We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - pity about the Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice centrally located hotel but the price is high for what is offered - not good value I think. What is most annoying is that the internet is NOT free in the room but only in the lobby. HOW RIDICULOUS can it get. It defies logic that a hotel like this continues with this rubbish. Based on this alone, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone (this is my standard criteria to consider recommending any hotel). So, find somewhere else to stay unless you have no problem paying high prices, especially if you want convenient internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ab97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for very much for the time you took to share your comments with regard to your recent stay. We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed regarding the internet charges.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you encountered.
We would like to add that we offer complimentary internet in our lobby and all public areas such as our Restaurant Scossa, the Koepelcafe,the 2B Bar and Lounge and in our Club Lounge. Furthermore we often have very attractive packages offering interesting rates inclusive breakfast and internet in your guest room. This might be of interest to you for a future visit. Especially since you liked our central location we hope indeed you will renconsider to visit us again, so that we will have a chance to regain your confidence in our service and reputation.
With best regards,
Your Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,620 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Marriott Renaissance Amsterdam, is in a great location, great service, very nice concierge service on weekdays (food drinks etc). They sell passes for the metro system which is quite handi. They have good maps of the city which show the light rail lines on them. (the system is easy to use). We have stayed here twice and would highly recommend it. It is on the edge of the Red light district however it is not much of a bother as it is a ways from the center of this sort of thing. If you are thinking of going to various museums make sure to get advanced reservations on line. if you want a Guide I suggest Karla Olgers who you can find on Trip advisor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good location near Central station and city centre, Nice and clean rooms, Lounge was part of the room, however the spread at all times in lounge was low in variety (much less as compared to my last stay couple of years back).
Though I had comfortable stay but very expensive and little impressed with breakfast or high tea or evening drinks in lounge

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Perfect location a few minutes from the station and on the edge of the Red Light district and Jordaan.

Rooms are classic Marriott - good sized and well fitted. Staff are very accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors away from the main street to avoid ambient noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We found the location of this place very convenient!
All the staff - Reception & especially the Navigators - were so helpful!!
The rooms were clean, comfortable & functional. There wasn't a lot of space but every amenity or extra was well placed in the cupboard. I wasn't sharing so I was the lucky one for extra space.

We did not eat any meals at this hotel.

All 3 of us would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porini64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice and modern. Great location as many others have said. Within walking distance of the station. We took the train from the airport so we could walk to the hotel. Yes you are dragging your luggage but hubby and I each had one big bag and one little bag and it was fine. Doing recon around the hotel there are lots of coffee shops (Americans this is where they sell weed not coffee). Walking distance to the red light district. Easy to walk back to station and get tram to explore the city which is what we did. Would recommend hotel. Definitely get breakfast included if you eat breakfast. Nice variety, omelette to order. Nice lounge to relax and have a drink and appetizer in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

one block away from the main buslines, within walking distance from the main train stations and yet with no noise from traffic. good amenities and helpful staffs for tour info. just around the corner, cafes, restaurants, groceries and ATMs are available. concierge club provided breakfast and light dinner. Good value.

Room Tip: room was quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travlers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#51 of 376 in Amsterdam
184 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,114 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £130 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing