We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Quality Property in Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #91 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“High Quality Property in Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is just a few blocks from the Central train station (which is also the terminus of every tram going everywhere in the city). There is another tram stop just 100 yards or so from the entrance. And the hotel is within walking distance of many of the highlights of the city. It's a simply terrific location and could not be more convenient.

The rooms are very nice; I loved how the big bathroom mirror had a non-steam feature so that you could shave immediately after exiting a hot shower. The lobby area is a bit sparse, but I didn't care about that at all. What I cared much more about was the fact that the staff were all both pleasant and helpful.

The breakfast is very pricey (28 euros). I saw through an open window what was being served, and it looked good. But I didn't partake because I tend not to spend that kind of money on breakfast, particularly when there are a plethora of good bakeries and breakfast eateries within 1-2 blocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    1,263
    380
    123
    74
See reviews for
467
1,185
155
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have been staying here as a business traveler for a while but i decided to take my family for a vacation. The service, quality of room service, and friendly staff is fantastic. Make sure you have a room on higher floor and away from the road.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subramanian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights including New years.

Firstly the location is excellent. 5 mins walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Just outside the hotel is the shopping area with Bars, Coffee Shops etc. The Dam square is a few mins by walk. There are plenty of Tram stops in 100 meter radius to take you around the city.

The rooms are very good. We had booked 6 rooms and out of which 4 double bed rooms were a bit small. But other than that the Hotel is very good. Staff are very helpful and friendly. They have a Renaissance Navigator at the Door , who can assist you on gathering information on where to visit and how to get there. They also have all tickets to the attractions at the Hotel ,so you can save some time by not standing at the line later.

Would def stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly bigger room , book a room with 2 twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights between Christmas and New Years. Check in seemed to take awhile but the staff was friendly and the hotel was clean and in the perfect location. We enjoyed the club lounge and the hotel restaurant. Our room was fine and the bed was comfy. We didn't have a great view (view of the back alley and parking garage) but this wasn't a problem as we didn't spend much time in our room. Overall we were happy with the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel and will likely stay here again during our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights and found the hotel comfortable and well located (it is an easy walk to most of the tourist sights in Amsterdam). The room was a good size and very spacious by Amsterdam standards (the room we had was larger than the average standard room at the Renaissance so we were lucky). The bed was extremely comfortable, the concierge was informative and helpful and guest services were efficient.

On the down side, the hotel lacks a bit of character and feels quite 'corporate' in nature. Check out was slow, although this was because there was a huge influx of new guests as we were leaving. We were also incorrectly charged for some drinks we never had, but these were removed from our bill promptly and without fuss. I thought the room rate was on the high side for this sort of hotel.

All in all, a good hotel, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AB11174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December for christmas.Ideally situated for all attractions,and a 5 minute walk from the central station.The hotel itself is immaculate.But as you would expect from a 5 star,You pay out for everything inc.normal tv.Apart from that..Enjoyed staying there .

Room Tip: The new block has terrible views of the back alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodnAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed two nights in December at this property. Was initally confused on the direction upon exiting the Centraal station but once we found the hotel, we realized it is so near to the station. It will be great if the hotel can provide clearer directions to the hotel from the station.
Was given a spacious family room with two double-beds for a family of four. Having stayed in tighter rooms in the UK and Brussels, we really enjoyed the spaciousness. Even the bathroom was large.
Although the club lounge was closed and being a Marriot Gold member, we had our breakfast at the restaurant and tea and drinks at a specially cordoned off area for members.
Location was fantastic being near the central station which allowed for a easy day trip to The Hague and our onward trip. It is also the main area where canal boat cruises begin. Also within easy walking distance to tram stations and major attractions like the Anne Frank place and Royal Palace.
The family enjoyed ths stay and agreed that it was the best hotel on our trip this year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing