We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Renaissance accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #92 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Standard Renaissance accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chose the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel as we are partial to the Marriott brand. The hotel was very close to the train station, which we used to travel from Paris, so it was easy to get to by foot even with luggage. The hotel is located on a nice, quiet street but unfortunately not on any of the canals. We had a "courtyard" view room. The room was spacious and overall the hotel was relatively modern in its furnishings. It had a decent club room. The bed was large and had good bedding. The bathroom was a good size even for US standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,283
    387
    126
    74
See reviews for
474
1,207
155
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is in a good location walking distance tot he metro and tram which can take you anywhere but we experienced very bad service the day of our arrival. We arrive from an overnight flight from the United States and made it tot he hotel at about noon. I requested early check in which they did not guarantee. We arrive at the hotel and were told the rooms were not ready. We left for lunch with a group of 8, four 70 year olds and 2 children, and came back around 2 pm. Dead tired with no sleep. The rooms were still not ready. Check in was at 3, so we just waited in the lobby. At 3 the rooms were still not ready!!! We started arguing with the front desk. Finally at 3:30, 2 of our 3 rooms became ready but they were smaller than what we had booked. At 4:30, our last room was ready which they upgraded. They also comped our breakfast the next day but the service at check in was rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orlandolawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedwigLinden, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry to learn that you did not like our property and apologize for
any inconvenience you encountered. We invite you to send us an e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com
with your feedback on what exactly went wrong, so that we will have a chance to investigate and to get back to you in
person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has good and points but to me the bad points were worse. Hence the 2 star rating. My sister got this hotel for us as we were staying 1 night. She used 38000 of her Marriott rewards points and €65 cash. First of all the checkin was polite. Lovely trainee Carolina. Our room was not ready so we had to come back which was ok. When we got back it went downhill. Won't go into it but Roseline was not helpful. Taught her false smile and bluntness was not nice. Was not happy. Then the room? I think this room is around €400 plus the price for the club lounge. OMG. Not to a standard of a 5* hotel. Room Itself was clean. Large bed but the room itself was tiny (compared to other hotels I've stayed in with similar price) at night the large gap under the door let in an unacceptable amount of light from the hall and I got a terrible nights sleep. The furniture had to be moved just to close the curtains which also let in light. On the good points the Club lounge is excellent but it does cost . Good Wifi but it's €19.95 A Day but free when you pay for the club lounge. Considering the room cost 38000 reward points and €65 I am not happy that my sister wasted all these points. Leaving points aside sorry to say Marriott that I was not happy. Stayed in Marriott's before but after the total points wash out. Won't be again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barryfitz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us on Trip Advisor.
We very much regret that you left us with a "not happy at all" memory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. One and another does not reflect our normal high standard of operations. We therefore invite you to send us an e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com so that we will have a chance to further investigate and get back to you in person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards,
Your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived in Amsterdam a day before our Rhine River cruise and picked this hotel because it's a Marriott. It's in a good location, the room was nice (and quiet) and the staff was friendly and helpful. We walked everywhere and got to see a good part of the city in our day and a half there.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, side street side. It was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lele0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

In the middle of all things that are Amsterdam! If you are a Marriott rewards member there is a great lounge. The rooms can be hit or miss size wise but all are very comfortable! Staff and bell people excellent and always helpful. Great restaurant on lower level. Scossa.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Airbear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

what a great location to explore a wonderful city. The hotel is walking distant from the train station, and central to everything in town. Take the train to and from the airport and save time and money. Trains in Holland are great, the only way to travel and this hotel is one block from the station yet in a quiet area on a quiet street.

The room are nice but not large, and the beds are made for sleeping. My wife and I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Anderson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Take the train from the airport to Centraal Station. Walk three blocks to hotel. Close to bus station for tours. Close to canal for tours. Easy walk to Red Light District, Anne Frank House and other attractions. Easy walk to good restaurants. Concierge service great--helped with restaurant referrals, tram ticket purchases, museum ticket purchases. Great breakfast each morning--if only they could have stopped the rain! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#85 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing