We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renaissance hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #93 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Renaissance hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The Renaissance hotel is a modern hotel and I had a lovely stay there. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and very clean and the breakfast was amazing. It is a 5 minute walk to the train station and close by some lovely restaurants
and gorgeous streets and canals. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grace2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,285
    387
    126
    74
See reviews for
475
1,208
155
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is located very close to Dam Square and the Central Station which makes it very convenient to stay. The staff is very professional and friendly. The rooms are nice, though we were surprised to find in the floor of our room an invoice dated 5 days prior to our stay. Still I guess they are cleaning the rooms. You need to improve your direction finding skills to enable to find your room within the hotel, but after a while you get used to switching lifts and changing buildings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me6ke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My daughter & I spent 3 nights here on our recent visit to Amsterdam. Room, amenities and breakfast buffet -- all very good. The Conceirge staff were top-notch, recommending excellent restaurants within walking distance and giving directions to tourist sites. Note: You can buy tram tickets and museum passes (all except for Anne Frank House) directly from conceirge at no extra cost. There's some construction going on in front of the hotel but it didn't cause a problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerfr0mtheS0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stay here regularly, staff are always attentive and friendly. Since renovation completed a couple of years ago, internal decor and rooms are very modern and comfortable. Two decent bars within the hotel itself. Great but quiet location 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station and Dam Square.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family of four recently stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam for four nights. We thought the location was excellent, near many tourist sites and within a short walk of Centraal Station. It is in the center of things, but not on a very busy street. Our rooms were very nice and clean, a bit small but by no means tiny. We had requested courtyard view rooms as we didn't want to worry about any outside noise. This meant we had no real view, but that was completely worth the trade off.

Steve Provance was especially helpful in ensuring we got a quiet room, and we really appreciate his efforts. Other staff were very polite and helpful, with very quick check in and check out. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel (pricy) but the concierge/navigator directed us to a wonderful small bakery less than five minutes away.

Wifi is not free, which is unfortunately typical of higher end hotels. Why do mid level hotels offer free wifi but not higher end? A real mistake, in my opinion, as it alienates the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benezet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff were very kind and helpful. The room was a bit small bit liveable. Our breakfast was included in our room rate. Great breakfast with many choices. Made a great start to the day. No noise issues for us maybe because our room faced the interior courtyard. Well worth the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarcoSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Renaissance for the 2nd time this year for business. The hotel is located near the train station and close to restaurants, shopping, bus and train lines. Just a warning that the road outside the hotel is currently under destruction but it was not much of a bother.

When I checked in on Thursday, the hotel had sort of bad smell and I asked the bellman why this was since it was not like this in February. He mentioned that there were recently very heavy rains and they were having to fix roof leaks that occurred as a result

There is a good breakfast buffet in the restaurant. The restaurant also offers and Italian menu in the evening and it was pretty good. The chef even customized a meal to my request. Service was very good.

There is also a pub in the hotel that offers outside seating. There is a food menu in the pub as well. Service was a little slow in the pub this weekend.\

The Concierge staff is extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcalianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#86 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing