We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“nice weekend”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

nice hotel part of the Marriott chain. 10 minute walk from the station just off singel canal, stayed for a conference breakfast food was good, too busy Saturday am! had dinner across the road in the conference center. great building good food. It has quite a large club lounge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. . We invite you to send us an e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com
with your feedback on your stay so that we will have a chance to investigate and to get back to you in
person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    1,321
    398
    131
    75
See reviews for
491
1,262
160
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Renaissance Hotel is a true 4-Star location close to everything you want in old Amsterdam. We got an exceptional rate, the equivalent of $180 Canadian dollars including breakfast. It was a short walks to the main train terminal where we had arrived 4 days earlier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksman91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is close to Central Station and Damrak, but far enough away to be quiet. It is around the corner from the main street. It is an easy walk to Jordan and tram stops are close. It is in the middle of many things, not the closest to the museums, but easy tram ride and some are walkable if the weather cooperates. Nice walk to Anne Frank House. I was disappointed they did not have any umbrellas to lend nor any converter plugs...other Marriott properties have them as conveniences...the manager apologized when we told him. He was very nice and even offered to have someone go to Central Station to get our 5 day tram passes as they only sell 1 day passes at the concierge desk. Very glad we are Gold as the lounge is very nice with breakfast and happy hour foods. Beer and wine are complimentary, too. The weekend substitute breakfast buffet is fabulous!. Internet in the room is good, but had to sign up again a few times. Friends used it in the lobby and it was ok. The room was very nice, as you would expect from a Marriott property. The bathroom was nice, but not the best we have seen in Europe. After comparing other hotels in Amsterdam on Booking.com, decided it was worth it to pay more and get the Gold freebees and a nice room since it seems rooms are small and pricey and don't usually include breakfast there. We didn't see any place in roaming around that looked like a better choice. Very happy we stayed and would definitely return.

Room Tip: There wasn't much street noise and the view of the conference center dome is nice, but stay high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Right in the city center and attached to the business/event center that my husband's work event was at. Easy walking to anything and everything. Rent a bike and cruise through the streets like the locals. Tons of little bistros, cafes and shops. Duck into the local bread and cheese shops for fresh local treats. I felt very safe going out in this area alone during the day. Very nice rooms but pretty small and amenities were somewhat lacking. This was on the company's dime, but I believe it was a little on the high side for this area. Well worth the extra money for what you get.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is convenient to the Central Train Station and is convenient to all the Amsterdam sights. I am also a Gold member, so the free breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktail hour were really great! We received a room as soon as we arrived, early in the day. The staff were friendly and offered good suggestions for food and sight-seeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Overall a good experience! I believe the place has just been re-vamped. The beds were most comfortable. Room/bathroom was very clean! We forgot to bring get our toothbrushes and room service brought up 2 with toothpaste! I didn't try the food but the bar and restaurant area looked appealing. I like the fact there are doormen at the doors and concierge are very helpful in giving you tips on where to go and what to do. I will stay at the Renaissance again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alawi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The rate was 299 Euros but neither the internet access (in the room, free in the lobby) nor the breakfast was included in the price. Both the internet access and breakfast was expensive, in sum: it was not value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We regret that you experienced your room rate as too expensive. We often have special packages available that include breakfast and in room internet. Therefore we hope you will consider to check again on our best available rates next time you plan to come to Amsterdam. We would love to welcome you back
With best regards, Your Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#75 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,837 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing