We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient service. Quietly located but close to action and train station too.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #82 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Efficient service. Quietly located but close to action and train station too.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel is pretty decent for it's price. Bed and room cleanliness is very high standard. I m most impressed with the service efficiency of the staff. Chamber maids, waitresses, receptionists all work so fast handling the large number of residents, while still maintaining their politeness and helpfulness all the time.

Location is short walking distance from train station. On a quiet street nearby a club and few restaurants. About 10 minutes walk away from the bustles.

I find the lobby to be too small for it's large number of residents. Many times, queue is long and overcrowded in the lobby. Customer service staff are definitely efficient but there are too few to handle the large crowds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    1,350
    399
    133
    75
See reviews for
505
1,281
162
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Renaissance Amsterdam is a short walk from the main train station and just on the edge of the Western canals which offer charming cafes and restaurants as well as fantastic shops. The hotel is typical of a European city with fairly small rooms but of good quality and the service was very good, although this is a busy hotel so lines can be fairly long for checking in. The gym was decent and although I didn't use the restaurant it looked good. I have stayed in other Renaissance hotels and found them to be more superior than the Amsterdam Renaissance, however in light of this being a city hotel it is to be expected and I think it is one of the better hotels in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBellaBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After traveling though Asia (including Tokyo and Shanghai where rooms can be small and expensive), I was shocked by the tiny room at the Renaissance. There was hardly room to open a suitcase, and indeed we couldn't have a suitcase open and move around the room.
Check-in was painfully slow, and when we were checking in (around 6 a.m. from a flight from India), we were told our room wasn't ready even though the room was booked for check in the day before so we would have a room immediately upon arrival.
We'd wait for a cab, wait for the concierge, wait for food at breakfast, etc.
It holds itself out as a business hotel, but it is the antithesis of one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at our hotel. We were indeed very sorry to learn that you experienced long waiting times and that the room your were assigned to was not according to your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for all inconveniences caused. We invite you to send us an e-mail to renaissance.amsterdam@renaissancehotels.com, so that we will have a chance to further investigate and get back to you in person.
We thank you for your time and remain,
with best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a great hotel. You are literally a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Red Light District, The coffee shops, all the tourist attractions and more. What we really liked about this hotel is its not in the hustle and bustle of everything but yet still close to the action. Really once you've walked around the Red Light District and seen what all the talk is about there is a lot of better stuff to do and see. We loved this hotel for its location and the comfort of it.

We had a nice room with club breakfast which was AMAZING! Loved the hotel and how nice and clean it was. I highly recommend this hotel for people who wanna check out the red light district but experience more than just the drinking and debauchery of the red light district.

We really liked the nice restaurants, Jordaan area, close proximity of the train station, etc

We went to the Open Air Festival one day while we were there and it was a treat to come back to such a nice hotel with wifi, great beds, and a good breakfast. We felt that if we stayed in the Red Light District it would be non stop partying that wouldnt allow that.

Room Tip: Rooms that include breakfast are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingAllOut2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, CA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for three days after a long cruise. After being pampered by the cruise line, the Renaissance was the perfect transition. The staff was unbelievably customer focused from the moment we arrived. There were many people leaving and arriving at the same time and the desk staff was warm and courteous dispite many rude and pushy guest. Kitt and Sarah at the front desk were wonderfully calm and inviting. Although we were early, Sarah asked if we were happy with our arrangements, upgraded our bed size, and got us a room immediately. That was just the beginning! Our room overlooked a picturesque street and was comforatble to the max. At the complementary breakfast, we were attend to by Earl and Estrella who wanted to make certain we had all we needed. The breakfast buffet was magnificent!! It consisted of all one could image for breakfast and more. Then, when we needed information and to get our airplane pre-boarding passes, Customer Service representatives, Lia and Bronwyn took center stage. Rather than direct me, Lia escorted me to where I needed to be and when I needed additional assistance, Bronwyn came to my rescue. These women, as with all the rest of the staff, personify Customer Focused Service. Besides all of this, the Renaissance is perfectly located to experience Amsterdam by walking, a river cruise, or the local trams.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the street, rather than overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyStacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The Renaissance is located conveniently, just a short walk (about 3 or 4 blocks) from the Central Train Station. Currently some road work is going on in the immediate area, but it did not impede walking at all. Close to tram, train, and canal modes of transportation. Hotel is clean. Front desk staff and the 'navigators' are quite willing to assist you, whether it be for extra towels or directions. 2B is their bar and on Fridays in June, a DJ spins for four hours, beginning at 5 pm. There is a fitness center but no pool, spa, or any place to just sit and relax in the sun/outdoors.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank msp1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean and tucked neatly away from the hustle and bustle of AMS, fortunately we were relatively close to the lobby and managed to connect to the lobby wifi, the room was ok, location was great and a short walk from the train and tram station, the only thing that let this place down was on the day we were leaving the hot water was not working, which is a shame but otherwise i enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,442 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,874 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#42 of 368 in Amsterdam
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing