We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, nice rooms, though gone down on service since my last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #83 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good location near Central station and city centre, Nice and clean rooms, Lounge was part of the room, however the spread at all times in lounge was low in variety (much less as compared to my last stay couple of years back).
Though I had comfortable stay but very expensive and little impressed with breakfast or high tea or evening drinks in lounge

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 3,334 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Perfect location a few minutes from the station and on the edge of the Red Light district and Jordaan.

Rooms are classic Marriott - good sized and well fitted. Staff are very accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors away from the main street to avoid ambient noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We found the location of this place very convenient!
All the staff - Reception & especially the Navigators - were so helpful!!
The rooms were clean, comfortable & functional. There wasn't a lot of space but every amenity or extra was well placed in the cupboard. I wasn't sharing so I was the lucky one for extra space.

We did not eat any meals at this hotel.

All 3 of us would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porini64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice and modern. Great location as many others have said. Within walking distance of the station. We took the train from the airport so we could walk to the hotel. Yes you are dragging your luggage but hubby and I each had one big bag and one little bag and it was fine. Doing recon around the hotel there are lots of coffee shops (Americans this is where they sell weed not coffee). Walking distance to the red light district. Easy to walk back to station and get tram to explore the city which is what we did. Would recommend hotel. Definitely get breakfast included if you eat breakfast. Nice variety, omelette to order. Nice lounge to relax and have a drink and appetizer in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

one block away from the main buslines, within walking distance from the main train stations and yet with no noise from traffic. good amenities and helpful staffs for tour info. just around the corner, cafes, restaurants, groceries and ATMs are available. concierge club provided breakfast and light dinner. Good value.

Room Tip: room was quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travlers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a management meeting here in early May 2014. I stayed here 4 nights. We had booked about 15 rooms and a meeting room. We something similar last year. The hotel is comfortable and cosy, rooms are a normal size and tastefully fitted out. Beds are comfortable. Rooms feel warm and welcoming. Service all round was excellent - everyone seemed to genuinely care without going over the top. Nice pub and restaurant connected to the back of the Hotel, nice menu and good ambiance. Conference room was what we needed, facilities good, coffee and snacks were excellent. Small touches like letting 2 of us check out at 16:00 on the last day wit no extra charge were appreciated. Would certainly use this hotel again for our next Amsterdam meeting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed two nights while on vacation. The location was great for seeing the sights. Everything we wished to see was within walking distance. Just be VERY careful of the bikes when walking in this city. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. We arrived just before noon after an overnight flight from the States. Reception was very busy with both check in and check out customers. All reception stations were staffed and they appologized continuosly for the long wait to check in. There was nothing more they could do speed the process up we just arrived at a busy time but they were concerned. Our room was ready so we took a quick nap. They staff was great about answereing our questions. We will definetely stay here again when in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,494 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
299 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £147 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing