We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
324
397
175
66
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
397
175
66
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationmini barroyal palacered light districtminute walkshower curtaintrain stationthird floorrooms are smalldamrakeuroseuropetwindutch
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Have just spent 2 nights here. We found the staff to be so very helpful and friendly. They really looked after us. Rooms are smallish but no more so than other rooms in Europe . Absolutely wonderful location. Would certainly recommend and return

Thank jetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Nobody can take our location but the staff we have to select ourselves and we are getting many compliments about them. Needless to say that I am proud about them
We hope to see you back in a not too distant future
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of the central station. It is at the edge of Dam Square on Damrak street. The property is very small and the room are tiny. The bed was average and creaked :)

The bathroom was very tiny and inconvenient. There was no light above the mirror which made it nearly impossible to shave. The shower was so tiny and without a curtain or glass partition making water from the shower spill into the rest of the tiny bathroom.

The hotel has a free wifi all over the hotel with a decent throughput.

Room Tip: Look at the bed and the bathroom before agreeing to accept the room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

I was sorry to learn that your bed was creaking and apologize for the inconvenience caused. I presume ( and hope) that this was one of the rooms going for refurbishment in the coming months. In fact all rooms must have been refurbished by March 2013, which means that everyting, including the ceilings will have been replaced. May I suggest that you reserve a superior room against a small supplement if you want to have a more spacious room. The limits of a 100 year old building make that we cannot change the size of our rooms. We took good note of your remark about the light in the bathroom and stronger lights will be fitted soom.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General; Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A little more expensive but i booked via Amsterdam Hotels travel agent and i got the room half price. Good local restaurant down stairs and great central location to Dam Square. Big macs next door if you cannot do without a burger. Rooms well fitted out with all the usual 4 star comforts. 200 yards waly from central station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay. And yes, there are restaurants for every taste and budget in the immediate vicinity. We hope to welcome you again
With best regards

Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We found ourselves at this hotel after arriving at the Swissotel next door and finding that they were fully and our booking of 3 weeks previous had been cancelled! That is a review in itself.....
We initially were given a large but very clinical renovated room on the first floor. The room had some peculiarities in that the bed could be folded up into the wall and a large screen could be unrolled in its place. While no doubtedly the room was set up for small meetings or seminars when not being used as a bedroom, it had the ambience and feel of a porno movie set, complete with 16 overhead spot lights. (not far from the red light district, after all).
After spending 1 disastrous night in there, we complained and were shown an older, unrenovated room on the 4th floor which had a much warmer feel about it, with windows wrapping around 2 sides of the room. Thanks to Manager (Vivien?) for her understanding and helpfulness. We really loved the 2 nights we had in this older room.
We understand this room is due for renovation soon- please don't! It has lovely warmth and character just the way it is.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChaddyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

No this is not the set for porn movies but a respectable 100 years old hotel founed when these kind of movies where still inexistant :) .
The first room you had is indeed a boardroom which can be used for small meetings. As it is also the largest room of our hotel, we can understand that we have to work more on the decor when it is used as guestroom. Also our new rooms are in the same style but the effect is completely different as the other rooms are not a big and have different touches of colour. We liked to hear that you enjoyed the old style of rooms and that you had a pleasnt stay with us.
We hope to welcome you again in the future
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews