We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, smaller rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Once again, Marriott didn't do anything special for this gold member. I got access to the executive lounge with it's paltry breakfrast spread and that was about it. Not sure what Gold status gets me with them other than executive lounge access (when they are open). Anyway, hotel is clean and modern, location is great, 5 minute walk to most everything, tram stop is 2 minute walk. Set just enough off the beaten path to avoid most of the undesirables that seem to be filling up amsterdam more and more these days. The room was clean but rather small, even by Euro standards. The hotel restaurant was good not too expensive. Not great food or great value but it does the trick if it's raining and you don't want to walk anywhere. Pricing was inline with other 4* hotels in the area so that means it's pricey and not a great value. I would stay there again mostly for location and cleanliness, not for value. As with anyplace in Amsterdam, leave the car outside the city and take the train in. Parking at the hotel is non existant and I heard it's 45Euro/nt. A taxi ride to the airport is also 45Euro.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjs19712003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,555 - 2,561 of 3,376 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2009

The hotel is 5-10 min walk from Central station but you need to check on a map beforehand or you won't find. The interior is very nice, very modern. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. But our room was a connecting room, then we could hear the neighbour snoring...and internet is 12 EUR/day!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danidani53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I am surprised at those that raised an issue about service...ours was wonderful. From the doormen, to the bellmen, to the front desk, all were prompt and courteous. Location? Wow, could not have been dropped into a better place. A short stroll to the train station, around the corner from the main shopping avenue, tram and bus access. This place had it all. The rooms were modern and comfortable and had AWESOME air conditioning. If you are flying in or out of Schipol airport and have only one bad to manuver, you can walk to this hotel EASILY from the train station. We were coming in from a cruise that disembarked in Rotterdam and had 3 bags for 2 people so a cab may be necessary which should cost 7 euro. Price we had to pay! Great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PettifoggerWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I stayed in the Renaissance Amsterdam for 3 nights in July 2009. I booked it online through the hotel website. I got quite a cheap rate for the weekend with slightly more for a Monday night.

The lobby isn't big and 2 or 3 people waiting to check in quickly overwhelms it. However, the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Location can't be beat as it's less than 5 minutes to the Centraal Station, very near the Jordaan and trams to the museums. The sound-proofing on the corridor and the street side window (we were to the front of the hotel) was not great, but we couldn't hear a thing from our neighbouring rooms. The street is also relatively quiet with only a few scooters making any noise.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irlhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The hotel is in a central area and everything was withing walking distance. It was also within very close walking distance of the train station. The lobby was nice and so was the staff. Our plane arrived in the morning, so they didn't have a room ready yet, but gladly held our ample luggage until our room was ready while we explored Amsterdam. They even gave us a lounge key since our rooms weren't ready. The rooms are quiet and extremely comfortable. The design is nice. They also had a very good breakfast buffet, which was included in the price. We got everything we needed, including adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHHArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Great hotel right in the heart of the city. Convenient to the Amsterdam Centraal station and has lots of food places near by. Easy access to public transportation. Room was good also although the hotel staff did not give me room with outside view.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I've stayed at the Marriot from Monday to Friday every week for the last 6 months. While the hotel is good, the telephone service is totally debilitating.

Incoming evening calls are a total frustration as nobody ever answers the call. This has been ongoing for months and my partner tries 5 times a night before reverting to using his mobile phone.

Outgoing calls are the most expensive I've ever experienced in any hotel. A 4 minute local call is charged at 17euros, a total joke.

Food is also a problem with orders often delivered incorrectly and room service has taken up to 2 hours to deliver a plate of pasta.

At 170 euros per night and having spent so much time here, I can honestly say it's pretty poor value for what they charge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktpie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#197 of 374 in Amsterdam
44 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,016 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £139 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing