We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #136 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel in April 2012. Great location being very central to organized tours, all the sights and access to transportation. Unlike almost all hotels in Amsterdam - this hotel does have a couple of smoking rooms. The smoking rooms are small with the world's smallest bathroom. However, they are comfortable - just extremely compact. The regular rooms and suites are much more spacious with large (sometimes 2) bathrooms. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The restaurant in the hotel has a delicious breakfast buffet and wonderful dinners.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockin-Robin-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
I am sorry to disappoint you but we do not have any rooms for smokers anymore. It became too difficult to operate this kind of rooms. Sometimes we were obliged to designate a smoking room to a non-smoker which gave many complaints.
This does not mean that the bathroom became bigger. In fact every room has a different size of bathroom; sometimes small sometimes large. This is the prize to pay or maybe the charm of a 102 years old hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. I am sorry that you can not smoke inside the building but by smoking in front of the hotel you can watch an interesting crowd passing by.
We hope to welcome you again
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    368
    157
    55
    43
See reviews for
85
448
72
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam for 3 nights. Fabulous place. I stayed in room 103, right over top of the main entrance. Did not find it noisy at all being that the windows and balcony doors are double paned,, besides the veiw was spectacular. The room was exceptionaly clean, extremely comfortable for 1, and the heated floors in the rather large bathroom only added to the the rooms charm. The hotel staff was very freindly, helpful, and seemed eager to make my stay memorable. The hotel is in the perfect location if your a first time traveller to Amsterdam. It took me less than ten minutes to walk, with big suitcase, from the central train station to the hotel. Everything is easly accessed by either walking or catching public transit which is right out front of the hotel,,very convenient. I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 103 which is located right above the main enterance. If you were to open up the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
It was great that you have enjoyed your first visit to Amsterdam and that you did not regret that you selected our property. Indeed, even our front rooms are quiet. As to the heated floor in the bathroom, only some bathrooms have this kind of heating because they can be cold in winter.
As we are within walking distance of Amsterdam Central station, our guests can save some expensive taxi fares by taking the train from the airport to Amsterdam Central. The ride only taxes 16 minutes.
We hope to see you again in the future
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me and my husband currently stayed here... Overall we did not enjoy our experience. We were woken up everyday by the music underneath us(don't stay on the first floor if you want to sleep in at all) not very relaxing. When we called to complain they didn't have any other rooms available.. And it was left as that.. My husband forgot 2 very expensive jackets in the room. We called the following day and sent emails, they said they were going to call us back which they never did.. We called again and again still, they said we can't find them, and then questioning him if he left them there; which of coarse we did. We asked to speak with the manager, and again he was supposed to call us back..NEVER DID.. It's funny how two extremely expensive jackets just go missing with in hours.. I'm extremely disappointed by the lack of customer service at this hotel.. I'm mean not even a phone call or email nor a sorry. I have forgotten things in other hotels, and they have done everything in there power to return them to us. Overall not a good experience I would highly recommend staying at another hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneta9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
One could get the impression of your review that we do not care about our customers which is completely false. We have informed you several times that no jackets were found in your room and I have personally send you an e-mail (of which I have a copy) that no jackets were found. We have investigated this matter thoroughly and do not like your suggestion that our staff could have stolen it.
Both the Room attendant who cleaned your room as the Executive Housekeeper are longtime employees who we fully trust. They did not find any jackets in your room when cleaning it after your departure nor when checking your room. So the case for us is closed. We are astonished that you did not miss the jackets when packing your luggage if they were so expensive.
Yours sincerely
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I took my daughter to Amsterdam for her birthday and stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw. It was in a perfect location,the rooms were clean and well proportioned. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although the tram stops were just a step away there was no noise, we both had excellent nights sleep. Dam square is almost outside the door, the breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel and will go there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were obliged
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmachris1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We were pleased to learn that your daughter and yourself had a pleasant experience when visiting our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future on the occasion of a next anniversary or even without any special reason, just to enjoy our city.
We look forward to your next visit
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We just came back from Netherlands. Hotel Amsterdam is in a great location. Clean clean room. Great people and very helpful. Security is great. You need room card to open the elevator. Had good night sleep. Room is small but that is how Europe is. Location is amazing. Right next to all the visiting sites, cafes, bull dog coffee shops and walking distance to train station.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back facing the back street. It was great. Room 325. We could open the window an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Finally summer arrived and we were happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit to our city and our hotel. Although we can not guarantee nice weather we hope that you will decide to return to Amsterdam and our hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wonderful hotel, lovely modern rooms. Beds were so so comfy. Ideal location right on Dam square. No issue with noise even though the Damrak is a busy road. Would definitely book here again. Book book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
In the middle of the center and yet quiet. That is one of the strong points of our hotel. And our inside rooms are even quieter although they do not offer much of a view. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you back again
With best regards
Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Nice center of the city location. A 5 min walk right down the street to Central Station. Was not impressed with the room. I paid extra for an upgrade with a King bed then was told on check in that they had no king rooms in the hotel at all. Not very good or much service. Only 1 person at front desk, no one to help with bags. Not many resturants around the hotel but only one street over to red light district. I was disappointed overall for the price. We will stay close to Rembrandt Square on our next trip. Much more of a busy, happening location.

Room Tip: Right next door is the place to get tickets for all the tours. Definitely get the skip the ling for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank utcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
I regret that you were not satisfied about the room and the fact that no assistance with your luggage was available. We do have luggage porters but they do not work around the clock. If you had asked for assistance our duty managers would have helped youn with pleasure. You claim that there are not many restaurants is the area but beside the huge number of fastfood outlets there are some very good restaurants in the immediate vicinity and our front-office staff would have been delighted to give you a tailored made suggestion according to your taste and requirements.
We are sorry that we shall not have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Property: Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing