We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, near the Central Train Station. There were many restaurants that were nearby. The room was a good size. The conceigeres were extremely helpful. WiFi and breakfast were not included in the price. It is Marriott property so miles could be used or accumulated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 3,400 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stay at this hotel for 1 week and it was a very nice experience.
The club lounge was good and the staff was very friendly.
The hotel location is very convenient for visiting the city but also a very comfortable hub if visiting other places.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank José A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I'm a Marriott fan, and this hotel is a great stop for work or vacation. It is located near the central train station, and walking distance to so much of what makes Amsterdam great. We had a large sized room with a great view. The service and food were superior. Easy choice for anyone who doesn't like to use rental cars or cabs and take public transport.

Room Tip: Get there early, be a platinum member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_WH7154EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance 4 nights before a river cruise. The location cannot be beat as it is so convenient to Centraal Station. We did a lot of walking and found it was easy to get to most places in a reasonable amount of time. For places further out we used the tram and train.

We upgraded to the club lounge because it included breakfast, evening reception and internet. The lounge staff members were excellent and the choices provided in food and beverage were very good. The lounge was closed on our last morning, which was a Saturday, but we were told ahead of time that the breakfast buffet in the restaurant downstairs was free as an alternative. I asked for a room in the main building as that had been recommended by another traveler on TA. We were given a relatively large king room on the 4th floor with a decent view.

There is a grocery store very close by if you go out the front revolving door, turn right and go to the end of a short alley. Our friends ate at the restaurant on the corner (you can see out the front door of the hotel) and loved it. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just had a two day stay in this property with my family. I always read reviews before I go and I understand the mixed feelings many people have with this property.

I think the reception staff is the worst I have encountered in my many hotel stays. Condescending, Snobbish, Giving wrong information, Not knowing anything about Marriott Rewards Elite Members and so on. I don´t know who or where they got there training but this is absolutely the worst that can happen to a property. I got a room on the 5th floor of course next to a construction area very convenient with a light sleeping baby, off course no upgrade and so on. Checking out was again a terrible experience with the dragon lady of the reception busy explaining people how to use and login on the internet instead of doing her job off checking in and out guest so after 10 minutes finally she could free up sometime for me ! well done ....

Lounge: Good service, enough wine and beer and decent evening snacks. Breakfast is a bit poor in comparison with the Marriott Amsterdam.

Parking Prices 58 euro a bit steep in my opinion.

The positive,
The Navigator staff, Lounge staff and room staff are really wonderful people. They help you out and are very friendly. Maybe they can replace the reception staff.

This experience showed me that if you find a good property stay there.
Normally I stay in the Marriott Amsterdam. Nice staff and good service for Platinum Rewards Members and recommended that property instead of this one. They won't see my at the Renaissance Amsterdam again due to their reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street construction and hope for a room with no neighbors since the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busy_Traveller_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry indeed that your two days stay with your family at our property did not turn out as you had expected.
We apologize for all inconveniences you encountered. The services you described do not reflect our normal high standard of operations. We invite you to send us a e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com so that we will have a chance to further investigate and get back to you in person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a romantic one night stay as a little treat before we went away on our honeymoon.

It was an amazing place and top quality service as you would expect in a 5*. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.

It was also located in the heart of Amsterdam which was great!

Highly advise anyone to stay here if you are considering it! We will certainly be returning!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KentPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great front of house staff but back office needs to be more responsive.

We stayed here and were upgraded to Elite status with access to club room with free buffet breakfast. We have no problems with accomodation, room or staff.

However, as we were there over weekend breakfast was only available in Scossa Restaurant and we were charged €28.50 each per day, poor value for medicore fare. At check out were told this is normal as club room only operates Monday to Friday.

We had a meal one evening in the Café and three weeks later the charge is still held against debit card despite the cost being debited and paid on the night.

I've contacted hotel, both by phone and email, to release this pre-authorisation and as of now it is still held 18 days later and have yet to even receive an acknowledgement.

Room Tip: Careful you don't have rooms X10. They opposite ice machnes and overlook an alley where bottles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fridhlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
407 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#147 of 373 in Amsterdam
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,039 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing