We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #85 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is one of my goto hotel when I am in Amsterdam and staying for more than two nights. It is walking distance from Centraal Station and on a quiet side street. The hotel has over the years added small things to make a guests life more comfortable. From one power outlet in the beginning to more.

However charging for internet remains a peeve. The buffet breakfast which was included in my room rate was good and very convenient in the morning as there is no place to get one in the early morning hours.

The attached Kopel Cafe is a nice place to chill after coming back from a long day. It can get crowded in the evening when there is a conference in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    1,310
    394
    130
    74
See reviews for
481
1,250
160
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel in a package deal and got a gem! This turned out to be one of our favorite hotels in the last 4 weeks of our travels. It is close to the train station, it is in a little quieter part of town, and the kingsze bed is awesome. The hotel restaurant and other attached restaurants serve outstanding food. The concierge service has been impeccable. They have gone out of their way to answer all of our questions and serve our needs. The room is large, clean, and well stocked. I didn't know it was part of the Marriott chain so the bonus points were a pleasant surprise. I will stay at this hotel anytime I travel to Amsterdam. Don't search the web...just select the renaissance Amsterdam Hotel!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Papadan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, mass.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Amsterdam Renaissance Hotel is a very short walk from the Railway Station which makes it very convenient and very inexpensive for those travelers who travel light and do not want to deal with traffic through the city to access their hotel! It is a modern hotel with a great restaurant and we were lucky enough to have access to the Club Lounge for the wonderful lavish breakfasts and afternoon Happy Hours (lots of Amstel and Heinekin with fresh fish and cheese!) The amenities are quite nice, rooms are all beautiful decorated and the lobby is relaxing and inviting. Coffee and refrigerators provided, as well. The conceriege was first rate and the staff helpful. The hotel is also just a short walk from the Hop-On/Hop-Off boat which travels a number of routes around the city. Although Amsterdam is certainly a walking city which can be explored independently, it was a wonderful opportunity to use the boat and see the city from the water while traveling the numerous canals. Also, we used it as transportation to get from one part of the city to another as we visited several sites. The hotel is steps away from a central shopping district and is close by to a wide variety of restaurants as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange county
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Came here for vacation with my husband. The only tiny complaint I have is that when we arrived after a very long sleepless flight, our room was not ready! So, we had to sleepily wait in the lounge until so.
But, otherwise very comfortable and breakfast was good on concierge level. Easy walking to may places. Beautiful lobby. Would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBsurferwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I have been there for a night with 110 euros only. the largest room I have ever been in Europe so far. The washroom did have a problem but the engineer fix it quickly. The only bad thing I can think of is there are near 100 rooms on each floor so it's about 2 mins walk to the room from the lift area

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvisibleMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in August. We decided to request an upgrade because after taking into account the cost of wifi (should be free) and breakfast, it wasn't that much more expensive to stay in a club room. The room were given was large by European standards. It was in the other wing (900 numbered rooms) which required walking a bit of a distance within the hotel, but that was not a problem for us. Our airconditioning didn't work very well however. When we brought this to the attention of the help desk, they fixed the issue within a few hours. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a bit small but fine.
The continental breakfast was sufficient, nothing more, although the coffee machine made the best cappucino I have tasted from an automated unit.
The best part about the hotel was their staff and the location. The staff was friendly and very responsive to questions. The hotel is located a few blocks from Central Station, which was convenient not only because it was near the trains but because most of the trams stop there. We were able to travel everywhere by tram and avoid taxis.
I don't think that I would rate this a 5 star hotel, but it is a solid 4 all around. The service deserves a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: The 900 rooms are actually on the 2nd floor but in a different wing. They are larger and have two d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel is in walking distance from the main train station, even with luggage. (10 mins walk).
It is by many tourist attractions and absolutely no car is needed. Actually, you don't want a car. We had one and were told parking is 15EUROS per night, but as it turns out, it was 50EUROS per night. The valet was from Africa/Middle East and had a heavy accent. When I mentioned this upon check out, it was met with a shoulder-shrug and they happily charged us 100 EUROS for parking. Not cool.
The hotel is a maze of corridors in an ancient group of buildings. The rooms are smallish and cozy but fully sufficient. Room service was great and they offer free coffee and papers in the lobby. No free wifi but almost all cafes and restaurants do, so you can connect that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,386 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,803 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing