We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location bit pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
583 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Great location bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Typical of what is expected from an American hotel chain.


Service was good. Fortunately, I'm a gold member and my weekend breakfast was included since the lounge does not serve then. Sure glad they gave breakfast since because it was $30 eur!!!!!!!

Short walk to train station.


Tip! Outside noise was loud. Ask for an inside facing room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dan459us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    1,263
    380
    123
    74
See reviews for
467
1,185
155
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the beginning and again at the end of our trip. The staff was amazing, upon our early morning arrival we were checked into our upper floor very quiet king room and our 21 mth old grand daughter was presented with a small toy. The executive lounge was comfortable and the food more than adequate for breakfast. Our 2nd stay the staff was once again very helpful, but our room was extremely small to accommodate the crib and a long walk from the elevators. The over all location of the hotel was ideal for sight seeing, walking and using public transpiration.

Room Tip: Upper floors in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comentsbycarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice centrally located hotel but the price is high for what is offered - not good value I think. What is most annoying is that the internet is NOT free in the room but only in the lobby. HOW RIDICULOUS can it get. It defies logic that a hotel like this continues with this rubbish. Based on this alone, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone (this is my standard criteria to consider recommending any hotel). So, find somewhere else to stay unless you have no problem paying high prices, especially if you want convenient internet access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ab97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for very much for the time you took to share your comments with regard to your recent stay. We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed regarding the internet charges.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you encountered.
We would like to add that we offer complimentary internet in our lobby and all public areas such as our Restaurant Scossa, the Koepelcafe,the 2B Bar and Lounge and in our Club Lounge. Furthermore we often have very attractive packages offering interesting rates inclusive breakfast and internet in your guest room. This might be of interest to you for a future visit. Especially since you liked our central location we hope indeed you will renconsider to visit us again, so that we will have a chance to regain your confidence in our service and reputation.
With best regards,
Your Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. myers
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Marriott Renaissance Amsterdam, is in a great location, great service, very nice concierge service on weekdays (food drinks etc). They sell passes for the metro system which is quite handi. They have good maps of the city which show the light rail lines on them. (the system is easy to use). We have stayed here twice and would highly recommend it. It is on the edge of the Red light district however it is not much of a bother as it is a ways from the center of this sort of thing. If you are thinking of going to various museums make sure to get advanced reservations on line. if you want a Guide I suggest Karla Olgers who you can find on Trip advisor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good location near Central station and city centre, Nice and clean rooms, Lounge was part of the room, however the spread at all times in lounge was low in variety (much less as compared to my last stay couple of years back).
Though I had comfortable stay but very expensive and little impressed with breakfast or high tea or evening drinks in lounge

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Perfect location a few minutes from the station and on the edge of the Red Light district and Jordaan.

Rooms are classic Marriott - good sized and well fitted. Staff are very accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for upper floors away from the main street to avoid ambient noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We found the location of this place very convenient!
All the staff - Reception & especially the Navigators - were so helpful!!
The rooms were clean, comfortable & functional. There wasn't a lot of space but every amenity or extra was well placed in the cupboard. I wasn't sharing so I was the lucky one for extra space.

We did not eat any meals at this hotel.

All 3 of us would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porini64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#85 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing