We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BOUTIQUE HOTEL GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #84 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed at the Renaissance hotel one night would have gladly stayed on for one week!Great quiet location at 10 min walk from central station wich is central location. Near good restaurants, tramway, canals and all. Renanissance hotel is style modern boutique hotel, nice practical furniture, desk for lab top, mini-bar, internet, ergonomic chair, 2 small comfy chairs for relaxing, best bed I ever had, great mattress like i imagine a clowd would be ;) Staff also very friendly and very good helpful concierge. would definetely go back or recommend this one! Located in quiet street nice heaven in busy party town. The only down side is the carpet everywhere not to clean so bring your thongs. Enjoy this hotel as well as the lovely sight seeing in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUEBIDOUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,533 - 2,539 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

We picked this hotel for a short break with friends because of it's situation and the description on the internet.
I'm fussy when it comes to comfy beds and a decent shower. This hotel had both of those, and more. Great location, only 3-5 mins walk from the Centraal Station, in the middle of everything but amazingly peaceful at night, Comfy enormous bed, huge, air conditioned room and spotless bathroom, good shower too. My only teeny gripe would be that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but they tend not to do that in Europe, and it wasn't a problem as we went out for breakfast in one of the many nearby canalside cafes, so don't let that influence your choice. It did have a minibar and fridge though.
We had a late flight on the day of departure and they let us store our luggage after checking out to collect later, as it was so close to the station, so it didn't spoil our last day either.
Lovely hotel, lovely situation, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam however this hotel failed to help us when the air conditioning unit broke down. We were not offered a room change and had to stay in a very hot and stuffy room. The following morning we were promised that an engineer would visit the room and mend the air con unit that day. We returned to find the window open and the ac unit still not working, we later discovered that this is a common fault in the hotel, thanks to a helpful security guard. We complained once again, and were finally offered a room change which we took.
Unfortunately to compound issues, we have now realised that the hotel has charged us a significant amount a week and half later for no apparent reason. We are very disappointed and feel that this whole experience has been a nightmare. Avoid!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This is the first time for us to visit Amsterdam and I'm glad we decided to stay in Renaissance. Apparently, most of the hotels in Amsterdam are expensive but I think Renaissance offer very good packages. Consider its location, it is actually good value to stay in Renaissance. The first night with only me and my 5 yrs old son, we booked their Amsterdam package which offers 24 hrs transport card, free museum passes and canal boat ride for 2 adults. Together with the directions given by the staffs at the hotel, we get to explore the city in an easy way. The second night we moved to their Junior suite. It is a spacious suite and love it there. All the rooms are modern and clean. We also get to experience their service at the Club Lounge which is great especially after a long day sight seeing. We get to sit down to enjoy their free food and drinks and relax. The hotel even helped us to arrange a babysitter so my husband and I can go look around the city at night without worrying about our son.

Although they mixed up our package when we first arrived and we had to wait for quite a while, the staffs are very helpful and friendly to get everything sorted out at the end. They are also super good with kids. In terms of location, it is so close to the Central Station that you basically can take tram to everywhere. Even within walking distance, you can go to many places easily.

If we go back to Amsterdam again, we will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angieyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband & I stayed here for a few days - at the beginning of our trip. We ended up wishing we had ended our stay here just based on how great it all was! Super friendly people, excellent location - perfect.

We were able to take advantage of the Club Lounge which was fantastic - but even if we had to miss that - the location was amazing. It was central to everywhere we wanted to be - but on an offshoot of a street that it wasn't loud at all.

Fantastic, overall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed here (husband, daughter & myself) for the first of our three nights in Amsterdam. I chose this hotel because it was one of the few hotels in Amsterdam that would allow three adults in a room (for 198 euros per night). Upon check-in, they asked if we wanted to upgrade to a club level room, which was about 70 euros more a night. Since this meant we could get two double beds instead of a rollaway bed, plus free breakfast, we went for it.

So, I don't know what the standard rooms are like, but the club level room was very nice. It was definitely on par with a Marriott hotel room in the U.S. Average size, with nice amenities, nice bathroom. Very comfortable beds. And very clean, of course.
The club level continental breakfast was wonderful! Best yogurt I've ever tasted, and a machine offering your choice of about eight different cappuccinos, lattes, etc.
Also offered meats, cheeses, good pastries - all the standard stuff - in a very comfortable lounge. Club level also offered an evening happy hour that included an incredible array of desserts. And the fridge in the lounge always had a variety of waters, soda, and juices available. Club lounge also had a nice, fast computer available.
Hotel lobby was very pretty (modern decor). We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant.

Our experience with the staff was very positive. Very polite & fairly friendly. Got one good dining recommendation from the concierge. Also, my daughter left her wallet there and they went out of their way to return it to us.

I don't think you could find a better location if you want to stay in central Amsterdam. It took us less than five minutes to walk from Central Station (with rolling luggage), yet the hotel itself is on a quiet side street half a block from a canal. We liked the location better than that of the Grand Hotel Amrath, which we thought was a little too far to the eastern side of the central city.

So, bottom line, expensive - but if you want very comfortable accommodations for more than two people, the Club rooms here end up being cheaper than two separate hotel rooms at a comparable quality hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

A great location about a 5 minute walk from the station. Newly renovated rooms with a comfortable bed. Room was very small but it didn't matter because we only slept there. The front desk and concierge were very helpful. It was not unreasonably priced compared to other Amsterdam hotels. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 375 in Amsterdam
146 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,087 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing