We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would not be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Ranked #285 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The system was not running efficiently in the Amsterdam Inn we stayed. One member of staff was so unfriendly and ignorant. She wears a pair of glasses, middle-aged and supervisor looking. There was no kettle in the room for tea and coffee or even boiled water. The bathroom was dirty and there was blood on the lid of the bin which had not been cleaned during 72 hours when we stayed. We will certainly not be back. It's a shame.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Travellers1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We went to see Take That at the ArenA. The hotel was easy to find, and booked as we travelled by car and the city hotels were averaging around £50 per night parking. The hotel has a large free car park. Check in staff were more than helpful, checking us in quickly, providing directions & booking us a taxi the next night to the event. Travelled with another couple their room over looked the river which was great, but ours overlooked the road, but was ok, if a little noisy with the window open. The bar area looked ok, though we didn't use it, and the riverside seating area looked good, but it rained all the time so again we didn't get to use it. Rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. OK so the place could do with a little updating, but I read reviews all the time, and travel in the UK & abroad, and people need to start taking more notice of the star ratings. Many people these days expect 5 star for travelodge money. IT DOESN'T EXIST. You will have to put up with the odd issue at 3 star. Overall, our stay was great. I would go back again, which has to be the best recomendation. Metro is 5-10 minute walk away, and takes you to the central station in around 10-15 minutes, and staying a little out of the centre of Amsterdam is a lot more relaxing. 11 Euros for a 2 day all transport pass (Trams, Metro, Buses & local trains).

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ib1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The worst hotel in the world, very run down, very unclean, spider in my bed, bathroom covered in hairs (not mine). Got moved rooms that night, but new room was the same minus the spider !
Would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrickmclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The only quality by which we can evaluate the hotel is the service therfore it is the only parameter we have rated. Our daughter (11y) is traveling to the netherlands for a sports training camp.During her visit to the camp she and her team will be spending 1 night in amsterdam. The orders from the team were to book a room in a tulip hotel,since we had no idea there were several hotels by that name in amsterdam we booked the tulip inn. it took us 2 minutes to realize the mistake-that we have booked the wrong hotel-and ask the hotel to cancel the booking. But the answer we have received was that the roon cant be cancelled. We know that the mistake was ours but we would expect the hotel to show some basic understanding and consideration and cancel the booking. After all we cant take our daughter and put her in a hotel which is far from her other team member and far from the area they should be staying and let her manage by herself not knowing the language or the people.
We have expected the hotel to show some basic desency and take consideration of the situation and the fact that it took us only a few minutes to try cancel.
The managment and employees reaction and treatment of the issue was dissappointing and we have to pay now for a night we will not be staying at the hotel at all.
This kind of behavior to clients is despickable and to me it says exectly what guests mean to the hotel,money and nothing else.

Wouldnt stay there in any cost!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank DanielaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I was at the Tulip Riverside while I was attending a Conference at the Amsterdam Medical Centre.
Following was my experience:
1) Excellent Parking Space.
2) Reception counter - poor service, though we had booked in advance there was a great chaos on our arrival.
3)# Rooms: Lack a Fridge ,Coffee mug and my heater wasn't working. The shower kept on
leaking and the bathroom used to be wet perpetually.
#Being close to the road ,the noise level was high and occasionally I used to be woken
up.
#Internet facility wasn't available when i wanted it most.
# Room service was abysmal.
# NO safe locker.
# Charging wall-socket at a very inconvenient place.
4) FOOD: BREAKFAST:Not up to the mark as it should be in any 3 Star hotel. You cant
get an omelette at breakfast. Dunno about lunch and dinner.
5) LOCATION: 20 minutes walk to the closest station. really out of the city.Taxi takes
30 Euros to take you to Amsterdam central.
6) Value for Money; Poor. (You pay the price of a 3 star get the service of a non-star
facility

OVERALL CONCLUSION ;
AVOID THIS HOTEL IF YOU CAN!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brownhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Check in could be better, however, not too bad. Hotel was not really in good state of maintenance, but as we understood, they were working on that. Nice place, great terrace on the river Gaasp. Breakfast quite reasonable. Hotel is not expensive for an Amsterdam hotel, parking is free of charge.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This hotel is situated just outside Amsterdam, the river is in the back yard. The garden is very beautiful and there is a great view from the terrace.
The breakfast is a real joy, i mean i never had a better one :) Great job guys!
As a not so good thing i have to mention in my room there wasn't any air conditioning but the weather wasn't very hot luckily :)

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank Catalin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Campanile Amsterdam
#198 of 376 in Amsterdam
379 reviews
Rembrandtplein
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam West
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam West
#160 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,118 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 376 in Amsterdam
215 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#152 of 376 in Amsterdam
248 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#114 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside

Address: Provincialeweg 38, 1108 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £51 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a weekend break in Amsterdam? Or do you have a business meeting in the area? The 4-star Golden Tulip Amsterdam Riverside offers a relaxing stay whether you are visiting for pleasure or on business! The hotel is in the south of the city, set in peaceful surroundings on the banks of the Gaasp river, near the Zuidoost Business Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing