We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #161 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Being a 4 star hotel, we expected alot more. On arrival they demanded a 100 euro deposit, as we had scrimped and saved every penny for our holiday we didn't have a spare 100 euros and my partner did not have money on his debit card, they then blocked 50 euros on my debit card which I'm still unable to withdraw. The room on first glance looked great, but without looking too hard we noticed the walls in the bathroom were completely filthy next to the toilet, the wall next to the tv was very dirty also. Whilst having a nap in the room (with the do not disturb sign on) we were rudley awoken by a loud knocking at the door with the man demanding we answered as we had been smoking in the room. We had not smoked in the room at all and they didn't seem too apologetic when they had realised their mistake. Amsterdam is a wonderful place and we hope to return soon but we will certainly not be booking with this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emmafxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

First of all I apologize that you were disturbed while having a Do Not Disturb sign and no apologies were made. As some guests seem to believe that they can smoke cigarettes or worse soft-drugs when they turn that sign on, we sometimes interupt if the smell of smoke is in that area.
As I do not know which room number you had I annot investigate what happened so that the bathroom was not spotless. We are very keen on cleanliness so this should not have happened and I regret the inconvenience caused by this.
I regret that we shall not have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a pricey hotel, when you look at the rooms. We stayed in the double room and there was hardly space for us to move, leave placing our bags. The only good thing about the hotel is it's location. Very close to all the tram stops, the Dam Square and the Central Station. The Wintermarket was just outside the hotel, which was awesome!

Room Tip: Check out their foursqaure specials when you check in. We got free breakfast for our checkin on four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arorareshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

We regret that we did not meet your expectations and are sorry for this. You mentioned that the rooms are pricey but rates vary according to occupation and are not more expensive than the comparable hotels in the vicinity. And of course our location is one of the best in town.
Yours sincerely
René Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The lowest price category rooms for two were really small. Was surprised for the price we paid. The decor and amenities are quite modern. However, the lack of cleanliness ruined it a bit for me. Cups for the tea/ coffee station were dirty, grime in the corners of the chairs, hairs in the linen and towels which weren't mine, and room service didn't even bother to wipe the floors (one of the reasons why I choose the hotel was 'no carpet' so it's cleaner...).
Staff was nice and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Cleanliness is something we value very high and I wonder what went wrong with your room. I sincerely apologize that we failed and will ask you to contact me about further details (Room number and dates of your stay) so that I can investigate this matter. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations .
Yours isncerely
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed there for few nights with a group of friends in July. It faces the Dam Square and right opposite to the department store De Bijenkorf. What could I say? It couldn't be more convenient, for sightseeing, shopping and even restaurants in Negen Straatjes are within a stone's throw away. Staff were all very friendly. I could seriously consider stay there again when I go to Amsterdam next time!

Room Tip: Worth every penny to have bigger room if you're stay for few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Although your stay was already over 6 months ago, I still value your review and am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in amsterdam. We certainly would like to welcome you again
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night during an overnight layover. The rooms were clean and satisfactory, and the hotel was situated in the heart of Amsterdam. Some of the staff were rude and unhelpful. My experience might not be characteristic of stays at this hotel, but it was unpleasant enough to cause me to book elsewhere for my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnytraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

It was good to learn that you found our property good value for money but I was amazed that you had an unplesant experience with our staff. I have send you a request for further details but have not received any answer yet. I sincerely apologize that some of the staff was rude which is not what most of the reviewers experience fortunately. I regret that you will not return to our property in the future.
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Our room was ready for us when we arrived which was very pleasing as we had an early flight. The hotel & rooms were clean & nicely decorated. The toilet was too small & the tissue dispenser is in your face, the shower has enough room. You can purchase trip tickets directly from reception. We didnt try the restaurant however it did look very nice, ate out in the evenings the hot chocs round the corner are lovely, but when waiting for taxi unfortunately there is a hotel rule of no drinks in the lobby, which was found abit cold & rude as I'd just paid to stay there. There is a gym near by which you can purchase day passes for €10 with classes.
We would return to this hotel for the cleanliness & ideal location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fitchick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

We thank you for your review and we happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Based on bad experiences in the future we ask our guests not to drink or eat in the lobby. It is not our intention to be rude . We look forward to welcoming you again
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 11th December to the 13th. Perfect location for everything Amsterdam has to offer. Christmas market is right outside the front door. Didn't have to use the tramp service because this hotel is in such a good location that u can walk everywhere, although the great weather helped with this also. Hotel itself is very modern and so reasonable priced for its central location. Staff are also excellent and very helpful with any questions.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 8,501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

The Christmas market in front of our door and low rates are not things we can guarantee throughout the year. The Christmas market will disappear again and our rates are fluctuating following the demand but throughout the year we our trying to do our utmost to provide good and friendly service to our customers and our location will not change. No better location when visiting than ours at only 100 meters of the Royal Palace. We hope you will be back in the near future
With best regards
René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#88 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,929 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 374 in Amsterdam
710 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#94 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £116 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing