We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant European Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel last week. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city's attraction within a short stroll. The staff were all very helpful and made us feel very welcomed and at home. The room was well layed out and very good size. We opted for an upgrade to Club status so as to enjoy the additional benefits i.e. Free Internet and access to the Club Lounge with Breakfast, Tea Break and Happy Hour, a treat after a hard day of sightseeing and shopping. Everything was perfect and we will definitely come back to the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel!

Thank dsmyip
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 3,406 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Superb location. Walking distance to the main train station, even with luggage. The rooms are a bit on the small side. The breakfast buffet, if included in your room charge, is wonderful. If not, the cost is exorbitant. Service was friendly and helpful (giving out maps with directions to pre-reserved restaurants). I give this an average rating because for the cost, one might expect more. But, the hotel is a nice one, if a bit costly for what it is.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiles3usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We did receive your feedback regarding your stay.
We invite you to send us an e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com
with your feedback on what exactly went wrong, so that we will have a chance to investigate and to get back to you in
person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam for two days prior to our River Cruise.
Hotel staff was excellent and the room was spacious and clean. It wasn't ready when we arrived at 9 in the morning(after the overnight plane ride), but was made available by noon.

Hotel is centrally located in the City. So it was easy to walk around town and return to the hotel, as needed.
Getting to the port for the ship was an easy 10 minute cab ride. The more adventurous could walk.
An excellent choice

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Top notch hotel in a great location near the Central Station. Close to trams and convenient to tour starting points. Executive Lounge definitely worth it. .. Great to come back to the hotel and have coffee and tea waiting. Very clean and well maintained. Concierge was very helpful in booking tours and arranging transportation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you are debating between the Renaissance and the Marriott, the R would be our choice. Loved the neighborhood and felt safe walking around at night with our 6 1/2 year old. Beds were very comfortable and was pleasantly pleased to see that our condo developer used the same European brand toilets and sinks as the Renaissance. They provide umbrellas and iron/iron board which was not standard when we did a long multi city European visit in 2004-2007. We had club room access which had standard food fare and very generous variety of drinks. This is the 1 st time I have seen a wheat croissant served anywhere in Europe. The nearest ATM is nearby in a supermarket. You will find very few ATMs in this area. If you need cash take advantage of the ABN ATM near your baggage claim area at airport. There are some ATMs that will only take a Chip card vs solely magnetic. Any card in your wallet can be upgraded to a Chip card for free by your bank. Just Ask.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We are staying at this hotel as I write this. I've stayed at the Hilton and Crowne Plaza hotels in Amsterdamand they are very good. This hotel is really special. Great location between Central Station and the Jordann neighborhood. Beautiful lobby and bar area. Large rooms. The elite member benefits are outstanding. Employees are very well trained, pleasant and helpful. Very good food. They have a "Navigator" stationed in the lobby until 10pm (22:00) to help you find your way around the city. Only improvement is we would like a bed that is less firm.

Room Tip: I used points and paid a little extra for the top elite benefits. Great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadtrippp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Into my 4th stay here and each stay has got better and better, great location and club rooms are spacious and spotless and the beds are fantastic. The staff reacted very positively to some initial minor problems with water noise and could not be more helpful. Whilst the Scossa Restaurant is highly rated with so many restaurants within walking distance I would suggest trying a different place each night for dinner. The morning scrambled eggs in the club room are the best I have tasted for many a year.

Room Tip: Select a high floor, away from the elevators/ice machines and courtyard facing for peace and quiet b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
418 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#146 of 373 in Amsterdam
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,045 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing