We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #92 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“excellent service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is about a 5minute walk walk from Central Station and since Amsterdam is an easy walking, biking city, the location is just fantastic. Also everyone in the hotel was all very nice and helpful. We are gold members so we had free room wifi and the executive lounge was excellent with soft drinks 24hr a day and beer and wine at night. The only issue was the room we had was quite small. It seems like not all rooms are created are equal. That's just a minor point since we were out enjoying this great city.

Room Tip: get a room away from the busy side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T.B.Patriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,284
    387
    126
    74
See reviews for
475
1,207
155
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for a week when we just moved to Amsterdam. The room was actually lovely and have a reasonable amount of space with large bed...unlike the European style of rooms which cringe on space. The location was awesome, as we were in the thick of the buzz town.Overall, enjoyed our stay...could get down, walk around and get back very easily.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anupmasuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and were really happy with our choice. We got a very good deal on our room but I don't think they "punished" us for it.

The room was a reasonable size, very quiet (which I had requested as I am not a good sleeper) with air con, coffee facilities,safe etc. The hair dryer was better than most and the pillows a dream (like other Marriott hotels we have stayed in). The towels were pretty small and we disliked the toiletries so much we had to buy some in a local and expensive pharmacy. But these are minor things and overall we really enjoyed our stay. I shouldn't forget to mention the complimentary bottle of prosecco on my birthday which was very much appreciated. We also had free wi-fi in our room that we could use on our phones - I'm not sure why but it did work and we were not charged.

The location is perfect, near the station and canals and the trendy Jordaan and the helpful navigators (concierge) were great especially when it came to planning day trips to the beach and de efteling. I'm not sure we will go back to Amsterdam but we would definitely stay in another renaissance hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
449 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Extremely great location and friendly hotel
We found staff extremely accommodating and professional in advising local pubs and restaurants
Loved walking around canals which are only a block away
Breakfast was good and compared to other hotels recently visited very good value

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estado de Mexico, Mexico
Level Contributor
279 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Near the train station, the tram station, the tourist boats pier, and many restaurants.
It is clean, has good service, fair prices.
Special amenities for Marriott Club Members.
Free WiFi in the lobby.
Parking and valet service.
At the present moment, a remodeling of the front street is underway.
Only negative is, that at evenings the lobby area smells like sewer.

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott club member, you will get many free amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here prior to a cruise and enjoyed our brief stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance from the main train station, which is a plus. The street immediately in front of the hotel was undergoing construction during our stay (August 2014) but it was really not an issue. The room was decent-sized (especially for Europe) and pleasant. The bathroom was also better than average of other European hotels we've visited. Service was excellent. We arrived from the States early in the morning and with check-in not until 3:00 p.m. there was no room ready upon arrival. The clerk took checked our bags for us and took our cell phone number. By 11:30 she called us to tell us that our room was ready. Always a good thing after a long trans-Atlantic flight.

Amsterdam is easy to get around via foot and this hotel has an advantage of being one of the many that are close to the train station. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinguinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The second day of our stay the room was not cleaned up. Huge mistake for 1.200,00 € 6 days stay. The room was upon our complaint cleaned up in the evening, but we were not offered any compensation (one free breakfast or free internet in the room or similar). We were even charged for a drink we had while waiting in the lobby for our room to be cleaned up!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Trpimir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTeam, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Trpimir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us on this platform.

I am awfully sorry to read about your disappointing experience and about the resolution that was not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having provided our usual standard of services as the situation you are mentioning is indeed beyond the ordinary.

Please do let me know when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam, so that I can personally make sure your next stay with us will be a truly enjoyable and seamless one and please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss the situation further with me or had any further concerns.

Warm regards,
Jana Zahranova on behalf of the Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#86 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing