We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Best part about traveling with parents as a young adult...nicer hotels! This hotel was a 5 minute walk from the train station (which is how we came in from Paris and left to the airport). It was clean, modern and close to the city center. Our room was big and beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful with finding places to eat and how to use the trolley system. They all spoke very clear English as well.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so we have VERY high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 3,399 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

A ten minute walk to the central train station. You can walk to anywhere in Amsterdam in 30 minutes. The hotel is comfortable, clean and the staff is friendly and efficient. We had an inside room with no view but it was quiet and that was important to us. The hotel has a sidewalk cafe with a small pub which was really nice. They also have a larger bar area but that is relatively dark and in need of updates. You can walk to the red light district in 5 minutes but it is rather seedy and there are so many beautiful areas of Amsterdam that I would not waste much time in the red light district. I recommend taking the "Hop-on-Hop-off" canal boat ride. For one fee you can spend all day going from one place to another, or just stay on the boat and view the entire city to determine what part you want to revisit on foot. I highly recommend the VanGogh Museum, the Rijksmusem, the Canal Museum and the Ann Frank house. Try to go online and make a reservation for the Ann Frank house. You will need to do it about 30 days before your visit. If you have a car you should just leave it at the hotel and walk around the city. I wouldn't even consider driving around this city, the roads are narrow, there is no parking and you will spend all your time dodging bikes and pedestrians. And, if you think it would be fun riding a bike around the city you are crazy. if you want to ride a bike then get one near Vondelpark and ride around in Vondelpark. It is a large park near the Rijksmuseum and is beautiful. The park also has a few places in it where you can stop for a beer or a glass of wine. Please remember to rate this review. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, take an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DonnaSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 9 nights in a Club Level Room. We had our 13 yr old son and having the buffet breakfast and the pre dinner lounge (drinks and smaller buffet) were a big advantage. Walking distance to Central Station and agencies that offer excursions.Staff was great , from Kirsten who checked us in to Laura in the first floor lounge to Ismail and Leo at the Navigator desk couldn't ask for nicer folks. In fact they were able to help us after we had realized that we double booked an excursion , they called the company ( we don't speak Dutch) and work with them to rearrange. By the way when you have Club Level and access to the lounge, free wifi while in the lounge, no reason to pay, you have a key to the lounge go in whenever you have the urge to plug in. Would stay there again in a NY minute

Stayed: June 2014
Thank NYCED58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Excellent staff and very nice hotel and great location. The Staff is 5 Star. I would stay there again. There is road construction right in front of the hotel now June 2014 but nothing to do with the hotel itself. A definite 4 star and if I could I would rate it 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenGGGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose the Renaissance because it was a Marriott property and we could use points. It turned out to be a fantastic experience! The hotel is only about 500m from the train station, so a very easy walk. They also have posted signs along the way to direct visitors to the hotel (what a plus!). The hotel was beautiful and very clean. We really enjoyed the lounge experience as well...a full breakfast, snacks and beverages all day long, and a great happy hour with complimentary drinks and hors d'oerves. We highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 days for work in June 2014. Hotel is very central to everything, rooms are big, bed is comfy. I was on the 8th floor, nice view. Personally, would have liked it if I could have upended the windows a bit more, but overall no problems.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropics_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Amsterdam was our last stop on a long Europe trip with our two teens. Picked the Renaissance due to the central local and the reasonable rates. The hotel was nice, very typical for an American hotel. Breakfast was a good selection for an included buffet. It was a good location for walking around the central streets of Amsterdam. Although we found the city a bit too rough for our young son. He was uncomfortable with all the rough crowd walking the streets. The staff in the hotel were average, not up the the European standards we had experienced on the rest of our trip. If you want a reasonable hotel in the heart of the old city this could meet your needs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank BucketlistM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your stay with us on Trip Adivsor.
We would like to insure you that our guest satisfaction is one of our highest priorities and we regret that this was not entirely apparent during your stay. Our expert Navigators have wonderful advises for multiple things to discover in our exciting city for families travelling with children and teens. We therefore hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future when we will be more than happy to assist you finding the right locations to visit.
With best regards,
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
403 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#158 of 373 in Amsterdam
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,038 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing