We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, clean, safe hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, clean, safe hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

This hotel was very close to the train station, but still felt very safe since it was on a side street. It was very clean and I highly recommend it to both business and leisure travelers. It is very modern and the service is fantastic. Close to many restaurants and walking distance from many attractions. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    1,263
    380
    123
    74
See reviews for
467
1,185
155
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

When I made reservations on line directly with the hotel (almost 10 months in advance) I asked for a room for two with a king bed. On arrival we were placed in what was a tiny room, obviously designed for a single business traveler. It had one chair, one set of towels, no room for our luggage at all. I had to wait several hours while another room was prepared but was eventually placed in a comfortable double room with much more space. But I had to be insistent (and courteous--anger gets you nowhere) about it. Don't be meek, just firm but pleasant. And ask to speak with the manager. The rest of our two-day experience at the hotel was fine. This place is a little too pricey for what you get, however.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Very comfortable, clean, superb staff, special location. Everything you expect from a Renaissance you find here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night whilst on a stopover to our holiday in Aruba, we have stayed in this hotel before whilst they were undergoing major renovations, so it was nice to go back when everything was mostly finished. We had two rooms, one which had access to the club lounge (which I thought was quite impressive) and our teenage sons were in another part of the hotel which felt like a two mile hike when we were walking from one to the other. Anyway dispite this little niggle the rooms were very nicely updated with comfy beds and the reception area was clean and contemporary. The bonus of staying at this hotel is it's closeness to Gaucho's Steak House just across the road, where we had a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

The Renaissance Amsterdam surpassed our expectations. Upon check in there was quite a lenghtly queue but hotel management called on extra staff to ensure all check in desks were manned.

The room was modern and well sized. King bed was definitely on the soft side, which may or may not suit travellers. The view was that back into the centre of the building so nothing spectacular. Bathroom was small but serviceable. Bathrobes and slippers available in the room.

Housekeeping were very friendly and replenished used items upon each service.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and consistented of your standard breakfast buffet choices with hot & continental options. Beware though that the wait at the egg station can be extremely long and stock of other items are not replenished as frequently as they should be. I wouldn't pay the EUR24 for breakfast though if its not included in your rate as that is way over priced for what you will get.

I didn't use the Fitness Room but it did seem quite well equipped.

The location of the hotel is defintiely an advantage. Located only a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station, its perfect for those arriving by train. The hotel is located just at the start of the Jordaan district which is great for cafes, bars and coffeeshops.

The hotel lacks the little touches to make it a true 5 star property, such as newspapers in the morning but overall I would defintiely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We only stayed for 1 night, but had requested an early check in as flight got in at 10.00am, got to the hotel at 10.30 and our room was ready for us. It was a good size room, we had booked a club room so we had access straight away to the club lounge great for grabbing a coffee before we set out exploring Amsterdam. Also great for a quick drink and sit down before we went out to dinner. Beds are very comfy but we love the Marriott bed.

Breakfast was good selection for everybody. We left our luggage with conceirge and they were ready at the lift when we came back down to take them from us. The concerige/porters were great really friendly and happy to help and remembered us when we came back. Loved the hotel and fell in love with Amsterdam can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed for 3 nights, and loved it. The airline lost my wife's bag, and the concierge at the hotel continually checked on the bag for us, and called us when it was found (more than the airline was willing to do!). Our room was spacious (for European standards), and comfortable. The bathroom was well laid out, and as a tall person (6'7"), I loved the adjustable-height showerhead. Our room didn't have a great view, but it didn't really matter.

The location is very good, just a short walk from Centraal Station, and near lots of restaurants and other attractions. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go quite easilly from the hotel. For destinations that were a bit farther, we rented bicycles from a nearby shop.

My only complaint is that the internet costs 15 Euros a day to use, which we thought was expensive until we stayed at a Marriott in Copenhagen where they charged 30!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearcathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#86 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#70 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing