fixed the issue within a few hours. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a bit small but fine.
The continental breakfast was sufficient, nothing more, although the coffee machine made the best cappucino I have tasted from an automated unit.
The best part about the hotel was their staff and the location. The staff was friendly and very responsive to questions. The hotel is located a few blocks from Central Station, which was convenient not only because it was near the trains but because most of the trams stop there. We were able to travel everywhere by tram and avoid taxis.
I don't think that I would rate this a 5 star hotel, but it is a solid 4 all around. The service deserves a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: The 900 rooms are actually on the 2nd floor but in a different wing. They are larger and have two d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    1,309
    394
    130
    74
See reviews for
481
1,250
160
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel is in walking distance from the main train station, even with luggage. (10 mins walk).
It is by many tourist attractions and absolutely no car is needed. Actually, you don't want a car. We had one and were told parking is 15EUROS per night, but as it turns out, it was 50EUROS per night. The valet was from Africa/Middle East and had a heavy accent. When I mentioned this upon check out, it was met with a shoulder-shrug and they happily charged us 100 EUROS for parking. Not cool.
The hotel is a maze of corridors in an ancient group of buildings. The rooms are smallish and cozy but fully sufficient. Room service was great and they offer free coffee and papers in the lobby. No free wifi but almost all cafes and restaurants do, so you can connect that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend here and had teh best time! Hotel is in a fab location and our room was very nice and clean though a bit small, however you are not there to spend your whole time in the room!! Close to pretty much everything we wanted to see! Would defo go back there and recommend to friends

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After taking an early morning flight from Barcelona we arrived at the hotel to find a long queue at the check-in counter. The fist front desk manager who attended to us was pretty rude. But the second one was courteous and a good listener. We had booked three 4 sharing rooms but were given just one since we had arrived early. The 4 sharing rooms are in an adjoining building. After taking the main escalator there is a bit of a walk. The rooms well appointed and spacious enough for 4 persons but the bathrooms had very little space. I am 6'2" had i been a little taller i would have had difficulty taking a shower. There was an ice dispenser close to the rooms in case if you need it.
The breakfast was excellent loved the waffles. Cleaning service good. The staff helpful.

Room Tip: If in case you are booking four sharing rooms ask for rooms on the lower floors as the top floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 304551Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I had two days to in Amsterdam between work and stayed at this conveniently located downtown hotel, right near the train station, which meant getting to the airport was a snap. I arrived between 7 and 8 in the morning, check in time is at 3 PM, but as a Marriott Gold member they accommodated me in a very comfortable room.

The Consiarge was most helpful and got me tickets and transportation I needed, including helping me find luggage to replace a piece destroyed on the way to Amsterdam from Africa.. The staff was also professional and helpful.

The room was more than comfortable and, because I was coming off a hard trip, the comforts appreciated, perhaps more than they would have been normally.

My only criticism is that the Business Lounge is understaffed. It took them a long time to clear tables at breakfast and during the "snack" times in the evening and they often ran out of plates and silverware, and sometimes food.

I have stayed there in the past and will again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We just got back from a weekend at the Renaissance and had a lovely time. There was a group of us and we had about 7 rooms booked. We found a great deal a few months back on hotels.com and for the price it was perfect.

All of our rooms came in different shapes and sizes but were all, clean, modern, homely and fresh looking. One of the rooms was huge with an extremely large bathroom (644) The bathrooms were good size and had everything needed. My king size bed was huge and very comfortable. However, one of our twin rooms was literally to single beds instead of two double beds. The location is great and all the staff we dealt with were friendly and professional. It is listed as a 5 star hotel, however we did not have robes or slippers in our room even though it did say there would be on booking confirmation. I didn't call down to request them, as we were out most of the time, so I ma not sure if they are available on request. I also think the internet charge is extremely high at 20 Euros a day. Good room numbers: 644 (largest) 626 (small and cozy but very nice for 1) 353 and 343 King beds.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, if they have similar offers at the rate we paid £180-260. I do not think it is worth the full £500 a night rate, and would choose somewhere else for that price.

Overall a great hotel for a city break

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamLovesSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights during a recent trip, and found this hotel to have all the quality, cleanliness, service and amenities that I have come to expect in a Marriott property (I am pretty much a platnium member every year, so have lots of hotels for comparison)!
The rooms were large, comfortable and well laid out.
The lounge staff was excellent - very friendly and efficient at the same time!
The concierge was top-notch, helping me with everyting from dinner reservations/ recommendations to help figuring out the best ticket package to purchase and the best sites to see (as well as the best time to visit each one in order to minimize wait time)
This hotel is just is a quick walk from the Central Station, and about 20 minute from the cruise ship dock. Both are quite walkable, provided you have light luggage or luggage on wheels! There are also several tram stops close by, to help you get around the city quickly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annaliese-KAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,799 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#26 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing