We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, WA
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Booked online through Marriott.com. and this stay exceeded expectations--especially given the relative price. Very clean and contemporary; obviously newly remodeled. Bathrooms were great including ionic hair dryer and nice bath products. Bed had a bit of a dip in it, but linens were fine. Location was very handy to train station and city center. Service was also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirklandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    1,348
    399
    133
    75
See reviews for
504
1,280
162
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This hotel was very close to the train station, but still felt very safe since it was on a side street. It was very clean and I highly recommend it to both business and leisure travelers. It is very modern and the service is fantastic. Close to many restaurants and walking distance from many attractions. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

When I made reservations on line directly with the hotel (almost 10 months in advance) I asked for a room for two with a king bed. On arrival we were placed in what was a tiny room, obviously designed for a single business traveler. It had one chair, one set of towels, no room for our luggage at all. I had to wait several hours while another room was prepared but was eventually placed in a comfortable double room with much more space. But I had to be insistent (and courteous--anger gets you nowhere) about it. Don't be meek, just firm but pleasant. And ask to speak with the manager. The rest of our two-day experience at the hotel was fine. This place is a little too pricey for what you get, however.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Very comfortable, clean, superb staff, special location. Everything you expect from a Renaissance you find here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night whilst on a stopover to our holiday in Aruba, we have stayed in this hotel before whilst they were undergoing major renovations, so it was nice to go back when everything was mostly finished. We had two rooms, one which had access to the club lounge (which I thought was quite impressive) and our teenage sons were in another part of the hotel which felt like a two mile hike when we were walking from one to the other. Anyway dispite this little niggle the rooms were very nicely updated with comfy beds and the reception area was clean and contemporary. The bonus of staying at this hotel is it's closeness to Gaucho's Steak House just across the road, where we had a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The Renaissance Amsterdam surpassed our expectations. Upon check in there was quite a lenghtly queue but hotel management called on extra staff to ensure all check in desks were manned.

The room was modern and well sized. King bed was definitely on the soft side, which may or may not suit travellers. The view was that back into the centre of the building so nothing spectacular. Bathroom was small but serviceable. Bathrobes and slippers available in the room.

Housekeeping were very friendly and replenished used items upon each service.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and consistented of your standard breakfast buffet choices with hot & continental options. Beware though that the wait at the egg station can be extremely long and stock of other items are not replenished as frequently as they should be. I wouldn't pay the EUR24 for breakfast though if its not included in your rate as that is way over priced for what you will get.

I didn't use the Fitness Room but it did seem quite well equipped.

The location of the hotel is defintiely an advantage. Located only a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station, its perfect for those arriving by train. The hotel is located just at the start of the Jordaan district which is great for cafes, bars and coffeeshops.

The hotel lacks the little touches to make it a true 5 star property, such as newspapers in the morning but overall I would defintiely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We only stayed for 1 night, but had requested an early check in as flight got in at 10.00am, got to the hotel at 10.30 and our room was ready for us. It was a good size room, we had booked a club room so we had access straight away to the club lounge great for grabbing a coffee before we set out exploring Amsterdam. Also great for a quick drink and sit down before we went out to dinner. Beds are very comfy but we love the Marriott bed.

Breakfast was good selection for everybody. We left our luggage with conceirge and they were ready at the lift when we came back down to take them from us. The concerige/porters were great really friendly and happy to help and remembered us when we came back. Loved the hotel and fell in love with Amsterdam can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,442 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing