We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #89 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff were very kind and helpful. The room was a bit small bit liveable. Our breakfast was included in our room rate. Great breakfast with many choices. Made a great start to the day. No noise issues for us maybe because our room faced the interior courtyard. Well worth the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarcoSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    1,295
    389
    129
    74
See reviews for
477
1,230
158
630
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Renaissance for the 2nd time this year for business. The hotel is located near the train station and close to restaurants, shopping, bus and train lines. Just a warning that the road outside the hotel is currently under destruction but it was not much of a bother.

When I checked in on Thursday, the hotel had sort of bad smell and I asked the bellman why this was since it was not like this in February. He mentioned that there were recently very heavy rains and they were having to fix roof leaks that occurred as a result

There is a good breakfast buffet in the restaurant. The restaurant also offers and Italian menu in the evening and it was pretty good. The chef even customized a meal to my request. Service was very good.

There is also a pub in the hotel that offers outside seating. There is a food menu in the pub as well. Service was a little slow in the pub this weekend.\

The Concierge staff is extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcalianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

located in the central park of city...Casey (hotel concierge) was really awesome and very friendly....great bar area!!....Mixologist/bartender "Leonidas" made me some very tasty cocktails and was very pleasant!!....some construction going on but should deter you from considering this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth ..Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just had a 3 nite stay at this hotel prior and after a cruise
.Excellent location,Close to railway station (if that's where you need
to be) and most other things central in Amsterdam.The staff from the
front desk,concierge,lounge staff(we were lucky enough to have this)
were fantastic
The hotel was clean and the room was great--better than expected.
Excellent breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend. it to others.
If you are going on a cruise with HOLLAND AMERICA they use this
hotel .We didn't know this when we booked here. This turned out very
convenient for transport to and from the cruise terminal.For cruisers
the terminal is some way from the centre of Amsterdam and transport
is awkward if you use a train or bus.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room---BUT I think we were up graded---nobody told us and I didn't ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnei yehuda
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Renaissance is a decent 5* option in a great location. in the city center, surrounded by all kind of restaurants, for all tastes and budgets, but in a quiet side street. Rooms are on average size for Amsterdam, but bed is perfect, as usual on a Marriott. I never needed so much help from a hotel's staff like in this visit, and they were perfect in each time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Awesome place to stay for walks around Amsterdam. Clean, up to date, nice lobby, and good food available there and nearby. The only thing we didn't like is that a couple times the staff wasn't very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffSDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Recently spent four nights here when on a business trip and my stay was lovely. Located within walking distance to Central Station and DAM Square, it is a saunter to many interesting places. The room was very comfortable, staff was supremely gracious, and the breakfast buffet was delightful. I had access to the Club Lounge and it's nightly array of appetizers and drinks was a highpoint....a good way to meet travelers from all over the globe. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing