We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is in a great location. On quite side street yet just 5 minutes walk to heart of Amsterdam. Friendly staff very helpful with ideas and suggestions for sight seeing. If looking for things to do talk to Casper. Petra was so sweet and so helpful getting us checked in early even when we arrived very early. Very clean and well maintained staff was great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 3,402 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here two nights for a business meeting. The hotel is easy to find and is walking distance from central station. I like that it is in an area that is close to some tourist attractions but also more local eateries and shops.
I wasn't so impressed with the lobby/ common area to walk to the room, but once I arrived in the room I was extremely pleased. The room was clean, spacious, and I like that it was easy to move about (no awkward furniture placements). The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on- and it had SIX pillows on it (a rarity and luxury for Europe!). One thing that I loved about this hotel too was the temperature was always cool, even in my room when I first walked in. I find myself overheating in most hotels, especially when first getting to the room but this place was the perfect temperature.
I assisted with the logistics of an onsite meeting here and I was so happy with the waitstaff and Wauter (sp?) who helped us with the meeting. They were attentive, friendly, and always fulfilled requests within a matter of minutes. The set up of the meeting rooms in relation to the restaurant was great. Food for both our meetings and breakfast/ lunch was AMAZING. Strangely enough, they make chocolate chip cookies which are amazing. The hotel even made a special batch for us for one of our smaller meetings which was so kind, they were still hot from the oven.

Overall- I really enjoyed my stay here and will come back next time I am in Amsterdam whether its for business or pleasure1

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passionfruit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I arrived very late (planned) - and was out in a smoking room but as I had to be up very soon I didn't bother to moan.

Other than that it was a good experience - decent breakfast with plenty of choice, staff helpful and suggested a good local restaurant. Great central location. Good hotel for business,

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is in the walking distance of Central Station. It has so many deluxe rooms and suites. Rooms are really wonderful, well maintained and highly appealing to hotel guests. I stayed in Room 654. I really like the room.
They have club lounge which is in first floor-it is open always. Breakfast and Evening dinner time little early for me -are well organized and done in a Professional manner.
They also keep Water bottle free in the room. It is only 20-minute drive from Schiphol Airport ,
15 minutes drive from the RAI Congress Centre, 5-minute walk from Jordan, Damrak and Westerpark.

Had a great experience with few people personnel in the Hotel -they are worth mentioning are:
this way our Travellers can reach out to them when they Visit -these are like tips!!:)

Lourens - Valet Person -he goes out of the way to help or figure out how to reach or take care of things- this is amazing. he does not feel it is a burden or lot of things to say -he is pretty passionate about what he does. Lourens is sincere and he would be one of the best Valet or concierge or navigator-he can be a great example for the entire Amsterdam Marriott hotels. He is very sharp also ..he knows what is he doing. He can speak good english to communicate other than Dutch which could be his mother tongue!!:) I did not ask for !!:) I am assuming!!:)Normally I do not assume as you know that!!:).
Katrin Hentszel - Nice General manager. She has kept very nice card for me in the room. That was nice of her.
Sarah in the Sales - She like to travel extra mile-she was going away to her home in one of the evenings. She asked how do you like the stay and went out of the way to get the names. She would be a great talented for Sales in Marriott Amsterdam area.
Cynthia - Guest Service- She travels extra mile -not just to me, she did for few other customers. They were talking to me about it. This is difference she shows to Guest service concierge services -compared to others who work in the same role. She is role model for the good service.
Florentine -> Outstanding Front office personnel. She did the check-in and she really cares how to get other things accomplished.
Joerg Kroeter- he is Awesome and an Outstanding Director for Marriott. he is a True example of How management should be -he is a great asset to Marriott.Wonderful director
Winky - Club Lounge- is awesome and great. She deserves to be recognized compared to the people in the evening who have little different attitude. She is awesome-makes an effort to everyone
Leo - Valet guy -he is very awesome and he has a great sense of humour.
Monika - they call Styling now - one of the housekeeping supervisor- she did provide where to go even though that's not her job-she stands apart from others.

Room Tip: To get the right rooms, Please reach out to Florentine or Joerg -they can help out definitely nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saisriorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked here for three nights and loved it. As others have noted, the Club Lounge and breakfast are excellent. Very pleased that our status on United enables us to use the lounges at Marriott properties -- with as much as we travel, this is a wonderful perk. The staff at the hotel are excellent , from check in to the housekeeping service. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Great restaurant recommendations, better than ones we got at a four star hotel to which we had to switch for a conference. We missed the Renaissance! Super close to the train station and an easy trip in from Schiphol, saving many Euros. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor in the main building, preferably an end room. We had 812 and it was excellent w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here for a meeting since the venue was chosen by the organizers. We chose to upgrade to a club level, which was a wise choice. Our room was on a corner, away from the street and quite spacious. Nice seating area with plenty of room for two people. Large typical European style bath and generous closet. We found the staff accommodating and gracious and the food in both the club facility and the restaurant were very good. The club breakfast included several hot items and was well presented.

For the business traveler, the meeting facility was good, not exceptional but the food service and staff support was excellent. A short train ride from Shiphol and a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal station means saving 40 euro each way compared to a taxi. This is a good choice for a business meeting in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Definitely consider an upgrade to a club room. I usually don't upgrade but in this case it was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfunaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

While I have stayed in Marriotts across the United States, Europe, and China and have been very pleased with my experiences, I cannot say the same for Renaissance Amsterdam.

It is nicely located near the Central Train Station, and a hotel route was clearly marked, so finding the property was no problem. However, the receptionist, Sarah, was unaccomodating, condescending, and dismissive. Since my fellow traveler's husband is a Marriott Platinum member, we used rewards points to pay for our stay, which normally allows the use of the club room. However, we were vehemently denied use of that facility, citing that since he was not with us we were not allowed. After showing our confirmation that breakfast and the use of the club room was included, she insisted that we were not allowed without apology. We begrudgingly left for the room. Luckily the "Navigators" were quite nice. The one that brought our luggage to the room couldn't have been kinder and more welcoming and the other that recommended some local sights was eager to help.

The room was comfortable, with all of the normal Marriott amenities - comfortable beds, toiletries, coffee/tea making accessories, etc. The cleaning staff was excellent and turndown service was perfect. However, on the second day, we discovered that the minibar did not work (not a huge problem, but still unacceptable) and that there was a pervasive fish smell on our floor - which stayed for the remainder of our visit. We called guest services to notify them of those issues and to voice our concerns regarding check-in. We also notified her that we are 1K members on United, which also includes use of the Club Room (26 Euros for a Continental breakfast, otherwise), and we were told that there was a note on our account stating that we were NOT to use that facility. Seemed pretty vindictive.

While in the grand scheme of things, our stay was OK, but those issues made for a frustrating and unpleasant stay and we couldn't wait to leave. Unfortunately the bad outweighed the good this time, and I would not recommend that travelers stay here. There are several other hotels in the area in which I would book my next visit. They most certainly do not live up to the five-star rating that they tout in the Amsterdam travel magazines.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musicman3277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedwigvanderLinden, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel.
We appreciate the nice comments you have shared about many of our staff and the services we offer and indeed are sorry to learn the encounter in regards to our Club Lounge access and the smell in the corridor. Please take our sincere apologies for that. To be able to improve our services, we would be glad if you wish to review the points with us personally and invite you to contact us at any time.
You are a valued customer and everything we do is aimed at providing our clients with an excellent hotel experience.
Sincerely yours,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
415 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#146 of 373 in Amsterdam
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,043 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing