We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel, outrageous prices and thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel, outrageous prices and thin walls”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was here recently for a conference. The hotel is nicely situated a 5 minute walk from Central Station. They have a fitness center, business center and it's a large updated hotel. Their staff was friendly and helpful as well. Some drawbacks, walls are paper thin, be warned. I could hear conversations and TV programs next door and the vacuum on the floor above me (at 8 AM) sounded like it was in my room.

But the most bothersome? Their internet is 20 Euro a day (but fee was waived as part of my conference rate) and their buffet breakfast is 28 Euro. Almost $35 USD? For buffet breakfast!? That was too much for me. If I went back to Amsterdam I don't think I'd return. Those rates aren't reasonable or fair to travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance Amsterdam. We appreciate having you as our guest and for your candid evaluation. We do try to offer comfortable accomodations, a relaxing atmosphere, all at competitve prices. We will use your feedback in an effort to improve our services and offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    1,352
    400
    133
    75
See reviews for
506
1,283
162
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent one night at this hotel in Jan. 2014. We had a bit of trouble finding it at first but after we familiarized ourselves with the area is was easy to find and conveniently located. The room was nice, clean, and quiet. It is a bit pricey but is a nice place to stay if you can afford it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musteau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This place has a pretty good location on the edge of the red light district, it's only a short walk to many of the coffee shops, bars, and the red light ladies if you're into that.

The rooms are a little small, but that's expected in Europe when coming from the US and the beds are single beds, which is not very enjoyable. The rooms are clean and the concierge lounge is OK too. The lobby is nothing special and the exterior isn't either.

Overall, the hotel is OK, but not great, especially for a Rensaisance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ee978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance Amsterdam. We appreciate having you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your experience.

We will use your feedback in an effort to improve our ability to provide an exceptional experience. We do hope to have you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent 2 nights in Amsterdam on our way to Tanzania in an effort to get over some of the jet lag. We chose a large hotel because we wanted a bit more predictable experience under those circumstances. If we'd been staying a week, we probably would have chosen a small B&B for more local flavor. The Renaissance was perfect for us. The best part was how helpful the concierge (Navigator) was to us. He mapped out the public transportation routes & sold us a 24 hour pass. He even found a medical supply store for my husband, called to confirm their hours and mapped that out. He advised us to get our return ticket to the airport the day before and just really helped us avoid any pitfalls. He recommended a great Italian restaurant (Savinis) at the corner, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoKim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend have spend there two days. Hotel quite, nice and clean, very good located , realy close to major attractions of the city.Bed very comforble , and extremely big. Room was pretty tiny though, but thats probably because of the anourmous bed:) Not top of my best hotels, but can recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very comfortable room (the bed is niiiiice) and great service. The lounge area with games, drinks and snacks is awesome; a really nice touch.

Excellent location with convenient access to Dam square, Spui and the train station. My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmartscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed two nights here while in Amsterdam in January 2014. The room was a little tight which is not unexpected. The bed was very very comfortable with lots of pillows. Room was clean. Bathroom was a good size. The breakfast was wonderful, tons of options. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was good, not in the middle of all the hustle and bustle which was nice, but very walkable to everywhere and just down the street from the central train station. We would definitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rauen611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,444 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,881 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#35 of 369 in Amsterdam
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing